We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park and Ride Special
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Alexanderia VA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Old Town Hampton. Room and staff were excellent. Located close to the Metro Rail Center into Washington DC. Lots of great restaurants and boutique shops to visit. Close to lots of historical museums and interesting places. Close enough to Metro that we left our vehicle in hotel garage and rode the Metro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    148
    57
    18
    12
See reviews for
143
93
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I quick and easy walk to the King St metro stop. Check-in was smooth and quick. Very good restaurants all around. Would definitely stay at again as the price was great for the location. One piece of advice is the metro is very crowded during rush hour. Get on by 6:45am and no problem. Just a few trains later and you're packed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, Minnesota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We researched many hotels for our trip to Washington, and found this to be the most perfect choice on paper...and it was in reality too! As two families who travel together with young (ish) kids, we couldn't have been happier. Our busy days in DC always ended in our second floor room and a quick dip in the hardly-used, clean, pool, complete with a great lifeguard. We often walked the few blocks to the Whole Foods Store or for take-out and enjoyed our meals on the patio once it cooled down. Staff is excellent, rooms are roomy enough and clean. We enjoyed the area more than we thought we would, and could have made a whole vacation just in Alexandria. Even as "newbies" to the Metro system, it was two stops away from the airport. We were settled right away and enjoyed 8 days there. No need for a car. Breakfasts busy, but they do have the carry out bags which was great on the go!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were very happy with our choice of hotel and agreed with previous reviewers that this location is ideal as homebase while visiting DC . On King Street you will find cafe's, coffee shops, bakeries, and lovely restaurants ranging from moderate to upscale pricing. If you are into happy hour selections, check out the Chart House on the waterfront for $4.00 coctails and $5.00 gourmet appetizers and get there by the
free trolley that stops at the hotel door!

Parking is in a safe secure area beneath the hotel. It reminded us of some of the serpentine parking structures we encountered in Europe. Those with a smaller vehicle will be most comfortable using it. Access is via a closed metal door off an alley to the rear that opens when you swipe your room key.

The Metro is one block away and staffed by attendants that will help you with ticket purchases. It is clean, safe, and ideal for accessing most all tourist sights.

You will find all the Hampton staff helpful but especially appreciated the service and advice we received from Devin, Madeline and Lindsey. Our room attendant was also very efficient and pleasant. All of this was punctuated by the nice rate we received on their website. Check the rate frequently before arrival. Ours lowered three times from the time of booking until arrival.

We will definitely stay at this hotel upon returning to DC. You will enjoy your stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, OH, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

1/2 Block from the King Street Metro and 2 Metro stops from the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport. Great shopping and restaurants all along King Street with Free Trolley transportation all up and down King Street. I've stayed here for vacation and for business. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The best thing this place has going for it is location. The trolley stops right in front of the hotel and it is in the middle of the walking nieghborhood of Old Town. We were received very nicely by the staff when we checked in. We had driven into town and parked our car in the underground parking garage at the hotel. It was certainly secure even if it was a little claustrophobic (this is probably more my issue than a reflection on the garage).

We stayed on the 4th floor and when the elevator doors opened at that floor, the heat hit us in the face. The hallways were sweltering, and when we got to our room, the a/c hit us in the face at that door (thankfully). The temperature of the hallways stayed this way the entire trip. Not pleasant.

On the last night of our trip, the fire alarm went off shortly after midnight. If you have never experienced this in a hotel, I hope you never do. We got dressed enough to go out in public (we were so used to the hallways being hot that we couldn't tell if there really was a fire) and went down the four flights of steps and out the front door onto King Street. After standing on King Street for twenty minutes, watching the firemen come and go, and finding out from others on the sixth floor that their hallways were always hot too, we went back in the building. No one from the staff told us we could go back in, we just followed the flow of customers back in, assuming that was okay. Because there were so many people, we took the four flights of stairs back up to our hot hallway and back to our room. We crawled back in bed...until the fire alarm went off again shortly after 4am.

Since we didn't know what had caused it the first time, we went back downstairs. We stopped in the lobby with roughly 1/4 of the number of people who came down the first time about the time the alarm was silenced. The man working at the front desk (God bless him) ignored us while he talked on the phone. We heard him say that it was a faulty smoke alarm and not to send the fire department. The we heard him tell someone still in their room not to evacuate. Based on this, we went back upstairs.

We got up at 7 am to go to church in MD (our primary reason for staying Saturday night) to find our bill that had been slipped under the door. No note of apology. No discount. Nothing. Just a bill printed off to let us know how much we were being charged for this wonderful night's sleep. Since we were in a hurry to get to MD, we didn't stop at the front desk to argue it.

Other than the heat in the hallways, the fire alarms, and the lack of a fridge in the room, the accommodations were lovely. The staff were generally helpful and polite. We never ate the breakfast downstairs, opting for eating out instead. The room was an excellent size. We could see a lovely pool from our window, though we didn't use it.

Would we stay there again? Maybe. I might request to be on a lower floor, just in case.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The biggest plus for this hotel Is the free shuttle to the Metro Station every half hour. You can catch a free trolley to the waterfront or a train to D.C. The staff was helpful , room was clean with nothing broken or worn out. Breakfast was as good as you usually get. Couldn't find anything wrong. the online price was less then expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Address: 1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.