We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facility, staff and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $139!
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent facility, staff and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We chose this hotel as the place for out-of-town guests for a weekend wedding celebration. The service, and the venue exceeded our expectations. Staff were always helpful and all guests said how impressed they were with everything at the hotel. It was an excellent choice and we were very proud of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and for allowing us to be part of such a joyous celebration. I am hoping that we may be able to host many more of your out-of-town guests in the future. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    315
    95
    29
    15
See reviews for
382
112
20
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Embassy Suites in Old Town Alexandria is situated just off King Street and is very near the Metro. The hotel staff and the accommodations were great. The only complaint I have is that parking is expensive if you have a rental car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for writing this review. I am pleased that both our hotel accommodations and staff were able to make your stay pleasant and I will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great value, great hotel. Overall nice appearance. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was nice, cook to order eggs etc. Great proximity to Old Alexandria shopping/dining. Parking garage was clean, well lit, easy to negotiate. But hang onto your room key to get out of the garage when checking out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that you were able to avail yourself of our amenities, complimentary breakfast etc. I will have our Front Office Manager review the procedures, for reminding guests to hold onto their room key in order to exit the parking garage. Best Regards and Happy Holidays…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I really enjoyed staying here in Alexandria! I didn't think I would like it but the rooms are nice if you're on the higher level away from the atrium and elevator.

The complementary hot breakfast was good with made to order omelette! Great location to walk down to Old Town where shops until you drop then you have choices to eat. It's across from the train to DC. In the evenings they have happy hours/reception during weekdays only.

Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floor away from the atrium if you're a light sleeper or don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were able to partake of the complimentary breakfast and Manager’s reception. May I comment however, that our Manager’s Reception is a nightly occurrence, not sure if you might have been referring to a stay at one of our sister hotels, Homewood Suites? They offer a nightly reception Sun-Thurs? Best Regards and Happy Holidays…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed 7 nights and found the location excellent for exploring and visiting Washington DC without the extremely high prices of Central Washington. With the Metro into Washington just across the road outside and a return ticket for $7 it was most convenient, The Pentagon and Arlington National cemetery just a couple of stops away.
The hotel was good the room more than adequate with a fridge and microwave in a mini kitchen, but strangely not cutlery or crockery provided. But still very handy for warming up pizza or a take away meal from the supermarket which is just 5 mins walk away.
Room clean and housekeeping service very good and efficient. A very good buffet or cooked to order breakfast is included every morning, but did get busy at weekend. Best of all is the Managers drinks time between 1730!- 1900 every evening. Beer, wine, soft drinks free. With small service charge $2.5 for spirits. ( be careful of have a Bacardi as for some reason this appears to be the only spirit not included and was charges €10.5 for a small mearsure. ( caught only once). Lobby and even the hotel corridors little messy after this event due to all the free popcorn being dropped and carried back to rooms, could be cleaned up sooner as it wad not until the cleaners arrived next morning was it cleaned up.
All in all a excellent experience with Alexandria itself being a very nice quaint colonial town, with lots of restaurants and shops down King Street, which has a free trolley bus up and down until 1015 pm every evening. Always very impressed how clean and graffiti free that both Alexandria and Washington is. I have travelled all over the world and in my opinion Washington is the cleanest and most interesting city I have every been to. ( including Singapore ). A week is not long enough to enjoy all the sites and buildings of the Smithsonian museums ( think there are 19 separate large buildings with more to come) the Air and Space museum is a absolute must.
Very enjoyable stay and would recommend to anyone wanting a affordable base for all these attractions.

Room Tip: Free wifi throughout the hotel, better signal with rooms with inside windows in to Atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review. I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay and take advantage of the numerous sightseeing opportunities that the DC area has to offer. I will forward this review to our Food and Beverage Director, so he may address the cleanliness issue you brought to our attention, thank you. Please come back and see us soon. Best Regards and Happy Holidays…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, FL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We were here on business and had a very nice experience. Our room was spacious and well appointed. Very good breakfast and the managers reception every evening was well attended and very popular. Metro station is across the street and the free King Street Trolley picks up there as well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so please that your business travels brought you to us, and that your stay was pleasant. I hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best Regards and Happy Holidays … MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

When I arrived, the City was experiencing a power outage in Old Town. I got off the Metro and there weren't any lights to guide me to the hotel, there wasn't anyone at the door to explain about the power outage. The front desk said that they couldn't check me in at the time, so I had to wait. They didn't give me a food or drink ticket, they just told me to wait. When I was able to get into my room, the power was still off -- they didn't give me a flashlight or a glow stick so I could see in the room. The room was very stuffy so I tried to open the door to the small porch; it was bolted shut. The staff told me that none of their windows open; when my husband called to complain about the room being stuffy, they told him that the window could be opened for circulation. If you wanted a glow stick, you had to go back down to the front desk and request one. We were told that if we checked out that night and went elsewhere, there wouldn't be a charge; but if we stayed there would be no break in the rate because of the power outage. The power was out for 71/2 hours. No Thank you - never again great view or not.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. How unfortunate that you were checked in during the black-out, I can appreciate how frustrating it was to not be able to have power to the room. As you stated, this occurrence extended well into Old Town and could not be helped. I am very concerned however, that our Front Office Agents did not try to make you more comfortable while you waited to be checked in, or provide you with glow-sticks for your room. This will be addressed by our Front Office Manager. Please reach out to me at the hotel. I would appreciate discussing these issues with you personally. Best Regards... MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.