We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $119!
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at this well located property on a number of occasions. The hotel is adjacent to the Metro and Amtrak stations while Old Town can be reached on foot or by free trolley.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable. One us is interested in railroads and so enjoyed the view overlooking the tracks. Breakfast and a Manager’s Reception in the early evening are included in the room rate which therefore represents excellent value. On each occasion that we have booked to stay, the prices and the range of available deals have been different. An excellent new innovation on this occasion was the premium rooms on the top floor which have 24 hour access to drinks/ snacks. Those who book their accommodation at a relatively early date would be well advised to check back nearer the time of their stay to see if a better deal is available. By doing this, we were able to change to a premium room with car parking and internet access and save a significant sum of money in the process. We hope to return!

Room Tip: A high floor room away from the elevators is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were able to find availability for the premium floor and enjoyed what was offered. I thank you for your patronage and hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    335
    99
    31
    15
See reviews for
409
118
21
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

In a crowded city like Alexandria one of the biggest issues is getting around. This Embassy Suites offered a free shuttle service to hot spots around town and the driver Wagner was amazing. He moves you from one location to another effortlessly and was very kind to all on board. I would stay here over and over again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were able to avail yourself of our shuttle and that Wagner provided you with exceptional service. I look forward to sharing your comments with him. I thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Town Alexandria, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel was great and the room was large and nice. I have read a lot of bad reviews about the free breakfast and evening reception with free drinks but it was great. I paid extra for the snack bar and it paid off as there were great snacks and well stocked

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that staying with us, has provided you with a positive impression of our hotel and of what the Embassy Suites brand has to offer. I hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, VA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent service and great complimentary breakfast. I had trouble seeing Embassy Suites on the building from the street in front of the building. I have never encountered such excellent customer service from Everyone at this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for writing this most pleasant review. Our staff is the best and I am pleased that you acknowledged them! I will look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is in a good location of Old Town Alexandria. Conviently located near the METRO. Also, provide scenic running in the morning, but be careful if you are not use to running on brick sidewalks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I would have to agree that, Alexandria Old Town with it’s quaint atmosphere and brick sidewalks offers a nice venue for a run or walk, at any time of day. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We rode the train to DC for a Redskins game. This property is next to the King Street Amtrak station which shares a stop with the Yellow and Blue Metro trains. The hotel is two stops away from Reagan Airport. A free trolley travels back and forth on King Street during the day to provide easy access to the many restaurants and "artsy" things in Old Town. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. Staff was friendly -- provided early check-in as well as holding bags for pickup after checkout. Only "downer" was fee for WiFi. Room was quiet and comfortable. We will go back.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevators are closer to the main desk, but further from vending and ice machines. El...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Using the train to reach our property is certainly a great way to travel. As you stated we are directly across the street from the free Old Town Trolley and the Metro station which combined provide easy access to old Town Alexandria and Washington DC. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is one of two hotels visited during a family reunion in Alexandria. We headed up a couple of days early to be tourists before the planned events. We often visit DC, but decided to stay in Alexandria as it had been about 30 years since visiting there and it was convenient to DC.

A major factor in our choice was the hotel's location. It is a bit out of the way, but... it's easy to get anywhere you want. The King Street Trolley Bus (free) starts its route across the street and runs down to the river. There is a Metro station right across the street for easy access to DC.

The hotel itself is fairly average. There were no negatives -- it was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was average for Embassy Suites (good) and even when busy, the lines moved quickly. We booked a corner room which was nice. The elevators were about the quickest of any I've encountered at Embassy Suites--they are often slow at other properties, but not here.

Overall, I'd stay here again...and may choose to on my next trip to DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Embassy Suites Alexandria. I am pleased that your travels brought you to our location and happy that all was satisfactory during your stay. I will look forward to your next visit to our area and to welcoming you again at our hotel. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.