We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

It can be nervewracking to travel with a toddler - but from the minute we walked in the door to this property, we were at ease about our choice. We hadn't even made it to the front desk before the staff person came out from behind the desk with a small stuffed bear for our travel-weary daughter. The great and friendly service continued day after day - everything from staff waving and playing peek-a-boo with our daughter each time we passed in the hallway to keeping the breakfast buffet open at least a half an hour longer each day for those of us with jet lag :)

We wish the pool area had a hot tub (as the pool was a little chilly for our little one after a few minutes), however the proximity to Whole Foods, the King St. Metro, and King Street walk was wonderful. Five stars from your friends in Wisconsin.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    163
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
210
107
32
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cresskill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This is a great hotel in a very good location. It is at the end of the walking area of Old Town, Alexandria and only a ten minute walk to the Metro.
The room (a one bedroom suite with small kitchen area) was very nice. Since we were travelling with a small child, it was especially nice to have a separate room for her to sleep. (The only negative of the room was the pillows. Next time, I will request special pillows offered on the website.)
The free light dinner on Thursday was nice and the free breakfast on all days was great...the best breakfast buffet that we have every had at a hotel. The dining area is a very nice area as well.
What sets this hotel apart from other hotels is the exceptional customer service. The people at the front desk could not have been friendlier to my wife and I and especially to my daughter. Everyone else was incredibly friendly and helpful as well. When we needed dishwasher detergent it was brought up to us immediately with a smile. When we were running late to the Metro, the shuttle driver quickly put the stroller in the back and took us over. The lifeguard at the pool was very friendly and offered to take our picture in the pool. When we asked for extra milk at the breakfast buffet, it was brought out to us.
By the end of the trip, we didn't want to leave the hotel...and my daughter had lots of new friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

If your traveling on I95, spend a day in Alexandria Old Town. The Residence Inn is a great location. Park your car and forget it. While convenient to I495, Old town is in walking distance with many restaurants to chose from. The hotel is excellent ... clean, quiet and the staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

On our way down to visit our grandkids in Florida, my husband and I stopped in Alexandria, VA for the night and what a pleasant visit that was. Trip started out badly with a 'surprise snow squall' but it gave the town a Charles Dickens look that definitely lent itself to the time of year. Hotel was convenient to everything; we took the trolley downtown and enjoyed the sights, the restaurants, etc. and didn't have to worry about parking. Rooms were large and comfortable and we will definitely return to this hotel and town again. Breakfast buffet was wonderful; best I've seen in a Residence Inn and we will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends. Thanks for the wonderrful time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

We considered this hotel to have pretty good value. We stayed 5 days, and here are the
pros and cons:

PROS: Great location. You can walk all over Old Town, and altho it is several blocks to
the waterfront, a person in average physical health should have no problems. There is
also a free King Street trolley. G. Washington Masonic Memorial is inspiring.
Nice hotel room - very comfortable beds & pillows. Kitchenette is roomy. No stove, but
new refrig, microwave, dishwasher. Kitchen basics are adequate & clean.
This hotel accepts dogs, so if you don't like dogs, or have allergies, this is not the hotel
for you. The dogs we saw were well behaved & quiet, and there were quite a few.
Breakfast is included, and quite substantial. Eggs, waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juices.
CONS: Breakfast begins at 7:00, so all those people needing to catch an early flight missed breakfast. Parking is not included. Our charge was $104 per nite, with parking another $18 per nite. However, there is some metered parking across the street, which is free on weekends, and we used that a couple of nights. If you have an average sized American car, or an SUV or van, you will have a rough time in the parking garage, as evidenced by the hundreds of wall scrapes. Talk about tight!!
The pool area says "Pool and Whirlpool" but HA - there is no whirlpool at this hotel !
Other than that, it has cheery & helpful staff, and our stay was
pleasant. Good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandstx
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed a week over the Thanksgiving holiday. The hotel is a quick two block walk to the metro and the downtown sightseeing. The rooms are large, well-appointed, with a fully stocked kitchen and a market a block away. The self laundry is on the second floor, and is enormous and clean. There is a small indoor pool. The daily breakfast buffet has great variety and good food; on Mon-Thurs, the hotel also provides a hot dinner (chicken and rice, for example) in a buffet format in the lobby, which is extremely convenient for tourists tired from a long day of museum-hopping. The hotel also is very moderately priced. In short, this is a perfect hotel for families in the DC area and I would absolutely stay here again. A real winner.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We came to the DC area for a family wedding, so stayed at the Residence Inn for 6 nights so we could take in some of the DC wonders. It's just a great hotel: very pleasant staff, the Metro very handy, breakfast just fine and light dinner meals several night. They kindly checked us in very early and placed us close to our other family members. We will definitely return to this Marriott - it exceeded my high expectations!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.