We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Ride Special
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
St. Louis
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at this wonderful hotel as we visited Washington DC and Alexandria to see the sights and the Cherry Blossoms. I feel the best thing about this hotel is it's location just a block or so from the King Street Metro Station and right at a King Street Trolly stop. It was eye opening when we looked out over the major intersection from the King Street Metro Station platform. We saw that Hilton has a Hilton Hotel, Embassy Suites, Hilton Garden Inn, and this Hampton Inn all within a block or so of this Metro station. This is no coincidence; Hilton understands the power of mass transit and leverages it. The trolly stop builds on this transportation convenience by simplifying access to all the restaurants, shops, and other businesses on King Street. The importance of location cannot be over-stated. The hotel itself was a nice example of a quality Hampton Inn. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast was just fine with fruit available for late morning snacks or for lunch. The basement garage was secure, easily accessible, and reasonably priced. The Front Desk staff was quite helpful, especially with questions about the nearby Metro station and visiting DC attractions. My wife and I agree we will use this hotel again when we return to DC and Alexandria and heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    145
    57
    18
    12
See reviews for
141
92
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is at the western edge of Old Town and just a few blocks from the King Street Metro station. Because of its great location, the hotel's management does not have to try very hard and they don't. I would place it a little below the typical Hampton Inn. The breakfast area is very small. The rooms need sprucing up. It is an OK hotel and I would consider staying again in the future because it is in such a convenient location both for Alexandria, and getting into Washington, and getting to and from National Airport.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Alexandria in April 2015 for a quick long weekend romantic getaway from New Jersey. This hotel is situated right on King Street but far away enough from the real touristy area -- like 4 blocks or so away. At the same time, it is very close to the Metro which is really convenient if you want to visit DC, Arlington or other attractions and not have to scramble for parking. It is 16 blocks away from the water but, being from NJ/NY area, we didn't really mind walking. There are some really beautiful, old architecture along the way besides. And there is a free trolley with lots of convenient stops along King St., close to the hotel if you prefer not to walk.

Typical of most Hampton Inns, the property was well-maintained, looked new, very clean, quiet, and safe and secure with free breakfast and some wi-fi. What differentiated this hotel for us was the excellent customer service we got from the front desk, special mention to Musa! He is a consummate professional. He was personable, warm, polite, and extremenly efficient!

We originally booked just two nights at the hotel but decided to extend for two more because that was how much we loved Alexandria! The lady at the front desk assisting us said they can certainly accommodate us but we'll have to check out and check in again because we will have to be moved to another room. We were okay with that. That was certainly better than packing up and checking in at another hotel. And we were in such a good mood that we just agreed to the arrangemnet and went out for dinner and a stroll (good restaurants close by and lovely night).

On our way back though, Musa intercepted us at the lobby and informed us that we did not have to check out/check in. They have found a way to let us keep our original room. We just need to pick up a new set of keys. And we were so relieved and so grateful at the turn of events. We were so touched and impressed that they took the trouble to see how they can better serve us as guests even though we did not really complain about the initial arrangement.

So we want to say thank you to Musa, for the extra trouble he took for us. And I have observed him interacting with other guests at the front desk. He demonstrates a perfect balance of personal warmth and professional customer service!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were only there from 4pm until noon the next day but it worked for us. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, nothing spectacular about the room but perfectly fine. Breakfast was good, usual Hampton Inn. When we checked in, we were told only one car allowed per room. We had no idea and one of us was from NY and one from Richmond. I told the clerk that should clearly be stated all over the website and he stated they only enforce it when the hotel is full, and it was full. He let us keep both cars and said he knew we would check out if he didn't. He's right! Parking costs $20 and is not a good experience. You could see all the paint on the walls of the tiny twisted garage, our cars survived though, our nerves not so much. There are no signs out front that say you can park for 20 minutes and check in so I didn't know where to stop, but I finally went in a spot and just took my chances. I learned once inside that I was okay where I was for check in. Then, you drive around the block and use your key to get into a sealed off garage. Driving in that part of town was quite stressful to us out of towners but we were able to walk to a really great restaurant. You might need to bring your own hair dryer. The one in our room died midway through my friends blow dry.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, comfortable room; reasonably good free breakfast; paid on-site secure parking; easy walk to train or yuppiestan shops/bars/restaurants of OTA. Only complaint was noise from hallway audible in room. A herd of noisy Scotsmen had invested the place and loud brogues and pipes were heard at all hours, along with plaintive cries from exploited sheep.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
747 reviews 747 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arranged for lodging for a guest for two nights. I checked on the room and amenities prior to making the reservation. The rooms are large and well furnished although they need a major upgrade. A pretty good common area on the ground level with welcoming and knowledgeable staff who can offer suggestions for restaurants and shops. A free trolley travels a route down to the Potomac right through the heart of Old Town Alexandria with stops along the way, including the Hampton Inn. Readily accessible to the Metro as well as to the Amtrak station. Decent breakfast and the omnipresent HI cookies at the front desk. Our guest enjoyed the stay with two restful nights and indicated the he would come back again. HI is nothing fancy but is a decent place to stay at a moderate price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meriden, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

hotel room not worth the price... furnishings seemed old, carpet was stained. location is excellent, close to shopping, waterfront, restaurants. Breakfast was so,so first morning, better second. front desk staff was very helpful when recomending things to see, eat, etc.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Address: 1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.