We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good show, good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval Madness

Medieval Madness
710 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
+1 703-329-3075
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Medieval Madness Feast is located inside John Strongbow's Tavern. It features medieval entertainment that incorporates the arts and history to join people and communities in fun and good fellowship. Reservations include a four-course feast with dishes like Gallentyn Pye, Chicken Skewers Roasted in Plum Sauce, Three-berry tart and more. Food and seating are arranged family style. Reservations required.
Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good show, good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Found a Groupon offer and decided to give it a go-the husband and I enjoyed the night! The show was very good, and I love that everything offered is researched to be as historically accurate as possible. The beer offerings were excellent. The sword fighting was excellent, and it was very impressive to hear they have a martial arts center where people train in the ancient arts. I don't think I would have paid the $59 per person original cost, but for the $39 Groupon deal, it was worth every penny. We took a look at their regular restaurant menu and want to go back to try lunch or dinner. I would recommend this for a different kind of night out!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Beer, pity about the rest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Title says it all; did like the open mike night. Reformed chicken, or that's what it tasted like. Really good beer tho'

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

While I can understand a four star rating for this establishment, I believe it warrants 5 stars for a few key reasons:

1. It was started by 3 disabled, distinguished Veterans, and is still owned and operated by disabled, distinguished Veterans. That being said, they epitomize what this country is all about. Entrepreneurship at it's finest! This is not Medieval Times, but it is so much more personable, making you really feel like you are part of what's going on. To be short, it was like you were hanging out with a bunch of friends.

2. While it was pricey (unless you got it on Groupon or Living Social), it was understandably so after seeing what you got for it. You will not go home hungry unless you choose to. You will get enough to drink but can buy more. You will be served extremely well by people who really love what they are doing. You will laugh and have more fun than you've had in a while. You will get a non-polished, sometimes impromptu, comedy show that is surprisingly dated yet current at the same time. All this and, even with tips for the waitresses (or wenches as you'll come to endearingly refer to them) and sword fighters, you're still getting a deal.

3. Comfort and uniqueness. This place just felt good. It felt like you were not in the 21st century, it was as thought out and put together as anything I'd ever seen. There is a reason it has been successful, and that is because they take a whole lot of pride in what they do, and they absolutely love doing it.

Bottom line, if you don't get a coupon, the night for 2 people will cost you in the neighborhood of $160 without buying more drinks. That being said - you'll leave feeling like you got your money's worth, just so long as you don't have expectations that this is something that it is not...it is exactly as it advertises pretty much. Don't expect to 'be fed like a king' by today's standards - because what kings then were fed was more like what a much lower class gets fed today (not talking quantity or even quality here...just 'style')...but make no mistake, you'll get VERY unique dishes, many of which you've never had before, and you'll likely love all of it! (and both sauces are great and pretty much - surprisingly - can be put on just about anything and taste good...quite odd! Don't look for modern, or anything that is 'by today's standards'...the point is to take you back in time a bit...so keep your expectations as such. It's a dinner theater comedy show...enjoy it for what it is!

GREAT job to everyone at Medieval Madness! We will be back sometime for sure, and will continue to tell our friends to try it out!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I Liked It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Our adult daughter came to visit and specifically asked to see this dinner/show. This was before they moved to their new location. We thought the food was great, the show was fun, and had a great evening! I especially liked that the servers told us the recipes for the variety of food we were served (family style) were from Medieval times. The family style way they served things was also great ice breaker for getting to know the folks next to you as you sit next to strangers at long tables. It wasn't a problem for me, but just so everyone knows. =)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun but not enough food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We had a fun time at Medieval Madness. The show was pretty good but might put some parents on edge if attending with children. Included with the admission price were the meal and two tankards of ale. Seemed like a pretty good value when we booked through Living Social. The place was full with at least fifty people in attendance. The two courses were served to groups of six people. The first course consisted of a meat pie, sausages, and peas. The second course consisted of chicken skewers, rice with blueberries, and cinnamon-covered carrots. Also provided were a pear sauce and mustard.

The meal was intended to fit into a 15th Century England theme. I especially enjoyed the meat pie and sausages; the rye ale served was excellent. However, despite us guests being "lords and ladies," it seemed like we were not really fed as such; the portions and amounts served with each course were rather small. Then, the amount of dessert served, a Linzer Torte, was rather disappointing and awkward, as the six of us had to divvy up eight pieces from two small tortes amongst ourselves.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Madness also viewed

 

Been to Medieval Madness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medieval Madness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.