We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Ride Special
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This Hampton Inn was less expensive than the one by National Harbor and had free parking. The shuttle service to Old Town was good and we didn't have to wait long either going or coming back to the hotel. I would definitely stay there again when visiting the Washington DC area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    135
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
129
79
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

An easy 1 1/2 block walk from King street Metro stop. Updated lobby with good breakfast. Easy to visit all the Alexandria sights as it is right on King St, and free trolley goes by the door. quick to metro for DC touring access. Rooms are a somewhat dated but spacious and clean. Lobby has been updated. Have stayed here twice on business trips to Alexandria and DC and prefer it to the boutiques hotels nearby with really tiny rooms

Room Tip: Google a map of address, since Alexandria streets are older and have diagonal streets which can conf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Enjoyed our stay while visiting Alexandria and Washington DC. Great location and covered parking. The breakfast was very good each morning and the room was very quiet. Staff most helpful. We would certainly stay here again when visiting the area .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We wanted to do some sightseeing in Washington DC and this hotel was onlt 400 metres from the Metro station, where we could get the train to Smithsonion to begin our tour of the DC sights.
We were pleasantly surprised with the efficient welcome we received and the room was just ideal for what we wanted.
As we had a car we wanted to use the hotel's underground car park ($15 per day) but finding it was not as simple as the diagramatic map seemed to show.
The breakfast was adequate and had good variety to suit a plethora of needs and diets.
This is an ideal hotel to choose when visiting Washington DC and we will certainly use it again whenever we are in the area.
One small niggle, which wasn't the hotel's fault, was the State, Tourist and other taxes levied on our bill. Do the authorities want to frighten away tourists?

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel and the noise from aircraft using nearby Ronald Reagan Nation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Hampton Inn-King Street while on a recent visit to Washington D.C. The hotel is a quick walk from the Metro station. Our room was large, clean and comfortable and located on the 4th floor facing King Street. No street noise. We asked for a mini fridge and microwave which was immediately brought to us. The free internet service was convenient. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful - as a light eater I had fresh fruit and greek yoghurt. I also liked the warm cookies in the evening. King Street is a fun place to walk and see the shops. For this reason and the close proximity to the Metro, we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great place to stay in Alexandria. On King Street convenient to everything. Within one block of Metro station and bus service. Highly recommend this Hampton Inn to Washington, DC visitors. Hotel was very clean, staff very friendly and helpful with directions to local attractions. Continental breakfast is one of the best at any Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle Park, NJ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel was very nice and not difficult to find, The parking garage was really made for smaller cars and was difficult to maneuver in. The tv had been unplugged when we arrived and the remote was difficult to use and difficult to understand the use of it. Also the amount of taxes charged on a one night stay was exhorbitant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Address: 1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.