We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DC Area Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Ride Special
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Seneca, South Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“DC Area Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

During a recent vacation, we stayed at this hotel for 5 days. It is very clean, reasonably priced, and close to the King Street DC Metro Station. From there you can take the Blue Line or yellow line to DC. It was was nice to get our much needed nightly rest outside of DC. Convenient to several nice restaurants is also a big plus. Definitely a good choice for your DC excursion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    134
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
125
78
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Relative to the price you pay, this is a good value hotel. Comparable cost around $250 - $300 a night. I checked pricing online frequently, and the price dropped to around $125 a night before taxes. It is only around 1-2 blocks to the King Street metro. You can take either the blue or yellow line into DC. Reagan National airport is only 2 stops away, and under $2.00. The rooms are clean, and bigger big compared to New York city. Considering you get a decent breakfast, this is a good value. The breakfast staff is very nice and helpful. I thought the rooms were unusally quiet for urban area. The hotel is at the end of King street, away from the busy part of the street, The backside of the hotel faces an office complex, so it is quiet. There is construction going on behind the hotel, but it is surprisingly quiet. There is a free King street trolley that stops outside the hotel. But it is frequently full.

Room Tip: Backside of the hotel faces a office complex, away from King Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Elevator of the George Washington Monument was faster than the two at this location. Hampton needs to look at better faster toasters too. Not sure why I must comment with at least 200 characters, so I am writing and writing only to try again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast had the usual variety (bagels, sweets, eggs, bacon, waffles and cereal). As others stated the parking is very tight and there are not enough spaces for all guests. The elevators are slow and not well ventilated. The rooms are of average size without a microwave or mini fridge. One day upon returning all of our pillows cases were quite damp. It smelled like they were sprayed with Febreze. Our room did have a window, so our room was well lit. Some rooms have an up close view of the building next door, but this is Old Town and the buildings are close together. There are a lot of little shops and places to eat. The trolley is free and stops outside the hotel to take you down King St. The metro is only a block or so away. Overall, I feel the room was overpriced at around $200 a night depending on what discounts you had and day of week. You may be paying for the location but it is not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family stayed at this hotel for our vacation to Washington, DC and highly recommend it. The location is fantastic; you can see the Metro station from the front door and it is a short, pleasant walk. The free Old Town Trolley stops in front of the hotel every 15 minutes and whisks you to downtown and the waterfront. The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are well-appointed. While the rooms run on the smaller side, they are still a decent size and if you are like us and gone most of the day, you aren't in it but to sleep and shower. The free breakfast is above-average and if you want something different than what the hotel offers, there is a Dunkin Donuts two doors down! The parking garage is very convenient and far less expensive than those hotels closer in and in downtown DC. We saved almost $30 per day in parking alone compared to the hotels we looked at closer in - well worth it! I can't say enough good things about the staff at this hotel; they were all very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Old Town Alexandria is very clean and safe and we would definitely stay in this town and this Hampton Inn again.

Room Tip: We requested a room away from the elevator and the hotel delivered; however, the hotel was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whittier, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ventured to Virginia for a friend's wedding June 25, 2014. Can't tell you how much we appreciated the friendly & helpful staff at this hotel. An excellent daily continental b'fast, served from 6-10am , clean pool & exercise room. A free trolley runs every 15 minutes along historic King St. This hotel is by far the most economical too in the area...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I wish I could give it a 3.5. Location is amazing. Block from King St metro and walking distance to the best of Old Town. That said, rooms are pretty standard. TV is old and there are only about dozen stations (no local stations at all) and every time it turns on, it is at ridiculously high volume. The continental breakfast is decent but they only had one woman working and she was struggling to keep up. And the lobby is very, very small and you have to lie in wait for a place to sit. Gave up one morning and brought food back to the room. With all the amazing restaurants and activities on the hotel doorstep, guess they didn't expect anyone to actually spend any time inside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Address: 1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.