We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut Above” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Mainer
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A Cut Above”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We have stayed at many Res Inns, this one is definitely a cut above the others. The exterior is brick, in keeping with the historic district, and was certainly more attractive than any other RI we've stayed. We asked for a quiet rm, and woman said one was very quiet but distant from the elevators, the other closer to elevator and street but still quiet. She was correct - rm was still very quiet while being convenient to elevator.
The liv room area seemed somewhat larger than other RIs, and was clean and nicely furnished. We liked that the room had 2 separate closets and 2 sets of drawers - one in liv room, the other in bdrm. Our daughter slept on sofabed and had convenience of having all their clothes in that area, and not in bdrm.
The bedrm itself was standard size, loved that bed was double sheeted and lamps by each side of bed were easy to turn on/off for reading in bed and had an outlet for recharging phone - nice touch. Sink was o/side the shower/toilet which is great when everyone's getting ready at same time. Both bedrm and liv rm had their own flat screen tvs.
Breakfast selection was also better than at other RIs, four hot dishes that changed each day and both bagels and eng muffins were avail in whole wheat (in addition to plain ones), and area kept clean even when very busy. As others have mentioned, the free shuttle was excellent and will take you anywhere w/in a mile of the hotel. That doesn't sound far, but that mile encompasses most of the restaurants, shops, museums and galleries.
Another nice touch was the three free newspapers avail ea day in the lobby - Wash Post, USA Today or WSJ.
A few negatives (but not major). First is we kept having to request additional towels, face cloths etc. Even tho we were registered for 3, they kept giving us only 2 towels, etc.
Second, we received incomplete directions several times. We asked how to get to Metro and was told to take a left at hotel entrance and go 2 blocks. After searching and asking, we found that Metro was not on same street but you needed to turn up a separate street, and cross another to get to it. Metro is still easy walk, but directions should have specified turns needed. Same thing happened when we asked for directions to restaurant (Joe Teismans - good pub fare and salads) - they told us just to walk 2 blks. Again, they never mentioned the turn needed. We were surprised they didn't just show us on a map.
The other negative is true of most RIs where we've stayed and continues to puzzle. We stayed Fri - Tues, so in order to get the reduced weekend rate for Fri -Sun we had to ck out on Mon morning, and ck in again! If we didn't do this we'd be charged the much higher weekday rate for all nights. I don't understand why they can't just charge you a different rate on different nights, or take the aver and charge that for ea night. Altho we did not have to move to a diff room, we did have to wait in line to ck in/out, and to get new keys. Inconvenient. Other hotels that we've stayed at do not do this, the bill simply shows the diff room rates for the diff nights.
But, all in all, I would highly recommend this hotel. The attention to detail was really outstanding - from the variety of newspapers to the thoughtful room design. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    163
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
210
107
32
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Oradell, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed in the two bedroom suite arriving on Easter Sunday. I have traveled all over the world and the check in here I have to say was one of the best I have even experienced. My children and I were greeted warmly (even giving my girls two little teddy bears with Residence Inn on them - nice touch!). All questions about the local area and restaurants were answered very well, maps provided and we were off to enjoy this lovely town. I am a Marriott Rewards member and requested a quiet room on a high floor. The receptionist explained rooms were fairly close to an elevator but they had never had a noise complaint. I must say this was true! Although, I have to say we did hear some traffic noise from our room although the road seemed to be quite a distance away. Rooms and common areas were spotless, staff was extremely courteous and helpful. I asked for extra towels and blankets and they were brought straight away. Room was clean and updated. Kids used the pool - which to my surprise had a lifeguard on duty - and it was clean and well kept. I used the laundry room which was again clean and in working order - even tables and chairs provided so you could wait and play cards for your laundry. We did the breakfast in the morning which was pretty much what you would need to get a start on your day. I would definitely stay here again. We had a really nice time. The town is really charming. We ate at LaTorno (I can't remember the name) but right next door to the hotel on the right. It was one of the best meals we have had in a long time and boy was the price right. Two entrees and a decent bottle of wine for $28!!!! Kids meal was 9.99 each though. Live music playing, great cocktails, wonderful service, definitely worth a try. It doesn't look like much from the outside, my daughter insisted on trying it, and after checking great reviews on opentable.com , boy were we happy we tried it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Our school band (60 people) stay there for 3 nights and it was a great experience. The hotel was very accommadating to us and very helpful. Breakfast had a wide variety. The staff is very helpful, especially Yessica and Erin, the Front Desk Manager. Will definately stay again

Room Tip: If you need anything, talk to Yessica
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I scored a great deal for lodging here on one of the search engines. Our family of four stayed in Alexandria for a week. I can recommend a stay at this Residence. The staff, any and all included, could not be more accommodating or friendly. The room for four was spacious and had just about all the amenities we needed lacking only a dvd player. Two rooms, 2 tvs, full size refridge, dishwasher, micro, stove top, silverware, dishes....A comfortable bed and linens, a sofa bed ( my kids said it was okay ) A complimentary breakfast buffet every morning, complimentary food offering in the late afternoon. Free shuttle service on demand into Old Town or the surrounding area. We decided to stay in town longer than expected. We could not be accommodated here, it was april vacation time in the north east. We took a room at another local hotel with a higher "star" rating for a few more days. Without a doubt, this hotel could not compare to the Residence Inn. My son best described the posh hotel as being "Chrome". All show with no go.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Love the rooms, kitchenette, desk, internet, living room, great layout - loved the location and the rooms!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

The hotel is not the fanciest but it has great amenities like a kitchen so bring a cooler with you of your favorite snacks . During the week they serve dinner and cocktail hour. That means 2 glasses of wine or 2 beers per person, but I am fussy about wine so I forgot to bring my own and we scouted some stores but no one had my brand so bring your own to keep in the room they provide wine glasses. The bed was very comfortable and the people are very friendly we will definitely be going back next spring,. Every morning they serve a great breakfast from hearty to healthy. We dined at Hanks if you like seafood its right downtown and the shuttle will take u there...outstanding. We went to Mt.Vernon which is 7 miles from the hotel and for lunch we ate at the Inn instead of the food court you might have to wait for a table which we did about 25min but the pulled pork sandwhich was worth it. The Old Ebbitt Grill in D.C. is wonderful make a reservation before you go so u won't have to wait 90 min. Try the Founding Farmers we went last year that is where Barack and Michele eat on date nite sometimes. It is reasonable also make a reservation. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed here with extended family to attend a funeral. The entire staff at this hotel was very helpful and nice from housekeeping, front desk and shuttle driver. We did utilize the shuttle and the driver was extremely polite and helpful. It seemed as though everyone was happy to help you. The room was clean, up to date, and very quiet. I enjoyed having the full kitchen because there is a Whole Foods grocery store within two blocks and I could store my groceries. The hotel was within walking distance to many restaurants, galleries and shopping. We did eat breakfast each morning and it was a full breakfast with many items to choose from. We also ate dinner one evening which is offered Monday through Thursday nights and it was very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.