We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the reasons we visited from Toronto!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheesetique

Cheesetique
2411 Mt. Vernon Ave., Alexandria, VA 22301
703-706-5300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 639 restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Café, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of the reasons we visited from Toronto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Cheesetique is so awesome - we were thinking of making a return trip to the DC area and one of the things we loved about our last visit was this place, so it helped make the decision! It has both an amazing front counter full of (and I mean FULL of) different cheeses and meats, pretty much any kind you can think of and many you will only find here, and interesting bottles of wine to take home with you. Then, there is the cozy back dining area where we had our cheese platter, grilled cheese, and some other cheese-y menu items for dinner, as well as three glasses of wine each. They have an amazing and versatile wine selection and they are all offered by the glass as well - it is so fun to pick a different one each time, and there are some great descriptions on the list so you know what to expect. Our server was really friendly and unpretentious.
We were happy to see that it's become even better since we last visited (they majorly expanded the dining area.) I really wish we had a place just like this in Toronto - we have similar cheese shops but nothing that quite compares to Cheesetique.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    47
    18
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Am I in Wisconsin?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

An early brunch on Sunday brought us to Cheesetique. It's a small restaurant with an axing selection of meets and cheeses. They even had a wine tasting being held. Our brunch was amazing and I would highly recommend the tomato soup with grilled cheese or the croque Madame. Both were delicious.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I love it here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything on the menu is good. I've been to Cheesetique several times now with friends. The wine list is great and so is everything else!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing what you can do with cheese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

So, they've got a great market with amazing selection, and wines. Their menu is inventive----how bout a grilled cheese with banana and bacon on special bread? Friendly service, quiche is great too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous wine and cheese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Made an early dinner of a cheese plate and a couple glasses of wine with a good friend. The server was extremely helpful and very friendly, which just made the experience that much more enjoyable. Lots of great wines to choose from and lots of wonderful cheeses to try. The regular menu looked interesting and yummy, too. I love how helpful the staff is and how they have helpful hints around the place on what cheese will go well with what types of wines. So much fun!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheesetique also viewed

 

Been to Cheesetique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheesetique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.