We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no utensils? what is this? the cavemen times?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval Madness

Medieval Madness
1121 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
(703) 329-3075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Type: Dinner Theaters
Attraction Details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“no utensils? what is this? the cavemen times?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My hubby and I love going to dinner shows. So I had big expectations when I came here especially with all the raving reviews. But this one was a sort of a let down.

The setting is in a dark long hallway type room that is dressed with medieval decor. Every staff member spoke in Old English and dressed their part.

Pros:

+friendly staff,
+ included with your meals are two free ales or one raspberry meed sparkling wine
+ random touches of history
+ intimate setting
+ adutl setting
+ fun atmosphere and great decor
+ interactive

Cons:
+not family friendly,( I wouldn't ever take my daughter here and wouldn't recommend anyone under age 16 as the jokes are raunchy)
+bland and disappointing food
+boring story line
+not enough sword fights

Normally you can't expect food to be good at dinner shows but this by far is the worst of all the shows we've been to. You eat family style here (I have no problem with that and it's kind of fun) but basically includes plenty of normal tasting bread, whipped butter, random fruit like blueberries and grape, two decent tasting sausages, bland rosemary chicken, bland but soft roast beef, cinnamon carrots, and yam puffs (looks like potato tater tots but are yams) and a piece of nothing-special pound cake. Also two sauces: honey pear sauce and honey mustard. I used a lot of the sauces and salt to make my food edible.

The comedy and show was lackluster and left something to be desired. The sword fight at the end was probably the best part of the show. They did try their best but it was kind of boring. I wish they did more of the sword fight and less random talking unless they can make the show funnier.

The Raspberry Mead Wine as mentioned above is a light sweet red wine made with fermented honey. It wasn't bad and fun to drink. The ale was light and tasty (I don't normally drink beer but it wasn't bad albeit I really only drank sips here and there). They had more beer and wine in the back if you wanted to purchase your own.

Word of caution: THERE ARE NO UTENSILS! You eat with your hands which I don't get. Did they not have utensils back in the day? I thought this was medieval times, not the caveman times. There's just no reason to be eating my roast beef with my fingers.

So in conclusion, this place was fun and would I come again? Only if invited for a party or event otherwise I wouldn't return on my own.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Medieval Fun and Laughs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been to Medieval Madness several times over the past 2 years or so and it just keeps getting better. This is a locally owned and operated dinner theater, with original shows set in the Middle Ages that incorporate current events. They change their shows about every 3-4 months so it's always fresh. Because it's small and it encourages audience participation, you get a feeling of being a part of the spectacle, as opposed to just being part of an audience. And the shows encourage participation so there's lots of ad-libbing on the part of the actors so it's pretty funny.

The food uses recipes and ingredients that were traditional in the middle ages, though on occasion, there is some stretching to their interpretation of traditional :). The food is good, for the most part, and plentiful. You share long trestle tables so you do get to know your neighbors. It comes with 2 beers or one glass of mead and they have a full bar. Many of their beers and wines come from breweries and vineyards that have been around since the middle ages so that's fun.

In all, they're really serious about providing an authentic experience (with the comforts of the 21st century) and in providing a good time for their patrons. IMO, they succeed magnificently.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A friend enticed me to go - we had vouchers from Living Social or Google or one of those - and I was initially skeptical. As a history buff, I went in with mild interest and low expectations. But I had a great time!

The staff really commits to their roles and clearly enjoy what they do. The food was better than I'd thought (really liked that cinnamon pear sauce, especially on the roast beef), and 2 drinks were included in our voucher - the food and beer were authentic and tasty. The serving wenches paid us a lot of attention, which was nice.

The show itself was clever and sprinkled with history bits, and I noticed that everyone around me really got into the spirit of things - though 2 beers will help with that - and even the tweens there had a blast.

Definitely an original evening of entertainment, and I'd be happy to return.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A for Effort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

While the whole idea is fun - the execution could use some work. The premise of joining a Duke and Duchess in their castle for dinner is pretty cool. The venue is well done, but the execution is a bit lacking.

The show is entertaining - but no the laugh out loud comedy and humor I was expecting. The eat with your hands part worked out OK - but the food was pretty underwhelming. Sausages were good, the roast beef was nothing to write home about. The chicken was not very good. The pound cake dessert was a dud.

I might go back again - but not too soon. Medieval Madness is a kind of place I would consider taking friends who are visiting here in the Metro DC Area ... but the problem is value for the $$$. With the same budget I can think of many places I'd spend my money before I rush back.

The sword fight was fine, and I did appreciate the humor and personal attention paid to us by our Wench (waitress).

I went using one of the social media coupon/discount promotions.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was my second time attending and I had just as good a time as the first experience. Both times we purchased through living social. I am a fan of the beer, although it is very pricey but I haven't been to Germany in a number of years and it allows me to reminisce. The atmosphere is more intimate than that of a Medieval Times, and depending on which show you go to the story lines develop differently. Food was good, I particularly liked the sausage and spiced cake. Not a fan of the 700 year old jam, or the glazed carrots, but the meal was satisfying. Your experience will be greatly enhanced if you go with people that like historical references and get involved with group activities. Staff are accommodating and do a very fine job. Will definitely return in again and again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Madness also viewed

 

Been to Medieval Madness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medieval Madness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Medieval Madness to your Saves list