We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have small children, the suite is perfect for a long weekend in Old Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Big on Parking!
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you have small children, the suite is perfect for a long weekend in Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Great location. Convenient to metro. King Street is nearby for walking, window shopping, restaurants, etc.

The complimentary breakfast is fabulous--with the kids it's a great start to the day. The rooms are spacious.

Staff greeted us warmly whenever we were in/out from our adventures.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, Admin Asst at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was very pleased to see that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and look forward to your return. Regards...Sylvie Venne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    401
    127
    41
    16
See reviews for
499
147
25
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

This hotel is the perfect place to stay with children because of the suite rooms, indoor pool, breakfast and close proximity to the metro station. We simply walked across the street and took the metro to the zoo, the museums and all the other DC attractions. There are also many restaurants in walking distance of the hotel that were great with young children.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, Admin Asst at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your input is important, as we strive to exceed our customers’ expectations. I was very pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We look forward to your return and thank you again for your well intentioned and well received comments. Best regards…Sylvie Venne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I am not that familiar with other Embassy Suites but this hotel was below my expectations. Room was old and beat down. Furniture is barely comfortable enough to sit on and accent furniture is old and looks to be on its last legs, literally. My window was so dirty I couldn't see out. Bathroom was atrocious with doors falling off the vanity and all three drains worked poorly. Breakfast was kind of gross, at least the eggs. Besides that the location is great and service was nice. They have a shuttle that will seemingly take you down King Street though I didn't try it out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate candid feedback from all our guests and I am pleased to announce we currently have a schedule for both room furniture upgrades and public area renovations.

It is also important for us to give the exterior of our brick building proper attention which has caused a tremendous amount of dust and dirt to settle on the windows. This project is scheduled for completion in the next 6 - 8 weeks at which time the building will have a complete window wash treatment.

I am very pleased to read that you found the service of our team members to be at your expectation.

Thank you again for your feedback

Sincerely

Mary Anne Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

I just returned home from a week long stay at the Embassy Suites. The location was perfect for jumping on and off I95 and the Metro is right across the street. They offer a free hot breakfast (made to order omlettes) and a manager's social at night. Great size rooms and comfy beds. Parking is $24 a night and as someone else stated below - there is no valet parking.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, Admin Asst at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
I’d like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Without your input we cannot keep striving to excel and exceed our customers’ expectations. I am pleased that our hotel was to your liking and look forward to your return. Thank you again, for your well intentioned and well received comments. Best regards…Sylvie Venne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

My father and I stayed here while visiting family in the Alexandria area and we thought the hotel was lovely. A very good location with a Metro station right across the street. . Upon arrival we found the driveway a tight squeeze and no bellman to help with bags or valet park. Parking accomodations are in the commercial garage right next door, with a special area for hotel guests with access directly to the hotel. That was convenient enough but we didn't realize that it was costing $24 per night until we received our express bill under the door. As with all Embassy Suites there is a complimentary breakfast which I have never been disappointed with, same holds true with this hotel. The Managers Reception is an absolute bargain at $2 per mixed drink. The room was very nicely decorated and very clean. The pull out sofa was not the traditional pull out, it was more of a trundle style which made it very low to the floor and a bit hard. All in all I would recommend this hotel for any type of travel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed here on a Sunday night prior to a meeting. My daughter and father were tagging along for the weekend and I needed a large place for all of us.
This was PERFECT!
The room is larger than most ES properties and nicer, too.
I had a view of a courtyard exterior.
The sofa bed was comfy... not a normal sofa bed.
We did not have a chance to enjoy the free b'fast, unfortunately.
The lobby of the hotel is very nice, checkin fast and friendly.
Location superb. Cost - ouch! But all of DC is running quite high these days.
I come back in June and hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, Admin Asst at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
I’d like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was very pleased to see that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Perhaps on your next visit you can enjoy our wonderful breakfast! We look forward to your return and thank you again for your well intentioned and well received comments. Best regards…Sylvie Venne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We travel to DC for business, usually in September. By choice, we select this hotel for many reasons. We have never been disappointed. The staff is friendly, helpful, and familiar with area events and attractions. We have chosen arrive early on our own time just to enjoy the area. Exceptional, live "quiet jazz" may be found just a short walk away at LaPorte's. The breakfast and manager's reception at the Embassy add value and provide an undisturbed break away from the general frenetic pace of DC. Access by Metro to and from National Airport is an added bonus. Free community "trolly" will take you to Old Town, which is well worth exploring day or night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, Admin Asst at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I was very pleased to see that you had another pleasant stay at our hotel and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to your return and thank you again for your well intentioned and well received comments. Best regards…Sylvie Venne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.