We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream

Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream
109 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
(703) 518-5374
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Dessert in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Old Town
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had the chocolate chocolate chip, and the cookie dough ice cream and it was amazing. They have hundreds of flavors of their home made ice cream. Its definitely a must stop in Alexandria .

Helpful?
Thank Jayjon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must stop for summer ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Pop's is your typical small-town ice cream parlor in an old town location. Flavors abound and service is quick. I've never been disappointed at Pop's!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarathonFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better Off Going to CVS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I love supporting local businesses and have tried almost everything within a 5 block radius of my house in Old Town. That being said, after having the worst ice-cream sundae of my life, I decided that I was better off going to CVS for a pint of whatever is on special, than wasting another penny at Pop's. Tourists, I know you think it is cute, but do not waste your money, and go to the Ben & Jerry's, your tastebuds will thank you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank watchknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Right in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you are from New England, and you like Black Rasberry they have it here. It's almost as good. Take it out and walk down to the river to get a good view of the river.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Empathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I thought I had found the best ice cream in the world in Maui. I was wrong. This is the best Ice Cream in the world. The best homemade Ice Cream I've ever had. The serve is a 2 star, nice people, but they don't really care. The Ice Cream though is a 8 star, so I gave it 5 star. The best in my estimation is the cookie dough ice cream. LARGE chunks of cookie dough surrounded by smooth, creamy vanilla ice cream.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vindex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing