We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for the Metro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $119!
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Hickory, United States
1 review
“Great Location for the Metro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is directly across the street from the metro station. It is on the far end of King Street though--so 18 blocks or so to the water in Alexandria. The hotel is clean, and the suites are nice. The evening reception is wonderful! Breakfast was good and very sufficient. I do not think you should have to pay for internet at a hotel of this rate. Some of the receptionists were quite pleasant; one was not.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank You for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I hope our staff shared with you many of the transportation conveniences like the King Street Trolley with rides all of King Street free of charge and the hotel shuttle which gladly escorts guest within a 2 mile radius of the hotel. These 2 services make the 18 blocks of King Street a little more bearable! We hope you get to experience them on your next visit with us. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    340
    101
    31
    15
See reviews for
414
122
21
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, CT, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I travel frequently to the area for business and this location has the perfect combination of comfort and business friendly accommodations in the room. The large work table with excellent lighting was perfect for getting things done. The hotel and rooms are perfectly maintained so that there are no aggravations upon arrival, you can get right down to business.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We definitely aim to please with our host of amenities and accommodations in our guest suites. I'm glad that everything really fit the bill for your stay. Business or Leisure, we look forward to earning your loyalty and hope to see you on your next visit to the area. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Anna, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Had four nights at this hotel and can't rave enough about the outstanding staff and service. Our room was perfect with a view of the Masonic Temple and the metro station. Since we were on vacation it was fun to watch all the commuters take the metro/bus/train in the mornings while sipping coffee in our room.

The hotel room was excellent, possibly remodeled recently, however the public areas of the hotel need a bit sprucing up. The breakfast menu (comes with room) was fresh with good variety and again, the Staff, on their toes. BUT the big drawback was the organization of the set up of the breakfast food areas. It did not move smoothly and guests were walking into each other trying to get to the coffee or juice bar, etc. This area really needs some serious revamping.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I'm pleased to hear our service was a WOW factor for you and your guest suite was wonderful in appearance. While these were good comments I would like to acknowledge your comments about our breakfast serving area. I appreciate the feedback and I look forward to working with my food and beverage staff for some ideas to improve guest flow. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I ordered an in room meal and it was was very good, and fresh. While the temperature was a little hard to get used too, with two rooms, and one thermostat, it worked out once I under it over night. The equipment fitness center was in good shape with all pieces working. The hotel room was roomy and good for a client meeting while I stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Our Caprese Mediterranean Grill enjoys preparing a variety of great tasting dishes for our guests’ in-suite, at the bar and for our restaurant patrons as well. I look forward to sharing your review of a great meal with the food and beverage staff. I am pleased to hear that you stay was so enjoyable on a business and leisure level. We look forward to your return. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was at this hotel for just one night ahead of a business meeting in Washington, DC. I travel to the DC area a lot and prefer to stay outside of DC proper and take Metro because of high DC hotel prices - and I love the Old Town Alexandria area. This property has all of the usual amenities you encounter at an Embassy Suites - two-room suites, large atrium, cook-to-order breakfast, and nightly manager's reception. Being the summer time, it was nearly fully booked with lots of families enjoying a vacation in the DC area. As a result, it can get pretty crowded and finding spots to sit in the breakfast/bar area can be challenging. My room was very good - what I come to expect from an Embassy Suites. Being on the 5th floor, however, meant my view was of the lower rooftop of the hotel! This hotel is very conveniently located about a 2 minute walk from the King Street Metro stop. This location is also where the free Old Town / King Street trolley departs from. However, Old Town is not large and I always enjoy strolling down King Street. Overall, a really good experience here.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room if you want a view. The trade off is likely longer waits for elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Summer, and as you so kindly pointed out our location, tend to be quite a mix for large gatherings of families, business clients and many of our loyal repeat guests. It is a busy time of year. I'm pleased to hear that our property and the surrounding Old Town area is tops on your list of places you enjoy. Please, return again soon. Maybe we can get you an even better view that just the 5th floor! Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles,La
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel truly treats its guest like VIP and when they make reservations for you at the local restaurant be sure to be expected to be treated like VIP's. The front desk made reservations for us at the Charter House and not only did the hotel van bring us and drop us off but was entertaining during the trip. The food was great the room the hotel had chose for us in the restaurant overlooked the river and had the best view. I am quite pleased with the stay and the service offered by Embassy Suites and would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for such a kind compliment on the service you received from our front desk staff. We enjoy treating every guest like a VIP. From restaurant recommendations, shuttle services and over all guest satisfaction, we aim to please! We thank you for allowing us to win your loyalty and hope to see you on future travel to the area. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The best staff we have dealt with at any Embassy Suite. The Manager was outstanding and extremely helpful. The location is great. The rooms are nicely appointed. The complimentary reception and breakfast were nicely done. Everyone was so friendly. Just a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
"...the best staff..." is how we hope that every guest feels about the service we provide. I can't thank you enough for sharing such kind words on your most recent visit with us. Your comment of "Just a great experience." is such a compliment to all we strive to offer. I speak for the entire staff when I say we sincerely hope to earn your loyalty for your next visit to the area. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.