We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $139!
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location. It is across the street from King St Metro and free trolley to take to waterfront ,so you don't need a car. There is a WHOLE FOODS grocery store a block away behind the hotel. Wonderful restaurants within walking distance. The only snafu we experienced was with the hot tub. We were so looking forward to using it after our 22 mile bikeride but both times we attempted to use it the temperature was too cool. Also they close the pool area midday which is when you think they would clean it etc. But on our second try about 4:45pm there were no towels and we were told they had just dumped in chlorine after asking because our eyes were burning. We did talk with manager Fred about this who seemed genuinely concerned and even offered us dinner on him but we declined. We just wanted it reported.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I will need to address the issue you had with the water temperature for the tub with our engineering department and thank you for reaching out to our staff about the pool. We welcome guests advising us of issues during their stay, so we may attempt to make things right for them, while they are still at the hotel. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    311
    94
    29
    15
See reviews for
376
111
20
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose the Embassy Suites in Alexandria for our Family Reunion and would highly recommend it. From the planning stage through to checking out, the staff went above and beyond our expectations. The hotel is clean and inviting. The evening reception, the made to order breakfast and the food served at our banquet was excellent. Thank you for such a wonderful memory.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and will look forward to your next reunion. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and were very pleased with the service, cleanliness and accommodations. The Sunday morning breakfast was delicious. The lobby is nicely decorated, and the bar area in the center "garden" is very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. How wonderful that we were chosen for your venue on such a joyous occasion! I hope that you may be able to stay with us again soon and celebrate many more happy events. Best Regards…Mary Anne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranco Cordova
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a perfect place to stay when visiting both Alexandria VA and DC. The hotel is two stops on the Metro south of Reagan National Airport. ($2.25 during peak times) The metro stop is no more than 1/2 short block to the door of the hotel. The free trolley down King Street picks up in the same spot.

Staff was wonderful, including the shuttle service to and from a Starbucks at 9:30 pm. Front desk was helpful, excellent free breakfast with a wide variety of food for adults and kids, free safe deposit box and a managers reception each night with reasonable snacks (nothing fancy) and free beer and wine, including non-alcohol beer. Only negative was the dining room food: goat cheese salad had only one piece of cheese, the calamari was way too salty and the bar couldnt make an espresso.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and providing us with valuable insight on our restaurant. We appreciate your feedback and will work in concert with the F&B team to guarantee consistency in our restaurant each time. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have used this hotel several times for small workshops -- I teach survey design -- using their conference/executive suites. Great location, close to the airport and the Metro but also having good after hours opportunities. Helpful staff. Warm, welcoming dining room staff for lunch and very nice lunches.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am so pleased that our facility is able to assist with your business needs and appreciate your continued patronage. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very clean, great location, very comfortable, the Metro was right across the street, extremely convenient or going into Washington D.C. the location is right at the beginning of King St. where there is lots of fabulous restaurants and shopping, felt safe and inviting....would do it all over again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to visit Old Town Alexandria, with its quaint shops and great restaurants. We will look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First time back to this property in 15 years. The location is great and even better as some local eateries and conveniences are now closer then ever.

However, we noticed little things starting to get worn, especially in the bathroom. Drains that didn't drain quickly, and worn rug and furniture. So we have to give it a Very Good, not an Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for being a return guest. I am pleased to say, that we are going to be updating all of the case goods in our rooms and renovating the bathroom facilities as well, at the end of 2013. I am hoping that on your next visit, in a nearer future, you may once again rate our hotel as, “Excellent”. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.