We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good show, but the food could have been better considering what you paid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval Madness

Medieval Madness
710 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
+1 703-329-3075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 Activities in Alexandria
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Medieval Madness Feast is located inside John Strongbow's Tavern. It features medieval entertainment that incorporates the arts and history to join people and communities in fun and good fellowship. Reservations include a four-course feast with dishes like Gallentyn Pye, Chicken Skewers Roasted in Plum Sauce, Three-berry tart and more. Food and seating are arranged family style. Reservations required.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good show, but the food could have been better considering what you paid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The food was fair, but nothing special (I assume that this was “authentic” for medieval England, though, as I doubt that cooks in the middle ages were all that great). What you really pay for is the show, of course, and the chance to yell, “Wench, bring me some more ale!” The beer selection was good, and I thoroughly enjoyed the show and the sword fighting duel at the end.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“A Fun Evening (For a Discounted Price)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We purchased half-price vouchers from Living Social to attend Medieval Madness. I had read a good review of it in the Washington Post and those here on Trip Advisor, so I thought that it would be worth the $29 I paid for each voucher (as opposed to the regular $58 price).

The MM hall is located in Old Town Alexandria, so it's easy to find and we had no problem finding parking. (Parking in the area is free after 7pm and the show begins at 7:15, so you shouldn't have to put much, if anything, into the meters.)

There are two long tables in the hall, each of which seats 42 people. As soon as you are seated, a "wench" comes by to tell you about the bread and food on the table and to explain the drinks system. You get a goblet of water (which they refill regularly--no problem there) as well as a choice of 1 mug of meade (honey wine) or two tankards of ale. Additional drinks can be purchased at the bar.

The table is set with loaves of white and wheat bread as well as bowls of butter, raspberry jam, and cinnamon pear sauce (which can be used on the bread or as a sauce for the meat). The wheat bread was about the best bread I have ever tasted! I could almost have made a meal just of that.

The evening begins with a speech by the Duke who explains the concept of Medieval Madness. Its history is rather interesting (and can be read on their website if you are interested.) Then the evening begins with the original "play" which, as has been mentioned before, is not Shakespeare, but it is entertaining and some of the actors are actually pretty good.

Between "scenes", the "wenches" bring out the various "removes". The first remove was the bread and grapes on the table when you were seated. The second remove is sausage, roasted beef and cinnamon glazed carrots. The third remove is rosemary roasted chicken legs and yam puffs (like tater tots). The final remove, dessert, was pound cake. The food is served on platters with enough portions for 6 people. There was more than enough food on each platter for the 6 people surrounding us. I thought all of the food was absolutely delicious except for the pound cake which I am sure was store-bought and not homemade. It was so tasteless that there were a couple pieces left on the platter that nobody wanted.

The play (which is new every 4 months) is interspersed with bawdy songs (which I loved) and a sword fight. All of the actors spoke well and loud enough to be heard throughout the hall even when the audience was a bit lively. There are no bad seats in the house.

I'm a little surprised by those who have commented on how much their children enjoyed the evening. I can see where they would like the food and eating with their fingers, but much of the dialogue would go over their heads and some of the rest of it would be too "wordy". (I even would have appreciated less talking, more walking.)

All in all, we found this to be an enjoyable evening, especially with a group of friends. I would definitely recommend it if you are able to get a discounted ticket, but at full price, it's a rather pricey evening.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPlata
1 review
“Great night out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great fun. Food is excellent. The staff is great at both serving patrons and entertaining. One of the best selections of beer in the area. A great night out for a special occasion or just a fun time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Silly Night of Medieval Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our daughter decided to have her 12th birthday celebration, so she could invite both boys and girls. The kids had a great time and enjoyed eating with their fingers. The roasted meats (sausage, beef, chicken) were all very flavorful and juicy and the sides (yams, carrots) were good too. There were all kinds of sauces and fresh bread as well. The food was good - not gourmet - but solid medieval fare. For adults, the meads, wines and beers were the stars - all authentic from the wineries and breweries in operation since the middle ages.

The entertainment was silly at times and made you laugh out loud. The sword fight was very interesting to watch and, of course, the boys in our group enjoyed that a lot. There was some risque humor that went over the kid's heads, especially the lyrics in the drinking songs.

All and all a fun night and a good meal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fun night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

An enjoyable and fun night out for the family. Great atmosphere. Allow extra time to find Parking in Alexandria. Food is pretty good overall.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Madness also viewed

 

Been to Medieval Madness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medieval Madness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.