We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for family trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $109 w Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location for family trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We brought our three kids (8,5,2) to this hotel for a 2 night sight-seeing stay. The hotel is great, if you've stayed at an Embassy Suites this one is pretty similar. The breakfast was good and there is ample seating. The omelet/pancake line moves quickly, too. Elevators are fast, etc.

Parking is expensive and the parking garage is very tight! Luckily we parked our car and used the local transportation options.

Right across the street is the metro station which will get you all over DC. You can also catch the FREE Alexandria trolley (every 20 minutes) which will carry you down King St. to one of the many restaurants, shops, museums, ice cream parlors, etc. Wish we had more time just to explore Alexandria!

The pool was small but nicely decorated and staffed with a lifeguard when we tried it out. Plenty of towels available.

There are several places to eat within a short walk, too. There is also a Whole Foods very close.

I would certainly stay here again, especially since the rates were comparable or better than some non-suite hotels which did not have as easy of access to the Metro.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    368
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
448
134
23
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

This was a great location! We took the Amtrak from New York City to Alexandria. The station was right across the street and the hotel provided free shuttle service. We traveled to this area to visit Washington, DC. This location was great - the subway service was literally right across the street very easy to walk too. It was also only a couple stops from the airport. We enjoyed touring DC during the day and enjoyed the quanitness of Alexandria at nights. We were able to walk to many resturants & shops in the evenings. We would definitedly return.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

The hotel was very nice. Room was quite comfortable and extremely quiet. We had a nice view of the Masonic Lodge across the street. The Metro and Amtrak stations were located directly across the street and we didn't hear a thing from either train. Breakfast in the morning was quite good. Great location for sightseeing in Washington DC without DC prices. The only thing we found confusing was having to use different elevators for the parking lot vs. the hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Location was great: across the street from the Metro, the buses, the train station and the free trolley that goes down King St. to the waterfront. So convenient.

The rooms were nice, two room suites were spacious with plenty of storage space. The bed was comfortable. Even though we were on the metro side, we never heard a thing from outside. I liked the interior lobby, the glass elevator etc.

The staff were helpful the entire stay.

Food: Breakfast was inlcuded, which we took advantage of every day. Plenty of food to choose from (cereal, fruit, oatmeal, bagels, toast, yogurt, potatoes, muffins, sausage, waffles, grits, eggs, juice, milk, bacon AND pancakes and omelets cooked to order).
Note for those eating gluten free: the pancakes were cooked on the same grill as the omelets, so all the cooked to order food would not be GF.

We also ate at their restaurant Duke's two nights. Delicious food and scarcely any customers. The service was minimal but they made the extra effort to work with my husband who has to eat gluten free. We had to speak to a supervisor about that; the waiters had no idea what we were talking about.

One downside is no safes in the rooms, but they do have safety deposit boxes at the front desk; you can use one for free and keep the key with you.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

This is my 3rd stay at Embassy, I have enjoyed each one! Dispite our room being right across from the Metro we never heard it!! Very clean! Enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast and the abundance of the selection of other breakfast items offered. The staff were great and very friendly-especially the breakfast crew/cooks. Upon noticing the orange juice needed changing one of the gals brought us two fresh glasses to our table before we had time to get it ourselves! Although one of the maids had a little trouble understanding when I inquired about the body lotion they supply she was very sweet and supplied me with an extra sample! (Hope I don't get her into trouble!!)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Took the whole family (plus a foreign exchange student) on a week adventure to DC a few years back. Traveled from FL on Amtrak and disembarked at King St. Station which is right in front of the Embassy Suites Old Town! We couldn't have asked for a better location or hotel! Since we are a family of 6, we always try to look for an Embassy Suites wherever we visit and are never disappointed. In fact, we are planning another trip back this fall!

What we liked the best about this location is its accessibility to transportation into the region (via air and rail) and into DC. The Metro station is right across the street and the Metro ride into town is about 15 minutes. After a long day of sightseeing, we really appreciated getting out of the city and back to the quiet and quaint Alexandria where we could unwind and eat dinner. Of course, the full hot breakfast each morning was amazing and such a relief! It was one less meal we had to plan and purchase!

Speaking of Alexandria ... we used the hotel shuttle every night to take us to restaurants. I did some homeword beforehand, researched area restaurants and purchased an Entertainment.com coupon book for DC. We ate at some very cool places, thanks to the coupons.

One of the best memories we all have is strolling around the old part of Alexandria and going to their farmer's market on a Saturday morning. The hotel's shuttle dropped us off at the market and we all walked back sipping coffee/hot chocolate and snacking on croissants we purchased from a local bakery during our stroll. DC is great, but every age group in our family (adults, kids, teens) count that Saturday as their favorite DC memory.

We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

I chose this hotel based on its proximity to the Metro station, suitability for children, and cost. I'm giving it 5 stars, but that's a relative score for the type of hotel. This is not the Ritz Carlton. But if you're looking to stay somewhere in the DC area with kids and you want easy access to the mall and other sites, this is a great location. But don't expect great amenities like a great gym, restaurant, or bar.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.