We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and excellent service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Ride Special
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was in town for a course nearby and this was my first experience at a Hampton. Although it is an older property, this hotel was very clean, and had excellent service. The overall vibe and feel was happy, safe and comfortable. The employees were all genuinely friendly and very helpful. The free breakfast was quite good with lots of variety, and the staff kept it well stocked and very clean! Coffee, tea and hot chocolate is also available all day. The neighbourhood is safe with lots of great restaurants around...for a quick lunch try the Uptowner Cafe across the street. Great coffees, soups and sandwhiches at decent prices and quaint charm. Joe Theisman's about 1.5 blocks away was also quite enjoyable as well. There is also a free King Street trolley that runs every 20-30 min or so, with a stop right in front of the hotel, which you can take to the end of the street near the river where there are tons of great restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again, any day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    127
    44
    15
    9
See reviews for
119
74
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was looking for a hotel convenient to the Metro but not right in DC. The Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town was perfect. We were able to park in the hotel garage which did not cost an arm and a leg like many other DC area hotels. We walked to the Metro and enjoyed a day of sight seeing without worrying about our vehicle.
The hotel is clean, the rooms are nice and we enjoyed the complementary breakfast. An added bonus was the fresh donuts they served, I think they came from the Dunkin two doors down.
I would definitely stay again if in the area. We were able to visit a lot of sites including Arlington National Cemetery which was a short distance from the hotel. The price, location and quality of the hotel can't be beat. Great dining is close by as well.
We were extremely satisfied!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Fast internet. Friendly staff. While not usually a Hampton Inn customer, it was a good, comfortable room. Will stay again when I'm in Alexandria. Don't try to find the parking garage until you check in but easy once you know where it's at. Right across the street from Metro.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, reasonably priced, and the employees are very good. We traveled to Washington DC to attend the Texas Inaugural Ball and didn't want to spend $599 per night at the Gaylord Resort, where the function was held. This hotel is a $20 cab ride from Reagan National Airport or if you are into public transportation, it is the second stop on the Metro Yellow Line from the airport. The hotel is 1 1/2 blocks from the Metro station. We did not rent a car to go into DC because the center of DC is only 5 stops on the metro yellow line. You can get an unlimited all day ride ticket on the Metro for $14.

The accommodations were clean and comfortable and quiet. The neighborhood is very safe and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast is complementary and offers a nice selection of items from which to choose. We arrived early and our room was not ready, but the desk staff stored our luggage safely while we went into DC to see the sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The metro line is very close by so getting into DC was not a hassle. We did not need the car unless we wanted to drive to an area. If you prefer not to go into DC, the hotel is located near the shops and attractions of old town and there are great restaurants in the area.

Parking is limited and tight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is a great place to stay. The Metro is only one block away, and there is a free shuttle that goes to the heart of Old Town Alexandria. The hotel is very clean, and the staff was very helpful. Finding the parking lot is a little difficult when you first approach the hotel. Don't bother looking for the lot until you check-in because you need your hotel room key to open the parking lot's door; plus, they will give you a map to the parking lot during check-in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from a trip to DC and stayed for 5 nights in two rooms (one suite and one regular room). For DC this is a good value and location. You are about two blocks from a metro, overnight parking is $15/night and you can come and go and you are on King Street which has a free shuttle up and down the street making it easy to get to the waterfront, restaurants, torpedo factory, etc.

The hotel is pretty good. The unit in the rooms that provides heat is one of the noisiest I have ever experienced - and this was the case in both rooms. It was so loud when it would kick on, that we ended up turning it off for the night and just dealing with the room getting cold as it was preferable to constantly waking up. We also had an issue with the TV in our sitting area not getting sports channels that it should have had. Being an older hotel, the elevators are very slow and the amenities are few. We had a need to scan and email documents and the front desk had no idea how or where we could do this.

However, the morning breakfast was good every morning. I'm gluten free, but could always have fruit, yogurt and hard boiled eggs - which I appreciated. There were hot items for the others as well. Seating was limited, but you could take things to go. They had coffee and tea available all of the time in the lobby. There is no restaurant on site, but there are many nearby.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor. We heard the fourth floor was noisy. The second floor includes the fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Address: 1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.