We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residence Inn, Duke St.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Residence Inn, Duke St.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Middle of May 2012. We had a great experience, Luckily we checked in on a thursday so we were able to take advantage of the evening social. They have a different theme each night M-Th. It was an excellent location. So close to the metro which we were on every day, parked the car and never used it. Hotel is just steps from Whole Foods, which we used for a great dinner when we were just too tired to primp for a dinner out. Our room was so clean, I'd give it a 9. the living room sofa and recliner were just barely a little worn, but still in very good shape. the kitchen was a 10. Wi-fi worked great too. We did have a little trouble with the AC, it worked fine, but it got a little frosty on the coils. It had time to thaw while we were out for the day, so we were never uncomforable, and we like it chilly. We would stay there again without hesitation. Laporta's restaurant, just next door was excellent. Great jazz trio on Fri nights. I had scallops, hubby had beef. All delicious. go meet Coco, the piano dog.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    163
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
210
107
32
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Whitsett, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was our second stay over Memorial Weekend but our travel group has been here three years in a row. We are all Harley Riders going to the Rolling Thunder Demonstration. The parking was clean and safe for motorcycles.. The clean well appointed room were comfortable even though we had a queen size bed and though we were getti g a king. They even provided pop corn. Breakfast was plentiful from oatmeal to eggs or waffles. Plenty of heathy options. The shuttle driver was prompt and very helpful. The staff was the same as last year and That's says the personnel are happy. Overall I look for to our. Ext visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Great staff and service. Would stay there again. Breakfast was great and included.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here at least four times. Always a nice experience.
I considered deducting a star because desk would not send number of blankets requested.
Breakfast is plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Close to restaurants, shopping, metro system and much more. For location, price not bad. Room very nice and spacious and comfortable. Staff very friendly, professional and more than willing to assist with your needs. Can't say enough about this location.

Room Tip: Our room was close to elevator and we could not hear elevator. Very solid hotel and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had our friend from Montana with us and wanted a good location to stay for 4 days and 3 nights and this place wins hands down. You are only two blocks from the Metro (to DC and othe places) and two blocks from the King Street Trolley (free trolley in Alexandria). The service in the hotel was unbelievable; the staff behind the desk and those in the food area all worked to see that every client received personal attention. Josh greeted us with a warm welcome and answered all our questions in a most pleasant manner....that's always a good start. Our rooms were spacious and very clean! They offer a free breakfast (both hot and cold) with lots of choices. We had a kitchen in our suites and they will even do your grocery shopping. We didn't need this service, but saw the staff bringing in food from Whole Foods for the clients. And, from Monday thru Thursday, they offer a free dinner (salad and entree and beverages, which include wine and beer). The food is prepared by the LaPorta's (upscale restaurant next door) and is superb. How great is all that? We ate at the hotel one night and it was very, very good. Then, we walked next door to LaPorta's for after dinner drinks and dessert. We ate at other restaurants the other nights. All three of us felt this was the best hotel ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were in town for a visit to the sites in Washington DC and decided on this hotel as a great option for our family - 2 adults, 4 children and a baby. We had a great two bedroom, two bath suite with a full kitchen, including a stove and oven. Worked out great as there is a Whole Foods right nearby. Truly appreciated the morning breakfast buffet as well as the weeknight light dinner. Kids enjoyed the pool and we did also make use of the laundry facilities which we found to be very clean and well kept. Some of the furniture in our suite was starting to show some wear, but we found everything to be clean and comfortable. My parents also stayed at the hotel and had a very nice two bedroom suite--their suite though did not have an oven--just a two burner cooktop, so if the oven is important to you, be sure to check in with the hotel on that when you book your room. We walked daily to and from the King Street metro station. I believe there is a shuttle, but we found the walk to be quite manageable. If we are ever back in the area, this would be our choice of hotels. The staff was all very friendly and welcoming after being out touring for a long day.

Room Tip: Ask about the kitchen facilities to ensure you get what you are looking for and know what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.