We tend to stay at Embassy Suites when traveling with our children, but will likely not return to this particular location. The hotel has a convenient location, directly across the street from the King St. Metro. However, there were a couple of issues:
1. Strange charges: After we arrived home, I noticed that my credit card was overcharged by $67.42 even though I had an itemized receipt with the correct amounts. I called the hotel and was informed that their normal business practice is to overcharge the clients, but will refund the difference within 24-48 hours. This was not explained during the reservation process, nor at check-in. Pretty questionable.
2. Service was sub-standard. With the exception of the front desk clerk at check-in, we did not have a single positive experience with any of the hotel staff. This isn't critical, but it certainly does not encourage brand loyalty.
3. The hotel has not been completely renovated and our bathroom was dirty and in disrepair (a faux vanity door fell on my 9 year old son's foot).
4. We bought a package which included self-parking and movies. I felt like this was worth the price and would definitely have been irritated if I had to pay for those on top of the rates.
5. Pillows were awful. This is probably just a personal preference, but the pillows were really thin and offered no support.
Overall, the location is the reason for positive feedback. Next time we will just stay at the Embassy suites in the District.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. I am concerned to hear about the issues you encountered while staying at our hotel. We pride ourselves of having the most amiable staff and feel saddened, that the only positive encounter you had was with the Front Office staff. Let me assure you, that we do not overcharge our guests for their stay. We do place a credit authorization hold on the card given at the time of check in, which is common procedure at all hotels. Please reach out to me directly at the hotel, so we may determine what might have transpired to bring about such a charge on your card and to also further discuss your stay as well. I am confident that we can not only work towards a solution but change your opinion of our hotel and staff. I anxiously await your call. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.