We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to Metro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Alexandria Old Town to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $119!
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy access to Metro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wonderful access to the Metro system so it's remarkably easy to get to Washington,DC sites. This hotel is situated in historic Alexandria which has many interesting shops and restaurants. Ask for a room away from rail tracks.
(Just double-check the calendar--DC was covered up with busloads of middle schoolers on spring break trips who couldn't give a rip about what they were seeing, other than their cellphones.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from rail tracks.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    223
    77
    25
    13
See reviews for
131
132
50
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location in relation to the Metro was great...right across the street. Not to mention how close this hotel is to all the restaurants and cute little shops in Alexandria. My only complaint is the girl at the front desk seemed miserable when we were checking in. Otherwise, great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor first impression that we made at reception. I have shared your comments with our team so that improvements may be made.

Thanks again for your comments, we hope to have the opportunity to be of service again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am a Hilton HHonors Diamond member so get to stay in alot of Hiltons. I travelled to the Hilton Alexandria with my wife and 12 year old son over the Easter weekend. Before arrival I asked for a bigger room to accomodate all three of us which was done immediately. Upon arrival we were given a one bedroomed King Suite with a rollaway bed for our son. We were greeted at checkin by Robert and Shirley who must be the two most impressive Hilton FOH staff I have come across in any Hilton. Nothing was a problem for them and even though the hotel was fully booked the front of house staff kept everything running exceptionally smoothly. They both are truly Hilton Ambassadors. The location of the hotel to the Washington DC Metro gives you the perfect start for visiting downtown and is also just a couple of stop from Reagan National Airport. If you fancy staying local, the King Street Trolley bus stops just outside the door and runs a free service every 15 minutes from 11:30am. A fantastic service for the less mobile like myself. If you are interested in history the Hilton has everything on it's doorstep. You need look no further. However the one thing that will bring me back here are the staff. Truly brilliant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We planned a weekend break with friends who were also travelling. As we have small kids, we chose this hotel for its pool and its proximity to the Metro. Big mistake - THERE IS NO POOL! The website is... misleading! And while it's close to the Metro, that means you get to hear it. The staff were less than concerned - when I complained, they suggested that I provide feedback. This is it.
Hilton Corporate - if you care, fix your website and bother to inform the rest of the web community.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I was very sorry that your stay was not a more pleasant one. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced related to the permanent closure of our pool. Our website was updated, but obviously not prior to your trip planning. Again, our apologies.

Thanks again for the opportunity to respond to your concerns - your experience was not a typical one, and we hope to have the opportunity to better demonstrate the abilities of our staff and facilities.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights on a family trip to Washington. The location was perfect with the Amtrak station and the Metro stop right across the street. The staff was very nice and efficient. The rooms were nice size, clean and had a great view. We enjoyed having the Starbucks in the lobby. We dined both nights in the dining room. The menu was OK and the service was great. The only negative was the parking situation. The garage used by the hotel was being renovated and you were required to use valet parking with no in and out over the weekend. Fortunately, we didn't need our car so it worked out OK. However, when I received my brand new car on Sunday morning, it was covered with construction dust.

Overall, a good experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

i have been coming to this property for almost nine years. The nicest thing about it has been that it is consistent. so on my most recent stay i was initially disappointed to discover the room service menu was being made over, the pool was being renovated, the garage was under construction. m worries were unjustified. the service is still top notch. the convenience of location still paramount. and the changes are all unanimously for the better. so whether this is our first visit to old town or like me a return to a familiar home away from home, check out the new and improved Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First of all the location is very convenient. Two stops on the Metro from Reagan AP, and walk across the street. It is alongside King Street and a short walk to the water, and lots of restaurants, shops, etc. It is only about a 20 minute Metro ride to get to Foggy Bottom, from which you can easily walk to Georgetown, etc. It is only about 15 minutes on the Metro to the Mall, museums, etc.
I was here with my spouse and we shared a nice, clean, large room with a very comfortable bed. There is a sitting area, desk/office area (altho room wifi did not work well), frig in the room, full length mirror,and a nice bath with plenty of hot water. The room heater worked very well. We were on the main side with a nice view of town, metro, etc. and the room was very quiet.
There is wifi downstairs, or you can pay additional for it in your room, but it didn't work in our room.
There is a pub, restaurant, Starbucks, and gym facilities downstairs. The breakfast is very good and will fill you up for the day if you can eat that much! They have just about everything and will cook you an omelette to order, or even poach eggs for you.
We went to the pub downstairs and ordered the salmon sandwich, which is grilled (not smoked) and very good, and reasonably priced for a hotel pub ($10 or so). Drinks a little pricier...5-8. depending.
The staff was also very good. We did not have a car so did not use the garage. Didn't get around to using the gym facilities either... We combined a business trip with a couples trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Address: 1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Relax in the indoor pool or enjoy a delicious meal at Seagar's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.