We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Free Wi-Fi in the Rooms; Don't Ask for a Taxi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Alexandria Old Town to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $99!
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“No Free Wi-Fi in the Rooms; Don't Ask for a Taxi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a very nice property with great access to the Washington DC Metro with the King Street station directly across the street. The Metro provides easy access to/from Reagan National Airport and all of the tourist attractions in Washington DC. The hotel is a typical Hilton with nice amenities and full service restaurant and bar as well as a Starbucks inside the property. Check-in was prompt and smooth, and the room was nice and quiet. I stayed for two nights on a weekend while visiting Alexandria for business, and the property seemed quiet. The location is a bit removed from Old Town Alexandria, which is approximately a mile away. I was very pleased with the property until I checked out and asked for a taxi. The person at the front desk directed me to a driver waiting in the lobby who took me to an unmetered Lincoln Continental for a 1.5 mile ride into Alexandria to a location near the Potomoc. The fare was $20, which is a complete rip off. The hotel offers free wi-fi in the lobby but not in the rooms, which is another rip off. Based on location I would stay here again but would look at other hotels in the area as well to get the best deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We appreciate the feedback and your loyalty. We are always trying to improve upon guest service and make things more consistent for our guests. Your feedback is how we monitor things and analyze ways to improve. We appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to improving our services so they are more consistent for our guests. Thanks for the feedback and have a great holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    240
    84
    26
    13
See reviews for
138
151
54
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good points:
- good location within DC and also within Alexandria
- generally good service with attentive staff
- free wifi in lobby
- great breakfast selection

Bad points:
- room and bathroom decor/furnishings are a little dated
- a little pricey (paid $190 for a twin room)

Gets a 3.5 with a potential for 4.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
I was pleased to read you enjoyed you stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write some feedback and we look forward to your return if coming back into the Alexandria old town area area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryans Road, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

At check-in the staff was very efficient and friendly. There is a parking fee, so be prepared. Upon arrival to the second floor room, I found it to be very clean. Explored that bar area and the hotel restaurant. All staff members especially the restaurant staff was very friendly. I had the opportunity to enjoy a very well prepared steak. Very restful room with a comfortable bed. Recommend the fitness center, nothing fancy, but the pool did look inviting, and I ended my workout with a visit to the sauna. Overall, it was a very nice stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for the great feedback. I was excited to read your comments on our hotel's staff. For the comments on parking, our rates are competitive to rates in the area and we also have value packages with parking inclusive something to consider in the future. Thanks again for staying with us as we realize you do have lots of choices in hotels in the old town area. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hilton Alexandria Old Town and was pleased overall with the property. It was extremely close to the Metro stop and within walking distance of my meeting on King Street. The King Street Trolley was an added bonus and a great way to tour Old Town. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet provided a variety of foods (hot and cold) and could accommodate nearly anyone's dietary requirements.
My only Issue was the slight incline on the hardwood floor connecting the dining room to the bar and lobby area which caused me to slip and nearly fall. The same thing happened the night before and another guest brought it to the bartender's attention. He was quite rude about it.
This is a dangerous situation and should be corrected immediately before someone does fall.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators are usually a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and was impressed with the overall hotel services and amenities. The King street trolley is an added amenity in Alexandria Old Town area. Our Hotel's proximity to the Metro station which is a quick ride into Washington DC is unmatched by any other Hotel in the vicinity. Thanks for the feedback on the wooden floor and we are in the process of fixing the issue. Thanks again for staying with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The Hilton on King St. In Old Town Alexandria VA is typical of the chain with an above-average restaurant, a Starbucks, work-out facility, and laundry. It distinguishes itself in its staff, which is very helpful, and its location, across from the King St. Metro stop and the trolley stop. It's amidst many shops and great restaurants (Brabo's is practically across the street and Vermilion is a short, very pleasant walk down King St.). You can take a long, pleasant walk (or ride the free trolley) down to the attractions along the Wharf, including the Torpedo Factory art mall. If you want to head into DC, it's a Metro ride away. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks for the great review! Indeed the Hilton Old Town Alexandria is one of the premier hotels in the Old Town area. I was also thrilled to read your feedback on our staff. Our Hotels proximity to king Street Restaurants and shops as well as to the Metro Station which is a short ride to Washington DC is one of the conveniences our guest enjoy. Thanks so much for your comments and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. It was my first trip to DC and the front desk was very helpful throughout the stay.

My only critism would be paying for Internet in the room. This is standard elsewhere and while it is free in the lobby I would have expected it to be part of the nightly rate.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I was so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay as well as we exceeded your expectation. At the Hilton Old Town, we strive to provide the best service to all our guest and your comments validates our efforts. Our Hotels's proximity to Restaurants on king street as well as to the Metro Station is unmarched by any of the hotels in the vicinity. Thanks so much for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a fairly standard Hilton with typical rooms and other amenities. Everything is in good repair and very clean. The up side is that the hotel is very close to the King Street metro station but that is also a downside in that room at the back get the sound of trains day and night. The wifi is fairly costly as in the buffet breakfast but no different to other Hiltons. The best thing is the location which allows walking to the shops and other businesses in the Old Town area. I was there for business but it would also be a good place for a day or two of vacation. I will probably be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks so much for the review. I argee with you, our hotel's location on King street is a short walk to King street restaurants and shops. I was also glad to read you had a great stay and you will consider coming back to stay with us on a vacation. Once again thanks so much for the feedback and look foward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Address: 1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Relax in the indoor pool or enjoy a delicious meal at Seagar's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.