We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; so clean !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Alexandria Old Town to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $129!
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Massapequa Park, NY
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great location; so clean !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This hotel is in a great location right by the Metro. We got off the train and checked in. Asked for a quiet room. Room was really big and spacious. Bathroom was marble and shower worked great. No noise from street or other rooms. Breakfast was served by a really nice local guy who gave us some info about the area. Close to downtown, but quiet street, although lots of restaurants and light, so not scary to walk at night. Overall great stay for one night and would highly recommend !!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
We are very happy that you had a great stay, the convenience of the train is excellent and the city has great charm. Thanks for the great feedback on the room and breakfast and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    257
    95
    28
    15
See reviews for
146
165
61
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

This is a great hotel for its nice clean rooms, proximity to metro, in-hotel restaurant/bar, internet (at a price); however, for the price of this hotel, it is not a great value.

I have stayed in this hotel for business many times. Check-in is usually fast and with a smile. If you are a Hilton Gold member you can get either free breakfast daily, bonus points, or free internet. One bad thing about this hotel is staying in the rooms on the metro side. If you are not a morning person, you will be woken up by the noise of the train everyday. I usually request a room opposite the train side.

The rooms are nice, fair size, have a small fridge, and clean. The bed is really comfortable and TV is a nice flat screen; however, I have had problems with the TV service cutting in out and out of service and the hotel was not able to do anything about it other than send a service person to my room the next day after the problem already resolved itself and NO compensation whatsoever. I've only had this problem at night, when I usually watch TV after work. The hotel also has a pretty decent gym that includes free weights, machine, cardio machines with tvs. Towels and cold water provided as well. There is also a swimming pool, but I never used it.

The in-hotel restaurant/bar is actually very good. They have a breakfast buffet which was really good. I never had lunch there. Their dinner is also good as well. I would recommend the salmon and would not recommend their chicken/turkey(?) sandwich. The gyro is also good as well. The bar area has daily specials posted around the hotel and in the elevators that are also a good deal. Service is good in both the restaurant and the bar. Although it is good service for a hotel, I would not consider it fine dining.

If taking the metro to DC area, it takes about 30 mins. You can also take a nice stroll down king st to the waterfront. There are many nice restaurants and shops along the way, but most places close early.

CONS: expensive parking $25/night, $10 24-hour period for internet, noisy rooms by the train, compact parking in the garage

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
I did want to thank you for the overall positive recommendation. True the train can be noisy but we are the closest and most convenient for Metro travel in Old Town. As a Hilton Gold member if returning we can put in your profile that you would prefer a room away from the train side. I apologize for the TV issue you experienced, unfortunatley with cable many things can be affecting that signal from construction in the area to weather related issues, I do apologize for the inconvenience. I did want to let you know as well we offer many packages, one called "Get Wired," it includes breakfast, parking and internet just for future knowledge. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2009, and on arrival was told we needed to go to Lorien Hotel and Spa for the first night, as this hotel was overbooked (which ended up being an amazing hotel), but a bit of a hassle at 1AM.

On return back to this hotel, found it to be a bit run down and old fashioned. Overall, it was clean, with good service and great location. For what you're getting, I would say it is still pretty pricey and you're better off staying at a newer hotel.

No major complaints, but doesn't really have that "niceness" that makes you want to go back. Maybe they should renovate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Torontonian78 - I'm glad overall you enjoyed the hotel! Although we renovated 2 years ago the Lorien has only been open for a little over a year and they are brand new essentially. I understand the comparison but am glad you enjoyed the property and would receommend us to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed here the night before taking an Amtrak train from Alexandria station and for that, it was great. It was quite expensive (we did book on the day though due to not knowing if we were travelling or not due to the UK Ash Cloud!) but included breakfast - we had a short stack of pancakes - gorgeous!

The room was lovely and big with a good size bathroom. As we'd come in on the Metro we asked at check in for a room at the opposite side of the hotel as we thought it might be noisy - I can't say if it was though as our room was very quiet!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I am a Hilton Diamond HHonors member. The ONLY thing this hotel has going for it is its close location to Washington Regan Airport (DCA), which admitedly is an easy 10 minute ride from the airport. Otherwise, the property is not worth the price; I checked out a day early and moved to the Embassy Suites about a block away.

This Hilton is designed solely to suck the life out of your wallet. The room rates are absurdly high to start, the cost of in-room internet or use of the business center computers (I spent more than $15 to print just 9 pages), and the parking at $25 a night is obscene.

The room are not that nice, on the small side. I had a King suite. Be warned. The front desk staff (who struggled to speak English) will not necessarily put you into the room-type you paid for (it happened to me).

A major shortcoming of the hotel is that it faces the King Street Metro station, and the Adjacent Amtrak station. The building is not sound-proof and the sound of Metro trains and Amtrak trains sounding their horns makes it very, very difficult to remain asleep. And if the trains don't disturb you, the incessant chatter of the housekeeping staff in the hallways will put you over the edge. Honestly, from morning until evening, they never stop talking with each other - shouting at one another up and down the hallways.

When I advised the front desk staff that I was checking out early - and why, they could not have cared less. Save your money and do yourself a favor. If you must stay in Alexandria at a Hilton property, the Embassy Suites is a much better option that you can walk to from Metro as easily as the Hilton.

Sadly, this property is simply not worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

This was a really great hotel experience. The room as super clean and the staff was so nice. The hotel was right next to the metro so to it took minuets to get into DC. At night there was a free trolley to take you up and down the main drag of Alexandria which had tons of restaurants and shops. We had the breakfast breakfast both days at the hotel and it was delicious. The price was great for what you got at this hotel. The only con of the hotel I would say is that the pool was kind of small and it was always full of people, so it was more for kids than for people who wanted to swim.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

I was very happy with my 3 night stay at this Hilton. It is centrally located in a very tourist -friendly area. Close to nice restaurants, and right across the street from the Metro Station, from there, we were able to go anywhere with ease. Our room was modern looking and the four pillows on the bed were much appreciated, although the beds were not as comfortable as some of the other chains" updated mattresses. Nice restaurant, Starbucks, and small bar were in the lobby, which is always nice. Some of the other guests informed me that the hotel indoor pool was only large enough to allow 11 people at a time to swim and they were rather upset about that but I didn't require that amenity on this trip. I just thought I would mention it. I plan to go back to the area this summer or fall and will probably stay here again, due to the great location. Employees I came into contact with were friendly

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Address: 1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Relax in the indoor pool or enjoy a delicious meal at Seagar's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.