We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park and Ride Special
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We recently took a week vacation to Washington and chose this Inn for our base camp. It was a perfect choice as it was extremely close to the Metro, accomodations were clean and comfortable and hotel staff very friendly! Complimentary breakfast was served daily from 6 - 10 am with an assortment of food items including a different hot choice daily, fresh fruit and waffles. It was great to spend busy days in the Big city and return to the quaintness of this little town at night. Thanks for a GREAT stay!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    145
    57
    18
    12
See reviews for
141
92
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed here one night for business. Great location. Room was very comfortable with great AC (needed it because it was hot outside). Pool has a lifeguard. Shower was lacking in power but that is the general hotel trend. Very comfortable bed. Would stay here again without question. Easy access to business center.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This place deserves better than average reviews. Family had it as a base camp for an Arlington Memorial. Location was convenient for everything and everyone, as some other family members stayed elsewhere. Front desk staff were very friendly and eager to accommodate and please and gave great suggestions for restaurants- even provided a complimentary dessert for our group at the restaurant they had recommended!
Comfort was achieved. fabulous location for shopping and dining- even a Whole Foods within walking distance! trolley outside the door. metro very close.
Would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We were given the most awful view of construction being done and it was not a very nice view outside of the parking lot...We also had to pay for indoor parking in which we were not aware of, it is a nice enough hotel but for the price I think you can do better elsewhere...I did not think the maid service was all that great either. It is close to the T and to the shopping district as your right there and that was nice...parking underneath was really really tight and that made me nervous about my car.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

As promised before I would return for Cherry Blossoms. Made a very last minute NonSmoking reservation on Hampton Inn.com 12 hours before arrival. The confirmation came back smoking. I freeked. Under 24hrs money is charged. Called the hotel directly immediately with 3 minutes. Explained I had requested nonsmoking. Front desk said no nonsmoking were avail. Asked to cancel the reservation. They did and a charge never appeared on credit card statement. Thank you. Found another good place. Still will return another time.

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is not a cozy hotel and is not in the heart of the historic area. It is near the Metro and the high rise buildings at this location. But, clean, easy to get to from the Metro (5 minute walk), and not too far to walk to a lot of good places to eat. You can walk to the historic area, a mile or so away, or take the shuttle. Clean and quiet. I used the business center for about an hour and the staff was very accommodating in putting in new ink when the printer ran out. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This Hampton Inn is located only two blocks from the Metro. We walked to the station every day. It has a beautiful facade that blends in with the rest of Old Town and a nice foyer/breakfast area. The free breakfast was good. The rooms were clean and we checked them thoroughly for bed bugs and found no signs. There is a free trolley that runs up and down King Street and stops right outside the door.
However, upon arrival, the hotel was unable to accomodate the number of people (5) on our reservation. The front desk clerk had a very poor attitude and told me there was nothing she could do since all the roll-a-ways were taken. Since we could not find another hotel room, my yougest child slept in a chair for three nights until we checked out a day early.
I don't believe a hotel should accept a reservation if they are not able to accomodate the number of guests shown on the reservation. I would only stay here if I was with a party of 4 or less, again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro

Address: 1616 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich traditional decor, seasonal outdoor pool on 2nd floor courtyard setting, brick/block - Historic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.