We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Save Saved
You added Hilton Alexandria Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $129!
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location to everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a work conference, and it was the perfect location for folks coming in from all other the country to conveniently get to. Flying in to Reagan? Hop on the metro for 2-3 stops and you are right at your hotel. Driving in from the tri-state area? Easy-peasy drive with plenty of underground parking for your car (though they do charge $30/night for parking on top of your room rate). If you are going to stay here, DEFINITELY request a room away from the Metro. You'll be glad you did. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. They were having hot water problems the weekend we stayed with them, but the front desk staff made us fully aware of the issue and how to resolve it. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the metro
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and that the hotel was such a good fit for your conference.

Please accept our apologies for the delayed hot water issue that you experienced during your stay.

Thanks again; we look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    213
    73
    25
    12
See reviews for
120
126
48
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in the Hilton for four nights. The service was great. The food was good. The location just perfect. The Hilton is located on King St. where there is a free trolley that goes down to the river front. Across the street from the Hilton is the Metro. Easy to get to and from every place we wanted to go in DC or in Virginia. Ask for a room away from the noise of the trains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay - thank you for the Excellent rating!

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed three nights at the Hilton in Alexandria, as part of our road trip. The hotel was a nice place to stay; clean room, comfortable beds and at the top of King Street where all the action is. We got a great deal with internet, parking and breakfast included. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of selections, including omelets. I LOVED their banana-nut and fruit muffins! They had a lobby bar/lounge with reasonable prices and their restaurant menu looked nice (and reasonable) but we wanted to try different restaurants so we didn't eat at the hotel. Our room faced the Metro but it didn't interfere with our sleep; in fact, I don't even remember hearing it at night.

We visited Washington, DC while there, since it's just a hop, skip and jump away. We took the Metro to get there and then took a hop on and off bus tour once we got there, since touring DC involved SO MUCH walking; the places of interest are very far apart.

Alexandria is a pretty city and we would stay at the Hilton again if we got the same kind of good deal that we got this time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This facility is the best that we have held our conference at in the 18 years I have been attending. Excellent staff from check-in to check-out, conference staff were attentive to the needs of all our participants (we had several with physical disabilities), and the food was excellent! I would highly recommend this hotel for any conference or just a visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay - thank you for the kind words about our staff and the Excellent rating!

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Not impressed with service, or staff. We were with a group and there was also a wedding in house. They did not staff to prepare for the amount of people. The rooms were small but clean. Restaurant food was good but service poor. They did not have enough staff to handle the guests. Some in our group with small children waited over an hour for their food and finally walked out because it never arrived. Room service was terrible. We ordered the night before so it would be brought to our room at a specific time, it got there 45 minutes late when we had to leave, and they brought us the wrong order which was ice cold. The coffee was so cold it tasted like iced. . Also ordered lunch from room service and they did not deliver everything that was ordered but charged us for it. After complaining to the front desk they did remove the charges. Parking garage was under construction and it was not easy getting in and out plus you have to pay $50 a night for self parking. I would recommend finding a better hotel in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I was very sorry that your stay was not a more pleasant one. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced with our restaurant and room service. I have shared your comments with our team so that improvements may be made.

Thanks again for the opportunity to respond to your concerns - your experience was not a typical one, and we hope to have the opportunity to better demonstrate the abilities of our staff and facilities.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was very pleased to get an early check-in as per my request and the front desk staff were friendly and efficient. I was on the train side but was given a suite which was very roomy for my brief stay. I could hear some platform announcements but the metro does not run all night so it was not bothersome. Just an FYI that the metro was undergoing extensive track work on weekends which affected the red, blue and yellow lines so it took more than double the time to get to and from the hotel from Union Station in DC. Breakfast had a good selection and friendly waitstaff. Overall a very enjoyable stay and super clean property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay - thank you for the Excellent rating!

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It is always a pleasure to say at the Hilton Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Outstanding property with a very professional staff. Great dining at Seagar's Restaurant and outstanding rooms. My favorite hotel in the Alexandria/DC area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay - thank you for the Excellent rating!

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Address: 1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Relax in the indoor pool or enjoy a delicious meal at Seagar's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.