We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel with some nice features” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $119!
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Well located hotel with some nice features”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Staying here currently. We got a very decent rate for a suite to share a room with the kids. They offer a guest services deal where you get some wine and beer selections with some simple snacks a few hours a day. The choices are limited but its free so how can you complain.
The breakfast is awesome, all made to order and also complimentary.
The fitness center is ample, and the in house restaurant is just ok. The only item i was disappointed in was the cheesecake desert. It was very poor quality. I would not judge this experience based on that one item.

I have one other comment which is more a comment on the times than the hotel. Paying to park in a hotel I am staying in seems to be kind of like an airline baggage charge, but all the hotels do this so I cant really hold it against embassy suites.
Good proximity to the metro, lots of good restaurants close.
All in all, this is a good deal and would stay again if coming to DC.
Probably would not bother renting a car again though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you stayed with us and that you were able to partake in the Manager’s Reception and Complimentary Breakfast. Oftentimes we suggest that our guests use the metro to get around in the DC area and use the complimentary shuttle to visit Old Town Alexandria, as both are so convenient and cost efficient. We will look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    330
    99
    30
    15
See reviews for
401
116
21
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewing, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We all had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Our high school class had our 50th reunion. The food was good and the service was excellent. Our committee had a was treated with profession, helpful and courteous people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so pleased that you chose Embassy Suites to reunite your high school class and allowed us to celebrate in this momentous 50th reunion. We will look forward to your next anniversary visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked this hotel for an anniversary weekend in Alexandria. One of the main reasons we booked was the proximity to the Metro as we had planned a day in DC - but the government shutdown changed our plans. Even so, this hotel is a great location. We took the Metro to an Arts Festival in Del Ray and took the free trolley down to the waterfront. A couple reviewers said it was far from the waterfront, but we actually walked it 2 or 3 times and it was not that far. The property is a little dated - but the staff was very friendly - quick check in and check out and we booked a rate that included parking in the parking garage. Caution - very small parking spots. Rooms open up to the atrium so if you are sitting in the living room you can hear the noise (and we were on the 5th floor) but in the bedroom, we did not hear anything. If we go back to Alexandria, and we plan to, we would stay here again. Comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and especially for choosing our Embassy Suites to celebrate this wonderful occasion. Old Town Alexandria is such a beautiful area to visit and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy the quaint boutiques and trendy restaurants. With the addition of new case goods in our rooms end of 2013, we hope that you will be able to visit us again soon in 2014 and witness the” new look”. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Old Town Alexandria Embassy is an exceptional hotel at one of the most outstanding locations just outside Washington D.C. It is easily accessible using the metro system which takes guest to all the Memorials. It has remarkable value with great views, many restaurants and places to walk and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you appreciate the hotel’s location and amenities and I hope to welcome you back soon to our hotel. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very good check-in and out services. Timely and professional. Breakfast is good with several choices. The cooked to order is a little slow, but worth the wait. Evening faire is good and commendable for offering free beverages and a few snacks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am delighted that your business trip was a pleasant one and will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location. It is across the street from King St Metro and free trolley to take to waterfront ,so you don't need a car. There is a WHOLE FOODS grocery store a block away behind the hotel. Wonderful restaurants within walking distance. The only snafu we experienced was with the hot tub. We were so looking forward to using it after our 22 mile bikeride but both times we attempted to use it the temperature was too cool. Also they close the pool area midday which is when you think they would clean it etc. But on our second try about 4:45pm there were no towels and we were told they had just dumped in chlorine after asking because our eyes were burning. We did talk with manager Fred about this who seemed genuinely concerned and even offered us dinner on him but we declined. We just wanted it reported.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I will need to address the issue you had with the water temperature for the tub with our engineering department and thank you for reaching out to our staff about the pool. We welcome guests advising us of issues during their stay, so we may attempt to make things right for them, while they are still at the hotel. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose the Embassy Suites in Alexandria for our Family Reunion and would highly recommend it. From the planning stage through to checking out, the staff went above and beyond our expectations. The hotel is clean and inviting. The evening reception, the made to order breakfast and the food served at our banquet was excellent. Thank you for such a wonderful memory.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and will look forward to your next reunion. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.