We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Clifton, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“clean, quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here at least four times. Always a nice experience.
I considered deducting a star because desk would not send number of blankets requested.
Breakfast is plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    152
    49
    6
    4
See reviews for
203
101
32
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Otsego
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Close to restaurants, shopping, metro system and much more. For location, price not bad. Room very nice and spacious and comfortable. Staff very friendly, professional and more than willing to assist with your needs. Can't say enough about this location.

Room Tip: Our room was close to elevator and we could not hear elevator. Very solid hotel and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had our friend from Montana with us and wanted a good location to stay for 4 days and 3 nights and this place wins hands down. You are only two blocks from the Metro (to DC and othe places) and two blocks from the King Street Trolley (free trolley in Alexandria). The service in the hotel was unbelievable; the staff behind the desk and those in the food area all worked to see that every client received personal attention. Josh greeted us with a warm welcome and answered all our questions in a most pleasant manner....that's always a good start. Our rooms were spacious and very clean! They offer a free breakfast (both hot and cold) with lots of choices. We had a kitchen in our suites and they will even do your grocery shopping. We didn't need this service, but saw the staff bringing in food from Whole Foods for the clients. And, from Monday thru Thursday, they offer a free dinner (salad and entree and beverages, which include wine and beer). The food is prepared by the LaPorta's (upscale restaurant next door) and is superb. How great is all that? We ate at the hotel one night and it was very, very good. Then, we walked next door to LaPorta's for after dinner drinks and dessert. We ate at other restaurants the other nights. All three of us felt this was the best hotel ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were in town for a visit to the sites in Washington DC and decided on this hotel as a great option for our family - 2 adults, 4 children and a baby. We had a great two bedroom, two bath suite with a full kitchen, including a stove and oven. Worked out great as there is a Whole Foods right nearby. Truly appreciated the morning breakfast buffet as well as the weeknight light dinner. Kids enjoyed the pool and we did also make use of the laundry facilities which we found to be very clean and well kept. Some of the furniture in our suite was starting to show some wear, but we found everything to be clean and comfortable. My parents also stayed at the hotel and had a very nice two bedroom suite--their suite though did not have an oven--just a two burner cooktop, so if the oven is important to you, be sure to check in with the hotel on that when you book your room. We walked daily to and from the King Street metro station. I believe there is a shuttle, but we found the walk to be quite manageable. If we are ever back in the area, this would be our choice of hotels. The staff was all very friendly and welcoming after being out touring for a long day.

Room Tip: Ask about the kitchen facilities to ensure you get what you are looking for and know what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We just returned from 4 night stay.
This was a long planned vacation to DC from NC.
This hotel was perfect for us.
We had a 1 bedroom suite looking out over Old Town.
One caution - there is a $18 daily day valet charge if you drive your car. But after reviewing all of the other options we felt this was acceptable.
Easy access to Metro station one block away. Many other hotels we considered required some form of bus ride to get to a metro station. This would have easily added 30 minutes each way.
We had a super easy ride to our tours of the Capital, Supreme Court and Library of Congress - a simple 24 minute train ride.
8 miles from Mt. Vernon. A must-see if you are going to DC area for vacation.
The hotal had the best "free" breakfast we have ever had at any hotel.
Mon-Thurs the hotel had free happy hour and buffet. They did not call the buffet dinner but it could certainly qualify if you did not wish to explore any of the excellent restaurenats in walking distance.
Walking distance to several very nice restaurants. We tried Joe Theisman's one night - one block away - and had a great meal.
There was a free trolley car ride if you wanted to go further down towards the wharf area restaurants - .5 to .8 miles away. We walked it one evening.
If you want to eat in - there was a Whole Foods one block away. We did this our last night - got take-out from Whole Foods hot bar and ate in our suite which ahd a full kitchen and dining table.
Hotel staff was very nice - helped with hints and tips. We accidentally dropped our camera in the elevator on the way to check out. Realized it 2 hours and 100 miles later. Called front desk and after describing the camera the said they had it and would send it to our home. rec'd it 2 days later. They were great.
Overall - Great location, wonderful property, very helpful staff.

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings - ask for front building with street view. Back building may only provide vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Alexandria in itself is worth the visit and the hotel just made it perfect. I walked in without a reservation and got a beautiful big room with big double bed and (comfortable) sofa bed for our son for 129$:). On Thursday evening there was a complimentary social event: free drinks (wine or beer, 2 per adult) and nachos, salad bar. Great.
Hot breakfast was more than sufficient as it was also complimentary:eggs , bacon, porridge, bagels,waffles, fresh fruit and yoghurt, delicious coffee; perfect despite that the hotel was fuly booked
The weather was so good that we did not even get the occasion to use the pool or the shuttle.
Staff were extremely helpful; at breakfast we were not allowed to clean the tables ourselves, the staff was so adequate and friendly, one lady litterally said ' You are new guest, welcome!'....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Came with my parents, husband, and son for a week long stay in a two bedroom suite. The suite was spacious, had a full kitchen, and plenty of room for the five of us. Hotel is in pretty close walking distance to the Metro station, but they have a shuttle that will take you there, which we used almost every day because we are lazy like that. We never waited more than 10 minutes for it in either direction. Excellent. They will also shuttle you down to the waterfront on King street.

They have a daily grocery shopping service as well, which is fantastic when you don't have a car. One morning, we dropped off our list with our order of a case of Blue Moon and an orange. We came back and opened the fridge and it wasn't there. I called the front desk and they practically fell over themselves trying to figure out where the ball was dropped. Come to find out they didn't drop the ball at all, it was in the door of the fridge and we were just idiots and didn't see it. The front desk staff kept the smile on their face even when we admitted our mistake.

The only cons I can come up with are the following:
*The dinner they advertise Monday - Thursday is a little lacking. It's more like munchies. But it's free and we ate the hell out of it until we were full, so why am I complaining?

*The two bedroom suites only have queen size beds. Throw some kings in there and the room would have been perfect.

*The hotel was overrun with obnoxious 8th graders, which is not the hotel's fault, obviously. My advice is to avoid DC altogether within the months of March/April if you find unattended 13 year olds even the slightest bit annoying.

Finally, the biggest "pro" of them all...
On the 4th night of our trip, my mother got extremely ill and we had to take her to the emergency room. She remained in the hospital for the remainder of our stay. The staff of this hotel could not have been more helpful, more kind, or more understanding. They actually cared, and helped us as much as they possibly could. Customer service in general is really lacking these days, and to have these people who don't even know us go out of their way to help us during such a stressful time was unbelievable. I cannot thank them enough for their kindness.

Love this hotel, and if we ever come back, I will stay here again and not even look at other options. You should all do the same.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.