We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Alexandria Old Town to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $99!
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. It was my first trip to DC and the front desk was very helpful throughout the stay.

My only critism would be paying for Internet in the room. This is standard elsewhere and while it is free in the lobby I would have expected it to be part of the nightly rate.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I was so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay as well as we exceeded your expectation. At the Hilton Old Town, we strive to provide the best service to all our guest and your comments validates our efforts. Our Hotels's proximity to Restaurants on king street as well as to the Metro Station is unmarched by any of the hotels in the vicinity. Thanks so much for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    240
    84
    26
    13
See reviews for
138
150
54
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a fairly standard Hilton with typical rooms and other amenities. Everything is in good repair and very clean. The up side is that the hotel is very close to the King Street metro station but that is also a downside in that room at the back get the sound of trains day and night. The wifi is fairly costly as in the buffet breakfast but no different to other Hiltons. The best thing is the location which allows walking to the shops and other businesses in the Old Town area. I was there for business but it would also be a good place for a day or two of vacation. I will probably be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks so much for the review. I argee with you, our hotel's location on King street is a short walk to King street restaurants and shops. I was also glad to read you had a great stay and you will consider coming back to stay with us on a vacation. Once again thanks so much for the feedback and look foward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is my favorite Hilton in the DC area. The proximity to DC, the metro, the airport, and a relatively quiet night sleep are all perfect. I've stayed here at least 5 times in the last year and I always look foward to the warm reception I get from the hotel staff, and the great breakfast at the restaurant...which also has great staff. If you're looking for shopping, coffee shops, lunch or dinner locations, this is but a 5 minute walk from all of that in Old Town. It's a slightly longer walk if you want to get down to the water front. This hotel gives you the comfort and convenience of the DC area with none of the hassle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I was so pleased to learn the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is your Hotel of choice in the Alexandria Old Town area. Your comments on our staff is also evident of our commitment to make sure we provide excellent service to all our guest. You are also correct, our proximity to Alexandria Old Town restaurants on king street as well as the Metro station to Reagan National Airport as well as Washington DC is unmarched by any of the other hotels in the vicinity. Thanks so much for your patronage and look for to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

For convenience and amenities, it's hard to beat this hotel. For about 2/3 the cost of a D.C. hotel, we were able to stay in this lovely property, right on the King St. Metro line. We spent most of our weekend around the National Mall, and had to shuttle back and forth to Alexandria a few times (costing around $4/pp. on average) but it was worth it. I would recommend you buy a Metro pass instead of individual tickets, to save money. We didn't use the pool, fitness area or restaurant so can't comment on those -- but having a Starbuck's in the lobby was a bonus! My parents stayed in a more expensive hotel nearby and our room seemed much nicer, in my estimation (and closer to the Metro). We needed to leave our luggage after check-out due to a late train, and the concierge was more than accommodating. It poured with rain the night we were there, and they happily loaned us two golf umbrellas. The morning we left, we roamed up and down King St. for an hour and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves (although I was surprised to see that many shops didn't open til 11 a.m. on a Saturday). When I found a Crate and Barrel outlet, I was overcome with joy! I would absolutely stay there again on my next trip to D.C.

Room Tip: As others have said, request a room on the non-train side. The view was of an alley -- but at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
What a review! Thanks so much for such positive review of our Hotel. I do argee our Hotel's location to King street Restaurants and shops as well as well the Metro station is unmarched. The starbucks in the lobby is also a bonus amenity for our guest. Thanks again for the great review and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have stayed at this Hilton a number of times and had a fine experience, particularly when staying in a suite room. I recently booked for a quick night out of town for an anniversary and figured a nice king room would do. Big mistake.

I paid an extra 20-30 dollars for the King "Corner" Room. When I checked in, the front desk even repeated "We have you set up in a wonderful King Corner Room." There is no way our room is on the corner of anything. It is is the center of a row of ordinary rooms on the front side of the hotel. To make matters worse, the room is adjoined to what must be a double room that has several loud guests in it. You can hear their loud conversation and television through the adjoining doors, which are not sound proofed.

My wife is tired and is sleeping through it so I don't have the heart to wake her, but now I'm sitting up at 1 in the morning in a room I did not book typing this stupid review. If this hotel is wiling to dupe Hilton gold member which I am, I suspect they do this to anyone below Diamond. Either save yourself the money and book a normal king, or just upgrade to the suite for fear you get stuck with a loud adjoining room, or book somewhere else entirely.

I should also note the room has a strange musty odor. Definitely the last time I stay here in anything below a suite. And there are plenty of other options in the area that may be cheaper for a nicer room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Eric L,
I am sorry that your stay was not up to par. This is not typical of what our guest experience when staying at the Hilton and I certainly apologize for the challenges you experienced. The Room that you booked and stayed is indeed our corner room and I aplogize again it did not meet your expectation. Let's talk offline and I will work to address all your issues. Thank you for the feedback, it is important to us as we use it as a tool for improvement. I will contact you offline to discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel for both business and leisure travelers. It is in a very convenient location whether you are visiting Alexandria or going into D.C. It is right across the street from the metro. It is also within easy walking distance of numerous Old Town Alexandria restaurants.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room on a higher floor and/or on a side away from the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear OKCRoadWarrior,
Thank you very much for the great feedback.I do agree with you our Hotel is in a great location and close proximity to the Metro Station which allows quick access into Washington DC. Our location also within walking distance to the numerous restaurants and shops on King street in Old Town Alexandria. Thanks again for staying with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rartian, NJ
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a nice Hilton located right on King St in Old Town within walking distance to shops and restaurants and across the street from the train station to DC. The lobby is nice and features a Starbucks. I did not patronize the restaurant/bar in the hotel (so many other options in the area) but looked nice. The room was quite spacious with a comfy king size bed and a modern but warm decor. The bathroom was also well appointed and bath robes were provided. The garage was somewhat cramped, but convenient if you arrive by car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear nancynj,

Fantastic Review! I am glad our Hotel's location as well as staff, lived up to your expectation. The starbucks in the Hotel's lobby is another great attraction for our guest verses the other hotels in the Old Town Alexandria area. We do appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Address: 1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Relax in the indoor pool or enjoy a delicious meal at Seagar's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.