We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheesetique

Cheesetique
2411 Mt. Vernon Ave., Alexandria, VA 22301
703-706-5300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 612 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Bistro, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Nassau Bay, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“LOVE this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was my 3rd time to eat here. Anytime I'm in town visiting my friend, we have to have a stop here. This time I had a grown up grilled cheese with mushrooms and some tomato soup. Amazing. Also the wine selection can't be beat! You won't regret eating here.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
194 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Because it's not 'really a restaurant'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It is a cafe - that specializes in cheeses and salami - and will make small essentially taster plates and sell bottled drinks ... and there's coffee next door. So let's talk about what Cheestique IS - a wonderful experience for the Cheese-o-phile in you ... high turnover guarantees a quality product. You will find cheeses here you won't easily find in other parts of our town. The service a little cumbersome due to lack of automated scales .. cheese is cut to order, weighed and then a label is written by hand. It takes time so don't come when it's crowded or you are in a hurry. If you have just a little time and patience you'll be well rewarded.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cheesehead Approved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Being from Wisconsin, my kids doubted my choice of a restaurant having a cheesy name. Hah! I showed them as it was fabulous. Service excellent! Wine pairings on menu welcomed. My teen said the flavors were "strong and refined." This meal was flawless and we would have taken cheese home if it was later in our travels. Respect that they care about where their cheeses originate.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, CT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was in the DC area for the weekend and my friend brought us here for lunch on Saturday. It was great! The service was excellent. There was an awesome selection of cheese. We had a cheese board to share then each got an entree. I had the pimento grilled cheese which had the perfect amount of kick. The wine flights were also excellent. I would definitely go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with the cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Okay, don't go here if you don't like or are allergic to cheese. And yes, the menu is restricted to cheese-inspired dishes see. But with all the fine cheeses available you can surely find something you'll enjoy very much. So go if you're in the mood for cheese-related treats. Enjoy the fancy grilled cheese or the mac and cheese. Or have a sandwich filled with cheese. And the wine selection is good. We come often and will continue giving Cheesetique our business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheesetique also viewed

 

Been to Cheesetique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheesetique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.