We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Big on Parking!
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Embassy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Alexandria, VA Embassy Suites is what's up! Great complimentary breakfast with fresh cold or hot foot. Professional staff with manners and knowledge of the area. Very clean and comfortable spot. Watch out for the parking lot from hell...TIGHT SPACES...."I AIN'T GOT TIME FOR THAT"!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. The parking spaces for the hotel were selected for their convenience to the main hotel entrance, these spaces however, are smaller than other spaces on different levels, due to a high volume of columns. We do have a few larger spaces available on a first come, first serve basis for large SUV’s etc.. Perhaps on your next visit, one will be available. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    393
    120
    39
    16
See reviews for
484
146
24
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Old Town Alexandria is an awesome spot and this hotel provides great access to all the area has to offer. Metro is across the street and dozens of bars/restaurants are within walking distance. The property itself provided a fantastic happy hour with free draft beer, snacks, etc. It was packed and a great atmosphere. The room was a bit aged, but nothing that would take away from a great stay. I am Hilton Gold, was afforded a room on the top floor and there were unlimited soft drinks, snacks, etc. Have no worries staying at this property.

Room Tip: If offered a room on the top floor - jump at it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are very pleased to say that we will be updating the case goods in our guest suites at the end of 2013 and look forward to your return visit and future comments on our upgraded look. I am thankful for your patronage of the Hilton family of hotels and hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Typical high standard embassy suite hotel. Two rooms each with a flat screen TV. Beds have many pillows. This hotel also offers free shuttle service to the old town area. Location is easy walk to metro and to a large whole food grocery store.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise from the interior area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am a lover of Embassy Suites and this one did not disappoint me. The front desk staff answered all of my questions regarding the Metra with a smile. The breakfast was fantastic though an odd layout. The Managers Reception was great with smiling bartenders. Its location was wonderful being in Old Town and across from the Metra Station. The only disappointment was on site restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable, although we would have welcomed more information about your restaurant dining experience. I hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuttle, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice hotel right next to a Metro Station. Really good breakfast. Managers special consists of chips/dip and fresh cut veggies along with popcorn. The free beer and wine is happily and generously served by a great crew. It does tend to get busy. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. The rooms seem to be a tad smaller that other ES's but it's well furnished and looks great. There are plenty of places to eat right next to it and a Whole Foods is on the same block complete with wine/beer selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were able to avail yourself of the complimentary breakfast and complimentary Manager’s Reception. I hope you will be visiting us again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Brilliant stay greeted as a real honours member got an upgrade to a double room suite an the executive floor staff could not do enough for you I would highly recommend this hotel. Pool is not open all day that could be an issues but we worked round that

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that we were able to upgrade you and that our staff was accommodating and friendly. I will anxiously await your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

You will not regret your stay at this beautiful property! I loved everything about Embassy suites. This was a pleasure trip and it had all the amenities a woman could ask for...pool, sauna, eatery, bar, scenic view and nearby shopping!! The hotel offers a manager's reception (happy hour) each day: veggies, chips, pretzels and popcorn (free of charge) and beer/wine complimentary as well. The mixed drinks I believe only $2.50. Nevertheless, the bartender was on point :) The restaurant on site, the food was delish!! I had the jambalaya and a magarita for dinner one evening...yum!!! I also tried the nachos (just ok, but satisfying) and the cesaer salad...yum!! My daughter had the chicken fingers and fries she enjoyed them as well. We stayed on the 6th floor...facing Diagonal Road...the view was superb! I read other comments about noise level...no troubles on my end. I heard noise but nothing along the lines of a disturbance. The waitstaff and those at the front desk were super friendly and ready to address any concerns I had. The parking garage was the only hiccup...not sure who designed that but I had a compact car so no worries. However, large vehicles I can see why it would be difficult for you to move around. But the garage did not take away anything from this stay (cost $26). The pool has a lifeguard on duty the entire time. You must register when you check in and check out the pool...very good tool! The fitness room...on point! Complimentary breakfast everyday...made to order food and buffet style. Pretty much anything you can think of for breakfast the Embassy had it at your fingertips! The hotel inside is just awestruck! The location, atmosphere, staff, hotel room (all of it), noise level...just everything was more than what I expected. My first time here...definitely unforgettable! We will be back. We stayed fri and sat and check out sun...loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed review. As stated before, we appreciate all reviews, as they are a guide to what our guests like and dislike about our hotel, and a means for us to improve on product and service. I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.