We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of room location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Save Saved
You added Hilton Alexandria Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off your trip
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Stowe, Vermont
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beware of room location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

On the positive side, the room was spacious and comfortable. Our room location, however, could not have been worse. It was literally right next to, and at the same level of, the railroad tracks, so we had to contend with the sounds of the Metro, Amtrak, and transport trains round-the-clock. We literally could see the faces of Metro passengers as trains went by. Now I understand why a guest checking in before me specifically requested a room in a quiet location. Additionally, parking is ridiculously expensive - $27 per day - and everything is a la carte, so staying at this property is an expensive choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Our Hotel is convieniently located near the Metro Station. Most of our guest enjoy this convienience but at the same token we do understand the Metro station can be noisy for some of our guest. Our parking rates are very competitive for the Old Town Alexandria area as well as we do have value packages that include parking. thanks aagain for the feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    211
    73
    25
    12
See reviews for
115
125
48
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I arrived wet, watter logged with much mud on my shoes (yard parties in the rain are stupid). The staff immediately helped me check in and get "fixed". I like having a Starbucks in the lobby when it is pouring outside and you do not want to walk down King Street. Location is fantastic - across the street from the Metro (never heard a train) and one block from Amtrack. Parking is what you would think in a metro area but with the hotel key - very easy in and out. Great area to walk around for shopping, dining.....our room was decent size with two beds, nice bathroom and clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Great feedback. Thank you very much for staying at Old Town Hilton and look forward to your next visit. We value your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterbrook
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for three nights during a scientific meeting (ISPPP 2012) which was held October 23-26. Alexandria is a very convenient location so close to DC and easy to reach from Philadelphia, or almost anywhere. To be sure, the hotel is expensive. I would not pay more than $200 per night if the company did not reimburse me. Given that the meeting was not huge, but still close to 100 attendees, the food quality and service were excellent. We had two dinners during the meeting and both were very well done. I also liked the Starbucks on the ground level as an alternative to the breakfast restaurant. Of course, the hotel is in the Old Town and within walking distance of many of the fine restaurants and entertainment. The room was quite large and convenient, about as expected. Would like to come back some time and spend more time in the Old Town, but may have to find a more economical alternative. For meetings, however, this is a great and convenient place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks attending the meeting and staying with us. Im glad you enjoyed everything about our Hotel including Starbucks and dinner. We look forward to your return stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Excellent service. A little expensive but right in the middle of everything! This hotel offers it all. The service is amazing. The parking is expensive...be warned, but you dont need your car at all. Stay here. You wont regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks for the excellent feedback. At the Hilton we strive to provide excellent service and I'm glad we made a positive impression during your stay with us. Thanks again for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

I live in Alexandria, but had stayed at this hotel a few times for various reasons. The rates are good at times, terrible at others. The restaurant is petty outrageously priced, but it's a hotel so go figure. The rooms are nice, although on the small side. Overall a nice Hilton property.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks for the feedback. It is great to to have local patronage as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Although they charge you for Internet access, I found this hotel very well located and they had a better selection on their room service menu than other hotels in the area. Very clean and staff was nice. My only complaint was my final day there the cable TV went out. They allowed me to stay extra time at a charge of $20 additional, which wasn't bad. Great hotel and great location to AMTRAK, Metro and Old Town Alexandria.

Room Tip: As for a quiet room, away from elevators and away from where the trains come in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you very much for the response. At the Hilton, we strive to provide the best possible service and I'm glad you experienced a great stay. Thanks again and look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The best hotel and location, very close to the train station (across the street) the service and the food wanderfull, there is an Starbuck Cafe inside the hotel, the restaurant has very good food, you can go everywhere because you can take the train for all of the places,beleive me I am very picky with the hotels, and my trip was very confortable, I had to go to The Capitol early in the morning, and I went to the train station took my train and got there very fast, without any problem, the hotel has a breakfast buffet spectacullar!!included in the room price!!!......ENJOY IT!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonoldtown, Front Office Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Wow, thanks so much for the review. I will agree the Metro station is extremely convenient to our guest and starbucks in the Lobby is also a great enhncement service to our Hotel guest. Our Restaurant is certainly one of the local favorite in the Old Town Alexandria area. I certainly look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Address: 1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Relax in the indoor pool or enjoy a delicious meal at Seagar's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.