We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream

Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream
109 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
(703) 518-5374
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 649 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Neighborhood: Old Town
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Old Town
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had the chocolate chocolate chip, and the cookie dough ice cream and it was amazing. They have hundreds of flavors of their home made ice cream. Its definitely a must stop in Alexandria .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must stop for summer ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Pop's is your typical small-town ice cream parlor in an old town location. Flavors abound and service is quick. I've never been disappointed at Pop's!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better Off Going to CVS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I love supporting local businesses and have tried almost everything within a 5 block radius of my house in Old Town. That being said, after having the worst ice-cream sundae of my life, I decided that I was better off going to CVS for a pint of whatever is on special, than wasting another penny at Pop's. Tourists, I know you think it is cute, but do not waste your money, and go to the Ben & Jerry's, your tastebuds will thank you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Right in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you are from New England, and you like Black Rasberry they have it here. It's almost as good. Take it out and walk down to the river to get a good view of the river.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I thought I had found the best ice cream in the world in Maui. I was wrong. This is the best Ice Cream in the world. The best homemade Ice Cream I've ever had. The serve is a 2 star, nice people, but they don't really care. The Ice Cream though is a 8 star, so I gave it 5 star. The best in my estimation is the cookie dough ice cream. LARGE chunks of cookie dough surrounded by smooth, creamy vanilla ice cream.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.