We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn King St. Alexandria - good but needs updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Ride Special
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Lancaster, Pa.
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn King St. Alexandria - good but needs updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in early November. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The location is excellent - only 2 blocks to the Metro, near many restaurants incuding #1 Brabo and Joe Theisman's steak house, just s short walk into the heart of Old Town, right on the free Trolley line but...........the carpet in our room was very worn and in need of replacing, so the hotel needs some updating and some freshing up. But, this should not dissuade you from going here as it is a good value at $125/night. I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    135
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
129
79
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Smarties98
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was on a business trip in Washington, DC during a busy time of the year. Especially this year in the US since it is the election period and we couldn't get anything closer to the downtown Washington area. Well this was a good decision because the Hampton Inn is very well location on King street in Alexandria. The staff is very helpful and the hotel is very well maintained. There is a continental breakfast served every morning and rarely I have seen the same menu in the whole week that we stayed. I felt secure knowing that the main door of the hotel is locked after 23:00 and you need your room card to access the hotel or buzz the front desk clerk.

I really enjoy my stay. Somewhat a little pricy but yet don't forget the time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over Columbus Day weekend to visit some friends who reside in Alexandria. We both love visiting DC and always opted to stay in the city when we made our trips. I will say that won't be the case anymore! I like staying in Hampton Inns because they are reliable - you always know what you'll get at the Hampton Inn, it's not the Ritz but it's not the Days Inn either - plus you get a terrific breakfast. Old Town is a really fantastic place with nice quaint shops and restaurants as well as a real rustic southern charm. Plus, it's probably a ten minute metro ride into downtown DC (the King Street stop is a stone's throw away from the hotel, incredbily convenient). Moreover, staying here was probably 3x less than what I would have paid in the city that weekend - and I probably got much better service too.

One tip that I'd give to those who are staying over the weekend is do not pay the $15 parking fee each night at the hotel. The King Street metro stop has a parking lot that you can use for free without any time limits on the weekend. Again, it's literally one block south of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I needed a hotel convenient to the tourist sights in D.C. and found a nice one in the Hampton King St./Metro. We booked online and found the hotel website to be accurate in its description of the hotel and surroundings. Our room was clean and spacious, except for a well-worn carpet. We checked very closely upon arrival and found no sign of bedbugs! Wireless internet is free, also.
The breakfast area and lobby are clean and new-looking. Freeby newspapers are available for the taking. Breakfast is free with fresh fruit and some hot items. Since it was free, I won't complain much about the flour-paste oatmeal.
Transportation via the metro train is a big plus. The metro station is a 1/4 mile walk from the hotel and connections to all points require minimum waiting and fares are low. We flew in and out through Reagan and took the Metro between the air terminal and hotel (7 minute ride for $2.35 each).
We checked out at 5:30 a.m. and were a little uneasy about rolling our luggage alone down the deserted street to the Metro but the only threats we saw were yuppies out for morning runs.
Everyone on the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We called before arrival to ask a couple of questions and we made to feel welcome. We arrived early and only had to wait 5 minutes while the room was prepared for us.
I have to think hard to recall a downside other than the pricey nature of a big-city tourist hotel (room taxes may be a surprise when you check out). A refrigerator would be welcome, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

For a quick weekend visit to the Washington DC area, my sister and I chose to stay at the Hampton Inn Alexandria Old Town mainly for the location, and because of favorable past experiences with other Hampton Inns. The proximity to the King Street Metro station and the fact that it was on the King Street Trolley line were huge plusses for us. Unfortunately, due to circumstances, we ended up only used the Metro once and didn't use the KS Trolley at all. But the one time that we did use the Metro, the close proximity to the hotel was very much appreciated after a long day, and lots of walking, in DC!

The hotel building itself is obviously older, and did have a bit of old hotel mustiness in the hallways. However, our room was not musty at all. We had a room with 2 queen beds on the 6th floor (top floor) and it was clean, comfortable and extremely quiet. The mattresses weren't anything exceptional, but we slept fine on them... no complaints. The pillows were really nice, tho! The bathroom was very clean. We didn't use their toiletries, so no comment on that.

Both mornings we had to leave the hotel really early, so we didn't take advantage of the complimentary breakfast, so can't comment on that either. They offer "On the Run Breakfast Bags", if you don't have time to sit and eat. It was comprised of a bottle of water, a Special K bar, a packaged blueberry muffin, a little box of mints, and an apple.

The staff was friendly and helpful, recommending restaurants in the area that we appreciated. We had dinner our first night at The Fish Market, which is down in the heart of Old Town. It was extremely busy, a bit noisy and our original waiter was a little snotty. But our meal was excellent, so was worth the hassle! Their Neptune's Salad was unusual and delicious. Then our second night, we were exhausted after a full day in DC, and Joe Theismann's sports bar/restaurant, just a block away from the hotel was a great choice. It has a warm, comfortable ambiance, TVs everywhere, great cocktails, and excellent food. We both ordered their crab cake sandwich, and the crab cake was the best I've ever had! Very, very good, and a great place to relax after a busy day.

We had originally planned to take the Metro back to the airport but again, due to circumstances, we chose to take a taxi. The total fare (not inc tip) was just over $17 to Reagan National Airport. Not too bad!

I would definitely stay here again, in hopes that we would be able to use the Metro and the King Street Trolley! The Hampton Inn Old Town is a comfortable place to stay, and you really can't beat the location.

Room Tip: 6th floor (top floor) was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I booked this hotel for two nights arriving on a Friday and leaving on a Sunday. Was in town for a Washington Nationals game that Saturday afternoon. Arrived at hotel about 2 am on Saturday and was greeted by a friendly and accomodating front desk clerk. The senior gentleman spent several moments of time looking for 3 clean pillowcases as there were a few pillowcases in our room that had dead bugs or possibly dried blood on them. This problem was fixed and with a smile.

Breakfast was pretty good. Eggs (with cheese; would have liked the option to have them sans cheese), oatmeal, milk, yogurt, fresh fruit, waffles, cereal, sausage (it would be nice if hotels provided some non-pork breakfast meats), bagels, and muffins provided a nice array of choices. Breakfast area appeared small at first blush but was enough to accomodate those wanting the first meal of the day.

Parking was a bit odd. Front of hotel faces King Street so on-street parking in front of hotel to get bags out of your vehicle is somewhat hit-or-miss. Fortunately we "hit" upon checkin and because we checked out on Sunday we "hit" again in the sense that we were able to park in a regular city parking space....note: read the parking signs for the spaces on King Street. If I read the signs correctly, on Sunday parking in city spaces (which usually allow a limited parking time) is free. The parking provided by the hotel is a bit sparse. The lot is a bit circuitous to get to as it is accessible only via the back entrance and there are only two levels of parking. Spaces are tight and several visitors parked their vehicles at angles which prevented others from parking next to them. On night 1 I got a spot in the lot but on night 2 I was unable to find a spot. Fortunately you are only charged for each night you actually park in the lot but be sure to report to the front desk clerk if you are unable to find a spot. This should avoid you being charged.

Room was nice and relatively clean (see above note re pillowcases upon check-in). Two double beds and desk and TV although for the price paid---approx $125 per night plus tax---I was quite disappointed that there was neither a microwave nor a refrigerator in the room. Why is it the cheaper hotels provide continental breakfast, microwave, and refrigerator yet more expensive, "luxury" hotels charge you for every foodstuff and provide no kitchen appliances?

Hotel's location was excellent. Brief walk to King Street Metro station which allows travel into DC and Maryland without driving. And near the hotel is apparently a pick-up spot for the free local Old Town shuttle/trolley. It is a healthy yet quite manageable walk from the hotel to the east end of King Street which takes you to the Potomac River where there is a riverfront shopping area (cannot recall the name) and a ferry providing trips to National Harbor.

More than likely I would stay here again though I would probably do some brief comparison on whether there is another hotel on King Street which has a better parking situation (in terms of cost and available spots).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Needed a room in Alexandria for one night. Had a business meeting.
We planned to arrive Sunday night and have diinner. Plans got messed up when our 5:15 American Airlines flight didn't take off from Chicago until 7:15pm

Arrived at the Hampton at 9:30pm ....places to eat were closed. The fellow at the desk apologized (not his fault) and suggested they had some food in the cooler.
I purchased a Chicken Pot Pie which I heated in the microwave in the room. It was enough to hold me over until morning.

Breakfast was fine. Nothing special ...scrambled eggs, sausage patties, good blue berry muffin, bagels and toast. Enough to get the day started.

Room was clean, TV worked perfectly. Hampton Inn is a great go to hotel. I've never been disappointed. When we called for the shuttle from the airport, we were told it would take ablut 3/4 of an hour. They were taking a couple of guests to locations. I asked what it would cost for a taxi ...about $20. No problem, we took a cab. The long taxi line was orderly and moved quickly. The fare was $21.00 with tip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Address: 1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.