We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service First!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $119!
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
The Springs
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Service First!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I have stayed in several hotels across the US and abroad - Embassy Suites Old Town differs from the other "places to sleep" . . . both the front of the house staff and breakfast crew obviously take proud ownership of this hotel. Attentive, polite and professional . . .

Sure a clean room with a comfortable bed are expected ( at least for me ) but seldom a reality when booking a hotel however this place delivers on both.

I have already made plans for a future stay this year.
Money well spent!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    334
    99
    30
    15
See reviews for
407
117
21
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed here from 12/29/09 - 1/1/10 with extended family. We live on the east coast and wanted to spend New Years eve in the DC area. I was very pleased with the overall experience. First of all, Alexandria is an amazing place. So much to offer, I could see why this is ranked as one of the best places to live in the country.

Pros of the hotel
-Rates were good
-Area was great
-Rooms were large and clean
-Housekeeping was very friendly.

Cons of the hotel:
-Parking is $25 a night, although you can get 1 day passes from the city of Alexandria at the visitors center and park on the street.
-The check in area where you park your car is so incredibly tight, was afraid I'd scratch my car pulling out.
-Breakfast was ok..kind of standard fare with the exception of the omelet station, but that was kind of busy.
-Internet access cost me $10 a night.
-Not dog friendly...so had to board my dog back home at $50 a night.
-Pool is kind of undersized..so got pretty crowded

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We rented a larger suite since we had our two young grandsons with us. We were leery because we had heard it was very outdated. Not so for us and we are really picky. The room was large, bright and well furnished. There were a couple of glitches - the pull-out couch was broken, but they replaced it in ten minutes; we were missing a dining chair and that came in five minutes. The room was quiet, the b'fast was great and the pool was clean. The kids loved it. The location was wonderful. Only problem was that they are doing a "soft renovation" and told us we wouldn't hear anything, but we did. Hammering. We complained and after a while it stopped. Otherwise we loved this place and will go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We brought our three kids (8,5,2) to this hotel for a 2 night sight-seeing stay. The hotel is great, if you've stayed at an Embassy Suites this one is pretty similar. The breakfast was good and there is ample seating. The omelet/pancake line moves quickly, too. Elevators are fast, etc.

Parking is expensive and the parking garage is very tight! Luckily we parked our car and used the local transportation options.

Right across the street is the metro station which will get you all over DC. You can also catch the FREE Alexandria trolley (every 20 minutes) which will carry you down King St. to one of the many restaurants, shops, museums, ice cream parlors, etc. Wish we had more time just to explore Alexandria!

The pool was small but nicely decorated and staffed with a lifeguard when we tried it out. Plenty of towels available.

There are several places to eat within a short walk, too. There is also a Whole Foods very close.

I would certainly stay here again, especially since the rates were comparable or better than some non-suite hotels which did not have as easy of access to the Metro.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

This was a great location! We took the Amtrak from New York City to Alexandria. The station was right across the street and the hotel provided free shuttle service. We traveled to this area to visit Washington, DC. This location was great - the subway service was literally right across the street very easy to walk too. It was also only a couple stops from the airport. We enjoyed touring DC during the day and enjoyed the quanitness of Alexandria at nights. We were able to walk to many resturants & shops in the evenings. We would definitedly return.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

The hotel was very nice. Room was quite comfortable and extremely quiet. We had a nice view of the Masonic Lodge across the street. The Metro and Amtrak stations were located directly across the street and we didn't hear a thing from either train. Breakfast in the morning was quite good. Great location for sightseeing in Washington DC without DC prices. The only thing we found confusing was having to use different elevators for the parking lot vs. the hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Location was great: across the street from the Metro, the buses, the train station and the free trolley that goes down King St. to the waterfront. So convenient.

The rooms were nice, two room suites were spacious with plenty of storage space. The bed was comfortable. Even though we were on the metro side, we never heard a thing from outside. I liked the interior lobby, the glass elevator etc.

The staff were helpful the entire stay.

Food: Breakfast was inlcuded, which we took advantage of every day. Plenty of food to choose from (cereal, fruit, oatmeal, bagels, toast, yogurt, potatoes, muffins, sausage, waffles, grits, eggs, juice, milk, bacon AND pancakes and omelets cooked to order).
Note for those eating gluten free: the pancakes were cooked on the same grill as the omelets, so all the cooked to order food would not be GF.

We also ate at their restaurant Duke's two nights. Delicious food and scarcely any customers. The service was minimal but they made the extra effort to work with my husband who has to eat gluten free. We had to speak to a supervisor about that; the waiters had no idea what we were talking about.

One downside is no safes in the rooms, but they do have safety deposit boxes at the front desk; you can use one for free and keep the key with you.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.