We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caphe Banh Mi

Caphe Banh Mi
407 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA (Old Town)
703-549-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 644 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighborhood: Old Town
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Old Town
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very good pho for Alexandria. Friendly staff. Not super crowded (at least on the night I visited). I would definitely return. Everything I had was flavorful, and the staff got me in and out quickly (which is what I was looking for).

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for those new to Vietnamese...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

...as well as for those that are more experienced with this wonderful cuisine. I say this because my first visit to this cozy but charming eatery was with family members who never had the pleasure of tasting Vietnamese food. Both the initiated and uninitiated came away equally pleased with the offerings and service at Caphe Banh Mi.

Particular highlights of our dinner included the spicy ground beef bánh mì, the mixed green salad w/ orange vinaigrette, and of course the house pho, which cooks the rare brisket before your eyes in its warm tasty broth.

It is a small establishment, tucked away from the busy happenings on King Street. However, the wait for seating wasn't long on a Friday night and the service once inside was dynamite. The cozy confines of the restaurant also meant that a helpful server was never far away to either fill your drink, replace a utensil, or provide your bill.

Speaking of the bill, the reasonable prices are reminiscent of those at familiar Eden Center establishments.

The only detraction is a lack of wine selection (they do serve beer), but it looks like they are soon remedying that with a multiple bottle dispensing system that will surely be available when I return for another meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a real gem off the main street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This small space off the main drag never really got much business in the previous restaurant iterations that were here. Now with Caphe Banh Mi in place it's almost always full which is a testament to its menu. I'd never eaten pho before and the food's freshness and combination of flavors really won me over. I've also tried the sandwiches (which strike me as a little odd, maybe too conventional) but are also really good. Definite thumbs up!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another Old Town Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Nestled in a small building in Old Town, Caphe Banh Mi is sure to make you come back for more.

I stopped by to pick up a sandwich but ended up getting their House Pho. Initially, I thought it tasted just like any other Pho, but once the fresh basil started to cook in the broth, I couldn't get enough. I also had the Phoenix Banh Mi to-go. Even after several hours, it tasted great. Their grilled chicken tastes amazing and really brings the sandwich together.

Service was excellent and prices are very cheap.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrific Pho in Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lucky to be seated immediately today, but well worth it even if there is a line as it generally moves quickly. Pho is delicious as well as everything on the menu. Excellent dining option one block off King St.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caphe Banh Mi also viewed

 

Been to Caphe Banh Mi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caphe Banh Mi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.