We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Alexandria Old Town to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $119!
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Portland, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This location was nice and close to the Metro so if you wanted to stay here it's easy to get around. Also, it is on King Street- lots of shopping and great places to eat.

There is a starbucks downstairs, which was convenient and I ordered room service during my stay. Both nights it was a great meal!

If you are coming for a family vacation just remember you have to pay for parking and wasn't cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    226
    79
    25
    13
See reviews for
135
137
52
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I arrived early and needed to go straight to a meeting. My room was ready and check was swift. The staff are amazingly helpful and William is fabulous. It is close to everything, both the Amtrak and Metro stations and the walk to the waterfront is down the lovely shopping precinct. I have stayed here on both my recent trips to Alexandria and it will become my DC hotel of choice for future travel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Thank you for the kind words about our staff and facility - and for the Excellent rating!

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Washington DC can be daunting to those who don't go there often...
the best solution is...stay in Old Town Alexandria...
The Hilton there is perfect, its right by a Metro stop, and they have convenient underground parking.
The rooms are perfect, the staff friendly and helpful, and the rates reasonable.
The metro ride into DC is easy---and staying in Old Town allows you the luxury of leaving your car OUT of DC proper! Driving in DC can be a pain, but the Hilton's close proximity to a Metro rail-stop makes travel easy.
The Hilton has nice rooms, comfy beds---and most rooms have a decent view.
Old Town has its own charm, there are lots of places to eat and shop.
Try the Hilton, you will be pleased !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Thank you for the kind words about our staff and facility - and for the Excellent rating!

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Got early checkin at 10:30am which was very nice. Very nice room with great bed but overlooking train tracks and can hear train going by. Wifi in common area was inconsistent. Very convenient to metro across the street and king street trolley. Hotel is 17 blocks to river front where the attractions are. The trolley is very busy and hard to get on and it stops alot. Traffic on king street is bumper to bumper. The Crowne Plaza and holiday inn are closer to the river and a short 15 minute to the river front tourist area. These hotels offer s free shuttle to airport and Braddock metro.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel, and for the Very Good rating!

I am pleased to report that as of mid August 2013 all rooms that face the Metro Station have had sound proof windows installed! Now all the convenience of being 37 steps from the Metro - without any of the noise!

Thanks again for the opportunity to respond to your concerns. We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Where to stay in DC with an 8 month old? I seemingly spent hours researching that very question during our recent trip when we decided to spend an extra night in the area before our conference hotel opened up. Ultimately we decided on the Hilton Alexandria Old Town - we're glad we did!

First, it's hard to beat the location. Steps away from the Metro, 2 stops from National Airport, and at the western end of Alexandria's King Street. Yes, many of the rooms do face an active rail line and you will hear trains, but the rooms were insulated enough that our 8-month old was able to sleep well despite the train traffic. And yes, it is a long walk to the waterfront - but the free King Street trolley stops right in front of the hotel, so you can easily reach any of the attractions you want to on King Street.

The rooms were fairly standard Hilton rooms, though they were quite spacious compared with the conference hotel we went to the next night. We found the front desk to be quite accommodating, allowing us to check in quite early for our stay. This helped our little one get a good nap, making the rest of our day in DC much more enjoyable.

Overall, I would definitely head back to this hotel. The weekend rates were exceedingly reasonable (even cheaper than the neighboring Hampton) and our room was a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of DC.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I found the front desk to be friendly and helpful. I also appreciated being so close to the Metro. The airport is only 2 stops away! There are many stores and restaurants within walking distance, so I didn’t have to worry too much about where to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Thank you for the kind words about our staff and facility - and for the Excellent rating!

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hiltons are never too special. There wasn't anything wrong with this hotel, but there are better hotels in Alexandria at the same price. The location is at the far end of King Street and is a bit of a walk to the restaurants and the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel.

We were sorry to hear that your experience was not a remarkable one - we'll certainly try harder next time if we are fortunate enough to get another chance to serve you.

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Address: 1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Relax in the indoor pool or enjoy a delicious meal at Seagar's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.