We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good thing they are going to remodel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $139!
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good thing they are going to remodel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect. Metro station is right across the street and plenty of restaurants and cute shops on King St. Our room smelled like an old ash tray. We couldn't switch rooms because they were booked. The sofa sleeper was very uncomfortable...no padding to the "mattress." The breakfast was good. You could get any kind of eggs, waffles, pancakes, etc. The parking garage is crazy....good luck not hitting a beam if you have anything more then a compact car. Parking is about $25 a day. The front desk never ever answers their phone. We tried calling several times for various things and no one ever picked up! We've never stayed at a hotel where you couldn't reach the front desk. The room was in pretty bad shape.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is unfortunate that a non-smoking room was not available for you at check in and that you were uncomfortable in the room you were assigned. We are in the process of updating all of our case goods in our rooms and redoing the tub surround, we are very excited about the changes and hope that you will too. Please come back and see us in 2014. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    311
    94
    29
    15
See reviews for
376
111
20
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Embassy Suites is a convenient place to stay if you are visiting the D.C. area. The Metro is just across the street. If you fly into National Reagan airport, it's easy to access the Metro to the King Street Exit and only about 2 stops I believe from the airport. It's also easy to hop on Metro and go downtown to visit the Museums etc. The hotel was nice enough. Of course the rooms are huge. The only grip I had was the breakfast. Didn't think it was all that good and it could get very crowded. So after the first day, I skipped it. You can walk to Whole Foods store as well as walk all over Old Towne Alexandria to shops and restaurants. So all in all a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: I had a 'deluxe" suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you appreciated the location of our hotel and that it offered convenience in your daily sightseeing. I am concerned, that you did not enjoy our full cooked to order breakfast, as we make every effort to offer a variety of food items and daily specials. I am pleased however, that you were able to benefit from the proximity of Whole Foods and the other food venues in the area. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Two room suite is convenient. Location across the street from Metro and steps from shopping and restaurants was great. Breakfast and evening reception added bonus. Before booking, ensure construction on rooms is completed or not near your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very excited about our room updates as completion is nearing, mid- January 2014, and make every effort to locate our guests away from the construction and possible noise. It does happen that due to the open atrium, some sound may be heard, but every attempt is made to work during those hours during the day when guests are either out for business or sightseeing in the area. I hope that you and your friends will be able to visit us again in 2014 and witness first-hand the changes to our rooms. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location is great. It is directly across the street from a main metro terminal so it is easy to get to anywhere downtown. There is also a free shuttle that goes from the metro stop into Old Towne Alexandria, which has lots of shops and restaurants. The rooms are nice and amazingly quiet. We had a room on the second floor facing the street but rarely heard street noise or metro trains. The parking (underground lot) is a bit confusing and we were given no details of how or where to park within the parking deck when we checked in. Luckily, a parking garage attendant came to our rescue and explained the situation. The parking deck is shared between the hotel and other businesses, so there are designated areas for hotel parking. Once you get in the correct area the spaces designated for the Embassy Suites are reasonably well marked. A large portion of the spaces are very narrow with posts on either side so finding a spot for a large SUV can be difficult. We saw many SUV’s wandering around looking for a space big enough. Even with our small Honda Civic, we had difficulty maneuvering into some of the spaces. Despite the parking situation, we would stay at the Embassy Suites again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay, despite the fact that you had difficulty maneuvering in the parking garage and I hope that we may be able to service you again. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel, employees friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was very good and presented well. The free breakfast was fair with the smallest omeletes that I have every seen. I think if you paid for breakfast it could have been better, I guess.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant one, but concerned that you did not seem to enjoy our complimentary breakfast offerings. Although our omelets are made according to Hilton standards, I am sure that our staff would have been able to accommodate you with a larger omelet of your choice upon request. Please allow us the opportunity to provide you with this option during your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Guest rooms now being updated (Fall 2013) walk across street to metro and near many other places of interest in Alexandria. Very good made to order breakfast. Some rooms can see Washington Monument. Unlimited movie and Sony PS3 game rentals was good deal for my group.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our hotel’s location and that your stay was personalized with the unlimited movie and game rentals. Please come back and visit us soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my family, we had 4 rooms, I shared one with my mother. When we checked in, I went into the bathroom to get a towel, and a large panel of wood fell off from under the sink onto my foot. I called the front desk and told them what happened, and they couldn't have been less interested. They didn't ask if I was alright or needed anything, I had to ask them to send someone up to fix it. That person was the only one who expressed any concern, he was very nice. Later I went downstairs and as I passed the front desk, got the formula, "how is your stay?", and I told them how unhappy I was (my toenail was already turning black, I had to wear sandals to my Aunt's funeral the next day). They had me fill out an incident report, refused to give me a copy, and I never heard another word.
When I returned home, I contacted Hilton and was told that someone from the hotel would get back to me within 3 days. Never happened. A couple of weeks later I received an email from Hilton asking if I was happy with the resolution of my problem,,, I emailed back saying there had been no resolution, that I had not heard from anyone, and I have not heard anything since. It's been 2 mos.
I travel for a living, staying in hotels at least 150 nights a year, so it takes a lot for me to be this angry with a hotel. None of my family will ever stay there again when we make family visits, nor would I recommend it to anyone, there are plenty of other nice hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am deeply concerned that an issue you encountered while at our hotel was not addressed while you were here and to make matters worse, that the email apologizing after the fact, may not have been received by you, as it was sent to the email of the guest who made the initial reservation. I am so pleased that our staff was able to finally reach you and take care of your issue. We do care and appreciate all of our guests and hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel. Thank you for your time and patronage. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.