We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good and perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Hampton Inn... It has a very good location, very close to metro.. Small and quiet hotel with very good stuff.. Rooms are comfortable and clean. What if you don't take breakfast in glass dishes? I think that it is better for cleaness to eat and drink in paper dishes.. The only think that is not very good is the old heating (it works good but noisy). But overall it is a very good hotel...With very good stuff..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    164
    61
    22
    13
See reviews for
162
97
24
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is a very good hotel with a good trained staff. Very close to the metro station, rooms are ok, breakfast is ok staff is very helpfull. Many thanks to the team (specialy Mr.Ryan).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here because my company suggested it as the best place to stay near the office. It is very close to the Metro which is convenient but there are many other choices in Alexandria near the Metro.
We had a king bed room but everything else is designed for one person. Only one sink in the bathroom which is designed so the commode blocks your spouse from using the sink or the rest of the room if the other one is using the commode.
There was a full length mirror which is always nice but it was the closet door which opened into the hall between the bathroom and bed area and was a source of annoyance as it would not stay closed and swung open into the hallway completely blocking your way or worse, you could easily walk into it in the middle of the night going to the bathroom!!
Here are some other problems we encountered:
Toilet paper and tissues are of the cheapest, roughest quality. Towels were threadbare and stained. Carpet in the room was old,very thin, dirty and worn. It felt awful to have your feet touch the carpeting. Also, the heating and A/C is operated by a machine under your window which is very noisy and must be turned on and off to get the right temperature instead of a thermostat on the wall like you find in most hotels.
The reception upon arrival was fine but after that the folks at the front desk did not even look up when you entered or left the hotel. Very unfriendly.
The "free" breakfast is all pretty low quality food. Skim milk and a banana were the best choice for me as I try to eat healthy. Even the fresh fruit salad consisted of water logged fruit that was hard and tasteless. We ended up going up the street to Perfect Pita for a nice fresh breakfast sandwich.
I think there are better choices in Old Town for similar cost and would not stay at this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

On a visit to the DC area, we decided to spend one night in Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel choice was a definite mistake. Our room had a strange odor, so we changed rooms only to have another room with an equally musty odor. At that point, we gave up and stayed in the room. On our departure, we told the front desk clerk who seemed not to care at all. We recommend that guests stay away from this hotel because more than likely there are a lot better ones in the area that are more committed to quality customer service and room cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the second time in October. Our first visit was in June of 2007. We loved the location and the hotel so re-booked for this trip. We were only here for two nights but everything was still the same - up to the usual Hampton Inn standards. Our breakfast was fine and the room was clean and comfortable. The location is such that the Metro is only 3 blocks away so we caught the Metro and went into D.C. for the day - how totally convenient!! The only slightly negative was that the people in charge of the breakfast in the morning didn't pay enough attention to the trash cans and they were sticky and slightly overflowing. When I mentioned it to one of the women on duty she acted like it wasn't that important. Well, Hampton Inn, it is important, so I would definitely recommend closer scrutiny of your breakfast area from now on.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Decent hotel in a great location but the front desk was horrible. The staff was too busy away from the desk on the phone to help anyone. And rude. A woman in front of me booked a reservation that was messed up and the front desk clerk didn't do a thing about it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

A wonderful little hotel on King Street in Old Town Alexandria - great location! Walking distance from the metro; charming little shops; quaint restaurants and taverns near the Potamac; cobblestone streets and walkways; close to some fascinating historic landmarks. The staff at the Hampton is the BEST! Friendly, reliable, welcoming! The rooms are clean and the breakfast is so much more than we ever expected. Great place to stay if you want to visit DC - just hop on the King Street Metro and go - then relax in Old Alexandria at the end of each day. Will ALWAYS return to the Hampton Inn in Old Alexandria!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Address: 1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.