We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Austin, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located near King St and offers a complimentary shuttle service to get you to nearby locations. The shuttle will take you where you want to go, which can be very useful and saves you the cost of a taxi.

The front desk staff is friendly and willing to accommodate your needs.

The rooms are spacious, clean, and well-decorated. They include a kitchenette and a seating area with a large TV. They also include free wi-fi in the room.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    163
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
210
107
32
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

Great hotel. Never had one problem there at all. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel is fantastic. The front desk staff are always willing to help and the shuttle service to nearby destinations is a big plus too. The first class breakfasts and afternoon hospitality sessions are perfectly presented and special consideration has to go out to the cooks and service personnel that are responsible for the food service end of this hotel. Roberto, one of the food preparer/chef/cooks made it even better with is great attitude. The only glitch during my last stay was the the internet went down throughout the hotel for an entire night and part of the next morning...but we were told it was the IP's fault and not that of the hotel...The chambermaids were also friendly, professional and did a wonderful job on cleaning up our giant room and kitchen each day....Thanks Residence Inn Alexandria and TA.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed here one night on a 3 night trip to visit Old Town and Washington DC. The one bedroom suite was quite bright and clean. We had a corner room which had more light into the living room and kitchen area. Since we are Marriott members we had a free night we earned and only had to pay for the parking. Free breakfast was great. The only downside was the walk to the metro. No one informed us at the front desk about the shuttle to the metro. It would have been nice to take instead of walking the 2 long blocks, since it was very hot weather this past weekend near 100 degrees. I would recommend this hotel to young families but older couples may have a problem with the walk to the metro.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. It depends on what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Rooms are large, staff is pleasant, and breakfast is good. There is a Whole Foods 2 blocks to the right of the hotel on Duke St.

It would be nice if the pool had longer hours than 10 - 9. On the weekend it was crowded and loud during the late afternoon hours.

The Emabssy Suites and Hilton are definitely closer to the King Stree metro. The Residence Inn is 2 long blocks back from the station - manageable but not the breeze that some of the reviews make it sound like. The hotel does have a shuttle, but it would be more trouble than it's worth to take to the station for most people. This past weekend the Metro was using single track in the King St station area. This definitely reduced the frequency of Yellow and Blue trains on Sat and Sun. May want to check into this if making plans to stay here in the coming weeks.

There's metered parking on the streets across from and behind the hotel. You have to feed the meters on weekdays from 8AM to 5PM (or maybe 7PM?) but Sunday was free. I'm pretty sure Saturday is as well. Beats paying $18/nt for the hotel parking if you can work the hours into your schedule.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

When visiting the DC area, this hotel is a great place to stay The suites are clean and comfortable. During the week, they have complimentary food and drinks out in the afternoon. This is great after a long day of sightseeing. Their complimentary breakfasts are also very good. The staff was very helpful and always met you with a smile. This hotel is about 2 blocks from the Amtrak station and about 2 blocks from a Metro stop. If your train is scheduled to leave later in the day, the hotel will store your luggage until you are ready to leave. The Residence Inn also has a free shuttle to the train station, the Metro, and to Old Town Alexandria.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

First, I booked my stay with the hotel directly and free parking was in my rate as a triple A member. I asked them to note that on my account record, so there would be no question. Thankfully, it WAS noted in my reservation, because 2 days before check in, the hotel claimed they didn't offer free parking. Of course I would not have booked here w/o free parking. My reservation was for 2 rooms and at $18 a day x two rooms, plus tax, that meant paying an extra $40 a day. The hotel did honor my free parking, only after much grief and contact with the highest level of Marriott customer service. in addition, the hotel is in need of upgrades. With the high amount of traffic in this area, carpet, mattresses, etc. Needed to be replaced. The room seemed clean, but upon opening the microwave, food was everywhere inside it. Also, the breakfast buffet, included, was not good. A half hour before the end time, there was nothing left. I had to ask for coffee, half n half, eggs, jelly and a fork. Then stand and wait for each one. Totalling more than 20 minutes of waiting. The location of this Hotel is good and the "old town" area, a few blocks away is very nice. However, If I were to come back to the area, I would choose the Hilton instead. It's right across the street from the metro rail.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton or Monaco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you surfaced this issue so that we may properly address it with AAA. Currently, there is no active promotion for complimentary parking and AAA should not be extending this offer. Your feedback will give me the ability to follow up with them. I apologize that they passed along this information, but I am happy that Will and the team were able to take care of it for you.

I appreciate your other comments as well. We are evaluating our closing time and have also decided to more clearly post our operating hours to assist guests with their meal planning. Furthermore, we will certainly address the comments about the room cleanliness, as that has never happened.

I apologize that in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. Please feel free to call me to discuss further if you'd like.

Mike Wilson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.