We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Alexandria is excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Alexandria Old Town to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $129!
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Oceanside, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hilton Alexandria is excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Recently, we visited our relatives in Alexandria and Washington, DC. Staying at Hilton over the weekend was an excellent choice. We got a great rate with Hotels.com. As a Hilton Honors member, our room was spacious and handsomely appointed! Buffet breakfast was delicious, including the made-to-order omelette. The Metro is right across the street, which is most convenient for commuting into D.C., as well as Arlington Cemetery. Neighborhood parking is available on weekends.

Room Tip: Always use your Hilton Honors Program when making reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Fantastic Review! I was thrilled to read your comments on your recent stay at the Hilton Old Town. I am glad you were able to spend some time with the Realatives in the vicinity. Our location is unmarched in the Alexandria Old Town area given our Hotels's proximity to the Metro Station a quick zip into Washington DC. Thanks again for your patronage and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    257
    95
    28
    15
See reviews for
146
165
61
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Perfect location and beautiful property right in the heart of Alexandria (and next to Metro Station). We were there on a business trip but found the hotel special enough to plan a return trip when time allows us to enjoy the surround attractions even more.
When we arrived we checked in a given a room on the second floor. Upon entering the room we found the room to have a stale/smoky smell to it. We contacted the front desk and asked for a nonsmoking room. We were informed that all rooms were nonsmoking but they were see what they could do. Within 5 minutes an front desk manager was at our room to give us keys for another room...a suite! The new room's air quality was much improved and the extra room was a huge plus. Kudos to the staff for not only correction the issue but going above and beyond! We will be back to enjoy the hotel and all its amenities soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the Metro Station...it can be loud when trying to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for the excellent feedback. I am glad we had the opportunity to welcome you back and enjoy another excellent stay. I was pleased to note our staff quickly rectified the room issue to your satisfaction. I will share your feedback with the staff and the front desk Manager. There are several Hotels choices in the Alexandria Old Town area and your patronage at our Hotel means a lot to us. We look forward to serving you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for just one night before we caught a flight out from Reagan in the morning. My daughter and I hired a car service to drive us from Baltimore. We arrived at 10:00 am and assumed that we would have to leave our bags and go kill time while waiting for our room but were very happy to find our room was ready. The room was a nice size and beautiful. We were able to spend our last day of vacation walking around Alexandria and walked across the street to catch the Metro to take the last tour of Arlington. I wish we could have spent our whole vacation there. Plenty of things to do within walking distance and the metro and airport are very close.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for the positive feedback. Our hotel's location in the heart of Old Town Alexandria is indeed unmarched. The Metro right across the street is also an added unique convienience to our guest. I am glad both your daughter and yourself was able to enjoy a very short stay. Thanks for staying with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Vry close to the Metro so it is convient to get to Washington. As you have also read it has a free trolley down kings st. Streets are not bad to walk however a free bus where you can also put your bike is nice. Hotel rooms a little old, but the beds are comfortable. Not in the heart of the area. You need to pay for parking howevr you do not need to pay for the apples in the lobby. Very quiet although they have a bar nothing is going on there. Nothing at all for the kids. Pool is crummy but suana nice no jaccuzzi. Not bad for the price

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Old town Alexandria is certainly a great town and our Hotel's location is unique. On the issue of parking rates, our rates are competitive and we also have value packages, something for you to consider in the future. Thank you and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Good hotel, nothing really great, but everything you would need for business or pleasure. Starbucks in the lobby, bar and restaurant. 100 feet away from King Street Metro which is nice. At the very top of King Street, old towne's main street that leads all the way down to the waterfront.

Internet costs $13 in the room which seems crazy, but some of my colleagues were smart and negotiated the cost down. Free wifi in the lobby is your only other option.

We had meetings in the hotel and all the services provided were very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Great Feedback! Thanks for staying with us and we do appreciate your patronage. Feedback is very important to us because we use it as a tool for improvement . Thanks again for staying with us and look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed a week at the Hilton Alexandria Old Town in August 2012, this was our second stay at this hotel in the past year. It has a great location at the top of King Street - great for dining out and local trips but also a stones throw from Kings Street metro station with very quick links into downtown Washington DC. The hotel has spacious rooms and is clean and well furnished. Our rate included a breakfast buffet and this was well prepared and very tasty with a good range of food items. Service in the breakfast rooom was first class ! We also frequented the bar area and alas service there was abysmal ! We ordered 2 Blue Moons and after about 20 minutes the barman arrived with one saying there was a problem with the line so we had Yuengling instead ! We ordered a second round of beers asking again for Blue Moon waited more than 20 minutes again and got more Yuengling with no explanation. Gave up at this point !

I really like this hotel and given the great service by everyone else can even forgive the bar

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Cdab- Thanks for giving us the opportunity to host your stay in Alexandria Old Town for the second time. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay again with us and all the amenities and convienience our location has to offer. I do apologize for the issues you encountered in our bar and lounge and I can assure you it is not for the norm for our Hotel. I will certainly share your feedback and do everything possible to prevent such an occurence in the future. Thanks for staying with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The main reason we chose this place was it's proximity to the metro, which is very close. The rooms were clean and nice but no better than average for Hilton. The in room coffee was not good (if I am going to pay the price for a room at the Hilton...at least give me good coffee). There is a Starbucks downstairs, if you want to pay the price...which I did (my morning coffee is extremely important to me).
There is no shuttle as the metro is so close, so be prepared.
The shopping was great. Just catch the free trolley and ride to where you want to go.
Don't miss the Torpedo Factory Art Center where the local artists work on, display, and sell their creations. It does not cost anything to enter but I cannot guarantee that you will exit without cost. There are some pretty amazing and unique things for sale there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Danielanita- Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry you felt your stay was less than perfect. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we are always looking to improve our guest overall experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels brings you back to the Alexandria Old Town area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Address: 1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Relax in the indoor pool or enjoy a delicious meal at Seagar's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.