We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $109 w Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Montreal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Had a great 4 day stay at this hotel. Complimentary breakfast buffet was perfect with made to order eggs daily. Rooms were spacious and clean. Lobby and atrium area is nice.

The only complaint I can make is that the parking lot attached to the hotel has the smallest parking spaces I have ever seen. Don't rent a full size SUV when parking here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Indeed, our parking is limited. We will continue to focus on providing the best accommodations even for large SUV’s. I Thank you for giving us feedback on things we can do to improve the overall guest experience. I am thankful that there were some things we did well on during your stay and I will continue to evaluate ways we can improve in the future. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    368
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
447
134
23
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed here two nights for Labor Day weekend. My thoughts:
1. Hotel staff was incredibly friendly. The girl who checked us in remembered my name all weekend!
2. We got the premium room which included unlimited snacks and drinks. Nice option, except the snack and drink machine was broken, so you had to go down to the front desk for snacks and drinks. Not awful, but certainly not as convenient as staying on your floor.
3. Ideal location for getting on the metro- it's right across the street. It's about 20 minutes to get to the museums in DC. Also, the free trolley that goes down King street leaves from the metro parking lot.
4. Had dinner at Hard Times Cafe, about .5 miles from the hotel. A little dive-ish, but we had a blast. Ribs were fantastic. They bring you a sampler of their chili if you've never been there before.
5. Complimentary breakfast was great. Plenty of options. Look around before you get in the first line you see.
6. Definitely get the package that includes parking. Saves you $ you have to spend anyway.
7. Pool was small, luckily it was just my son and I in there. Couldn't imagine more than 5 or 6 people in at a time. I didn't use the fitness room, but thought it was odd that you get to it by walking around the pool and its wet floor.
8. A little tricky figuring out where to park and check in when you first get there. Could use better signage. We drove around the block 3 times before someone helped us.

I would definitely stay here again! Would give it 5 stars if the snack thing worked better, the pool was bigger, and it wasn't so confusing finding the entrance/parking.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
We only get better with your feedback! Thank You for sharing! Your list of things that were truly an asset to you during your stay with us can only be appreciated by others if we continue to improve. The 8th floor premium snack access is something we continue to work on ensuring that it is operational and convenient. When your travels bring you our way again we will be sure to earn that fifth star! I promise! Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom suite for a family vacation. It was great. The room was spacious enough for six people. Bring right across the street from the Metro made getting to the DC tourist spots extremely convenient. We did get spoiled on the omelette breakfasts every morning and beer with snack for the evening happy hour.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank You for sharing your wonderful experience with us! And there is nothing wrong with being spoiled on vacation. We are happy to help make your stay the most comfortable and relaxing part of being home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge NJ, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We were so excited to head to Alexandria Va but Customer Service was to busy to ask for our needs. I was very disappinted with the hotel and staff The staff could of been better in the pool area as well

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
I am heartbroken to basically hear that it sounds like we let you down. This does not make me feel like we demonstrated how valued you are a guest and that you loyalty is appreciated. We know we deal with several different guests at a time but I truly must apologize if you felt we were “too busy” to tend to you. Please, reach out to me so that we can discuss a way to ensure that this is resolved to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The hotel lovely with a beautiful center atrium. Room was fairly spacious, very clean and neat. I loved the breakfast with so many options- waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, hot syrup, fresh fruit, cereal, juice and more. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The location is very convenient to DC by car or METRO.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
It goes without saying that it was our pleasure to have you! Just reading your review and I can tell you must be an early riser! Our made-to-order breakfast is I would agree one of most signature ways to show guests how much we appreciate them. I am pleased that met/exceeded your expectations. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We were in town for the weekend, this location was nice, hotels was busy for the managers reception and breakfast buffet..
Breakfast buffet area was extremely cold you need a sweater.
Managers reception beer and wine were free, mixed well drinks were $2.50
Check in and out went smoothly.
Overall a good time and we old stay here again if we were in the area b

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Yes, yes, yes…these are some of our most revered amenities. We take them as opportunities to demonstrate to our guests we value their loyalty with an environment for relaxing, socializing and energizing up for the day. We will continue to work on ways to improve the flow of these top-rated services so that each guest can partake more enjoyably. We look forward to your return. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed here on an overnight as we were leaving on the auto train to Disney the next afternoon. Got in around 11:30am and even though our room wasn't ready, we were welcomed and encouraged to park our car and do some sightseeing. Front desk were great with directions and getting us to the Smithsonian. Got back around 4 and our room was ready. Great having a two bedroom suite with kids. Lots of room to spread out. Evening reception was fine; nothing extravagant, but a good snack. Glass of wine and beer is a nice touch for the parents! As part of being in the suite we were entitled to "snacks" from the special machine outside the elevator. We were only allotted two snacks which didn't make sense since there were four of us, but this did not detract from our stay at all. Beds were very comfortable and the only time we heard the train was in the morning, but we were already awake by then. Breakfast was very filling; egg/pancake station was a big hit. I actually brought the food back to our room because we had a dining room table there; just easier with the kids and breakfast crowd. Dip in the pool before checkout; not crowded at all and nice to have a lifeguard there. Exercise room was great too. Had free wi-fi which we were happy to hear about. After checkout, the front desk recommended a great hamburger place in downtown Alexandria. Insisted we leave our car in their garage to avoid the hassle of parking. If I had to give any suggestions for a better stay, it would be to make sure guests understand the "snack" policy and how to obtain free wi-fi from the room (we had to call someone about it.) Minor suggestions, but felt they were worth mentioning. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were told that there are only two 2-bedroom suites in the hotel and are both on the 8th floor. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
I’m pleased to hear that we got a lot of things right for the start of what was I hope a super enjoyable family vacation to Walt Disney World! I would like to apologize for whatever confusion there seems to have been on our part with your premium suite access as snacks and refreshments are unlimited. I do appreciate you bringing it to our attention so that we may focus more on making sure every guest knows that we are here to assist with any and everything. Upon your next visit please let us know of your return so that we may truly show you how we “Make It Right”. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.