We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for a DC TRIP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $119!
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Ranco Cordova
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay for a DC TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a perfect place to stay when visiting both Alexandria VA and DC. The hotel is two stops on the Metro south of Reagan National Airport. ($2.25 during peak times) The metro stop is no more than 1/2 short block to the door of the hotel. The free trolley down King Street picks up in the same spot.

Staff was wonderful, including the shuttle service to and from a Starbucks at 9:30 pm. Front desk was helpful, excellent free breakfast with a wide variety of food for adults and kids, free safe deposit box and a managers reception each night with reasonable snacks (nothing fancy) and free beer and wine, including non-alcohol beer. Only negative was the dining room food: goat cheese salad had only one piece of cheese, the calamari was way too salty and the bar couldnt make an espresso.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and providing us with valuable insight on our restaurant. We appreciate your feedback and will work in concert with the F&B team to guarantee consistency in our restaurant each time. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    333
    99
    30
    15
See reviews for
404
117
21
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have used this hotel several times for small workshops -- I teach survey design -- using their conference/executive suites. Great location, close to the airport and the Metro but also having good after hours opportunities. Helpful staff. Warm, welcoming dining room staff for lunch and very nice lunches.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am so pleased that our facility is able to assist with your business needs and appreciate your continued patronage. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very clean, great location, very comfortable, the Metro was right across the street, extremely convenient or going into Washington D.C. the location is right at the beginning of King St. where there is lots of fabulous restaurants and shopping, felt safe and inviting....would do it all over again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to visit Old Town Alexandria, with its quaint shops and great restaurants. We will look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First time back to this property in 15 years. The location is great and even better as some local eateries and conveniences are now closer then ever.

However, we noticed little things starting to get worn, especially in the bathroom. Drains that didn't drain quickly, and worn rug and furniture. So we have to give it a Very Good, not an Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for being a return guest. I am pleased to say, that we are going to be updating all of the case goods in our rooms and renovating the bathroom facilities as well, at the end of 2013. I am hoping that on your next visit, in a nearer future, you may once again rate our hotel as, “Excellent”. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recently took my wife to Washington DC to see friends and attend her first Redskins game. After speaking with friends who travel to the area often we decided to stay at this property. The location is great. The metro to downtown DC is across the street, Old Town Alexandria is very close and the hotel offers a free shuttle to anywhere within 2 miles of the hotel which covers most of Old Town which has very little parking if you choose to drive.
Room was comfortable and all the appliances worked without issue. The free breakfast buffet and evening receptions were great and staff was very polite/helpful. There were only a couple of negatives:
1) Parking - the parking was $26 a day the spaces were extremely small! We rented a Hyundai Genesis and we spent a fair amount of time trying to find a space which wouldn't result in door dings from people just trying to get into their cars.
2) Housekeeping - We stayed 3 nights and brought drinks back to the room from the evening reception but housekeeping never took the glasses out of the room.
Overall the negatives were minor and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The location and free amenities more than make up for any of the issues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you decided to stay with us on the recommendation of your friends and that your stay was pleasant. I will forward your review to our Executive Suitekeeper, in order for her to review the proper procedure for retrieving glassware from the rooms. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TROY, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Awsome location. Directly across from the King St. Metro station. Trains run on a continuing schedule. About a 15 minute ride to DC. Two blocks from King Street, with all kinds of resturants, pubs and entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to inform other travelers of your observations and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you would like a comfortable, spacious, clean hotel with a complimentary cook to order breakfast you should consider this Embassy Suites. Parking is available below the hotel and the King Street Metro stop is across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your business travels have brought you to us and that your stay was pleasant. I hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.