We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Teen and her Girlfriends Loved It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $109 w Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Upper Marlboro, United States
1 review
“My Teen and her Girlfriends Loved It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My youngest daughter turned 13 in July and wanted to enjoy the luxury and amenities of an overnight stay at a hotel with a few girlfriends. We arrived a little after check-in and even though our room was not ready the front desk staff was courteous and funny and encouraged me to park while we were waiting. The underground parking at this hotel is a little tricky, to say the least. If you are not a seasoned driver you may get into a bit of trouble trying to understand the signs. Unfortuntely, the lot houses more than parking for the hotel which makes for time consuming parking and because of this headache the parking is way too expensive. Once we checked in and got our room. We were satisfied. The girls started at the pool which I found was a little small and rustic but it served its purpose. During the Managers Reception after I had taken a drink, I found lipstick on my drinking glass and I don't wear make-up so that was a little disgusting. Sleeping was a dream and the free made to order breakfast was delicious with a nice variety of breakfast choices. I would recommend or use this hotel again with the warning about the parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Sounds like overall Girls Night In was a success! Way-to-go Mom! I appreciate your candor about the parking garage. It can be a tight fit to navigate. And from the sound of your overnight stay you were able to partake in many of the amenities we offer like our indoor pool, evening manager’s reception and made-to-order breakfast. We will continue to focus on the quality levels provided with all the services we enjoy being able to offer our guests. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    368
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
446
134
23
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My family of four stayed for two nights at this hotel. We have teenage boys, so the Embassy Suites works well for us with the pull-out sofa bed in the room allowing each to have their own bed. That feature was key for us in choosing this hotel.

Aside from having enough beds in one room, this is a nice hotel with a great location right next to the King Street Metro station and Amtrak station. We did not need a rental car as public transit is so close and easy to use.

On both nights, we took advantage of the happy hour in the atrium. The complimentary drinks are a nice feature. The bar tenders are friendly and provide good service. We ordered food one night as well. The calamari appetizer was actually some of the best I have had.

The complimentary breakfast served in the atrium is very good as well. The first morning we were there, the hotel was pretty full. However, we were still able to get plenty of hot food and find an available table. The staff was efficient at clearing and resetting tables.

We had one minor issue which I reported to the front desk when we checked out. Our room was on the 5th floor near the elevators. Both mornings, there were loud low-pitched vibrational noises coming from within the wall of the bathroom. I suspect this was just noisy plumbing as guests were waking up. Another member of our party who was staying five rooms away on the same floor did not have this issue.

Overall, we were very happy with our experience and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank You for your recent review of your stay with us! Travelers who enjoy conveniences like our evening managers reception, great location by the Metro transit station and wonderful staff will be grateful that you had such an experience you chose to share. I’m pleased to hear our property had something the entire family could enjoy. I would love to welcome you back on your return visit with us. We appreciate your loyalty. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family of four stayed here with the park and play promotion, ie. complimentary parking. It was a nice stay in Old Town and right across the street from the King Street Metro stop. The hotel located close to Whole Foods and the is convenient to the Old Town Trolley, which takes you up and down King Street for free. The complimentary breakfast is fantastic with made to order omlettes and whatever else, ie pancakes! Too bad the internet isn't complimentary...also, at check-in if you forget to ask for anything or have any questions...forget about it!! They are too busy! So be sure to ask for whatever you need at check in; otherwise, wait for awhile because the front desk staff can not help you. I wanted a baby bed but forgot to ask about it at check in so went down to ask in person because I was on hold much too long the phone. After about two hours, my husband went down to ask again in person and was told to next time express the severity of the need to expedite the service. Overall, good stay just that one little hiccup and you have to pay for internet. :(

Room Tip: Ask for everything you need at check in; otherwise be prepared to wait at least 2 plus hours to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here while my husband while he attended a conference. We had 4 kids under 10 in tow. The hotel was very clean and family-friendly. The rooms were spacious and comfy. The staff was helpful and kind. The daily breakfast was delicious and the manager's reception each night was a perfect break in the day. Traveling to the DC area was a breeze with the King's St Metro Station right across the street. They had all the amenities we needed. Great stay for your DC area vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
I am pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable! Your stay is a perfect example of one of our best guest truly enjoying a relaxing vacation that included our brand of Embassy Suites amenities and Alexandria Old Town charm and convenience. We hope you choose to return again soon! Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wantage
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed in Alexandria during the TSA convention that our son was attending. We decided to visit D.C. This hotel went above and beyond to accomodate their guests! The people at the front desk were helpful and friendly. The happy hour and the bartenders were wonderful. We parked our SUV in the garage and rode our bikes all over town. The beds were clean and comfortable. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stay was OK. Expected more from the cost of my hotel. Had a great view from room and physical location to metro was good, but stay AWAY from the elevators...had people attempting to enter room all night and very noisy. They shut down lounge to finally get people to disband. Frustrated with figuring out where to park and spaces were very tight. Loved Alexandria area, but were there for DC...may look for closer hotel to DC next time. Pool, Bkfst & Housekeeping was good. Eve reception was nice, but a little understaffed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Carteret, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very Pleasant and the rooms are accomodating. The Breakfast is CRAZY with TOO MANY people trying to eat ....but the food was excellent for a buffet style. Parking is difficult and tight and pricy but in the city what can you do? The Front Desk staff very friendly and polite!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAnne_Russell_GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank You Ellen H for your valuable feedback on your most recent stay! I'm very pleased to hear our front desk staff provided such great service. And your feedback had helped us inform every guest key times to enjoy our made-to-order breakfast by posting advisory providing times of high and low foot traffic. This is just another way we want to enhance every guest's experience with us. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.