We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $139!
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Vacaville, United States
1 review
“hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very clean, great location, very comfortable, the Metro was right across the street, extremely convenient or going into Washington D.C. the location is right at the beginning of King St. where there is lots of fabulous restaurants and shopping, felt safe and inviting....would do it all over again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to visit Old Town Alexandria, with its quaint shops and great restaurants. We will look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    311
    94
    29
    15
See reviews for
376
111
20
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First time back to this property in 15 years. The location is great and even better as some local eateries and conveniences are now closer then ever.

However, we noticed little things starting to get worn, especially in the bathroom. Drains that didn't drain quickly, and worn rug and furniture. So we have to give it a Very Good, not an Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for being a return guest. I am pleased to say, that we are going to be updating all of the case goods in our rooms and renovating the bathroom facilities as well, at the end of 2013. I am hoping that on your next visit, in a nearer future, you may once again rate our hotel as, “Excellent”. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recently took my wife to Washington DC to see friends and attend her first Redskins game. After speaking with friends who travel to the area often we decided to stay at this property. The location is great. The metro to downtown DC is across the street, Old Town Alexandria is very close and the hotel offers a free shuttle to anywhere within 2 miles of the hotel which covers most of Old Town which has very little parking if you choose to drive.
Room was comfortable and all the appliances worked without issue. The free breakfast buffet and evening receptions were great and staff was very polite/helpful. There were only a couple of negatives:
1) Parking - the parking was $26 a day the spaces were extremely small! We rented a Hyundai Genesis and we spent a fair amount of time trying to find a space which wouldn't result in door dings from people just trying to get into their cars.
2) Housekeeping - We stayed 3 nights and brought drinks back to the room from the evening reception but housekeeping never took the glasses out of the room.
Overall the negatives were minor and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The location and free amenities more than make up for any of the issues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you decided to stay with us on the recommendation of your friends and that your stay was pleasant. I will forward your review to our Executive Suitekeeper, in order for her to review the proper procedure for retrieving glassware from the rooms. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TROY, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Awsome location. Directly across from the King St. Metro station. Trains run on a continuing schedule. About a 15 minute ride to DC. Two blocks from King Street, with all kinds of resturants, pubs and entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to inform other travelers of your observations and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you would like a comfortable, spacious, clean hotel with a complimentary cook to order breakfast you should consider this Embassy Suites. Parking is available below the hotel and the King Street Metro stop is across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your business travels have brought you to us and that your stay was pleasant. I hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at this well located property on a number of occasions. The hotel is adjacent to the Metro and Amtrak stations while Old Town can be reached on foot or by free trolley.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable. One us is interested in railroads and so enjoyed the view overlooking the tracks. Breakfast and a Manager’s Reception in the early evening are included in the room rate which therefore represents excellent value. On each occasion that we have booked to stay, the prices and the range of available deals have been different. An excellent new innovation on this occasion was the premium rooms on the top floor which have 24 hour access to drinks/ snacks. Those who book their accommodation at a relatively early date would be well advised to check back nearer the time of their stay to see if a better deal is available. By doing this, we were able to change to a premium room with car parking and internet access and save a significant sum of money in the process. We hope to return!

Room Tip: A high floor room away from the elevators is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were able to find availability for the premium floor and enjoyed what was offered. I thank you for your patronage and hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

In a crowded city like Alexandria one of the biggest issues is getting around. This Embassy Suites offered a free shuttle service to hot spots around town and the driver Wagner was amazing. He moves you from one location to another effortlessly and was very kind to all on board. I would stay here over and over again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were able to avail yourself of our shuttle and that Wagner provided you with exceptional service. I look forward to sharing your comments with him. I thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.