We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $119!
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Federal Way, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Typical high standard embassy suite hotel. Two rooms each with a flat screen TV. Beds have many pillows. This hotel also offers free shuttle service to the old town area. Location is easy walk to metro and to a large whole food grocery store.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise from the interior area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    339
    100
    31
    15
See reviews for
414
121
21
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am a lover of Embassy Suites and this one did not disappoint me. The front desk staff answered all of my questions regarding the Metra with a smile. The breakfast was fantastic though an odd layout. The Managers Reception was great with smiling bartenders. Its location was wonderful being in Old Town and across from the Metra Station. The only disappointment was on site restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable, although we would have welcomed more information about your restaurant dining experience. I hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuttle, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice hotel right next to a Metro Station. Really good breakfast. Managers special consists of chips/dip and fresh cut veggies along with popcorn. The free beer and wine is happily and generously served by a great crew. It does tend to get busy. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. The rooms seem to be a tad smaller that other ES's but it's well furnished and looks great. There are plenty of places to eat right next to it and a Whole Foods is on the same block complete with wine/beer selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were able to avail yourself of the complimentary breakfast and complimentary Manager’s Reception. I hope you will be visiting us again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Brilliant stay greeted as a real honours member got an upgrade to a double room suite an the executive floor staff could not do enough for you I would highly recommend this hotel. Pool is not open all day that could be an issues but we worked round that

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that we were able to upgrade you and that our staff was accommodating and friendly. I will anxiously await your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

You will not regret your stay at this beautiful property! I loved everything about Embassy suites. This was a pleasure trip and it had all the amenities a woman could ask for...pool, sauna, eatery, bar, scenic view and nearby shopping!! The hotel offers a manager's reception (happy hour) each day: veggies, chips, pretzels and popcorn (free of charge) and beer/wine complimentary as well. The mixed drinks I believe only $2.50. Nevertheless, the bartender was on point :) The restaurant on site, the food was delish!! I had the jambalaya and a magarita for dinner one evening...yum!!! I also tried the nachos (just ok, but satisfying) and the cesaer salad...yum!! My daughter had the chicken fingers and fries she enjoyed them as well. We stayed on the 6th floor...facing Diagonal Road...the view was superb! I read other comments about noise level...no troubles on my end. I heard noise but nothing along the lines of a disturbance. The waitstaff and those at the front desk were super friendly and ready to address any concerns I had. The parking garage was the only hiccup...not sure who designed that but I had a compact car so no worries. However, large vehicles I can see why it would be difficult for you to move around. But the garage did not take away anything from this stay (cost $26). The pool has a lifeguard on duty the entire time. You must register when you check in and check out the pool...very good tool! The fitness room...on point! Complimentary breakfast everyday...made to order food and buffet style. Pretty much anything you can think of for breakfast the Embassy had it at your fingertips! The hotel inside is just awestruck! The location, atmosphere, staff, hotel room (all of it), noise level...just everything was more than what I expected. My first time here...definitely unforgettable! We will be back. We stayed fri and sat and check out sun...loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed review. As stated before, we appreciate all reviews, as they are a guide to what our guests like and dislike about our hotel, and a means for us to improve on product and service. I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Embassy Suites in Old Town are a hidden treasure. They provide a great stay just a hop off the metro with easy access to tours and great dining. The interior of the hotel is five star, the staff is friendly and professional and the amenities can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for the wonderful accolades. I appreciate all reviews, as some help us better our product and service, and others confirm continuation of what we do well. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at this property 8/8 - 8/11 due to the close proximity to the Metro station across the street and the fact that we try to stay at Embassy Suites as often as possible when we travel. The hotel, staff and room itself did not disappoint, however, we place a lot of weight on the hot breakfast and Manager's reception because there are actually the main reason we stay at Embassy Suites. If not for for those amenities, we'd stay at Hampton Inn and typically at a lower price.

Our room and the hotel itself were both well maintained and in good, clean condition when we arrived. We have no complaints with the property at all. We flew in and out of DCA and utilized the very convenient Metro and did not rent a car, so we had no need to use the parking garage. We also used the business center on Sunday morning to print out our boarding passes and the computers and printers were in good working order. We were only in town for three nights and didn't use the fitness center or pool.

The Manager's Reception made a very favorable impression on us the first night, but declined somewhat as the weekend went on. The only complimentary alcoholic drinks they serve here are beer, wine and sangria. Other ES hotels we've stayed at have also served liquor, but I understand sometimes local laws prevent that. Not sure if that's the case here, but not a big deal either way. There were two large family groups staying here this weekend - a group of 149 for a family reunion and another smaller family group in town to see the Phillies play the Nationals. There were two male bartenders working who quickly and easily handled the lines of people waiting for drinks. There was a female bartender working later in the weekend who was friendly but very slow and not quite as efficient at handing the large crowd. The lines were much longer the night she was working behind the bar because she wasn't able to keep up.

The snacks at the Manager's Reception started out surprisingly good - the first night. They started out serving soft pretzels (something we've never seen at ES), potato chips, fresh veggies and popcorn. The next night, crackers replaced the soft pretzels. They also had salsa every night but nothing that really went with the salsa with the exception of one bowl of Doritos one night, which they quickly ran out of. They had a very difficult time refilling the snacks and keeping the area clean just didn't happen.

The hot breakfast at Embassy Suites is something we always enjoy, but it was somewhat of a disappointment here. I'm not a coffee drinker, but my husband complained that it was often cold or lukewarm. Again, they seemed to have a hard time replenishing hot buffet items and we often had to wait until more food was brought out and even then some of the items that should have been hot, were not. This was not near the end of the serving time, when I'd expect they might be running low on some items.

The free trolley picks up by the Metro station across from the hotel and is a great benefit. We took the trolley on two different days to have lunch several blocks away on King Street and walked back afterwards.

We might stay here again if the price was right, but if one of the other DC area Embassy Suites hotels (close to a Metro) was available, we'd likely try it instead. With a few adjustments (maybe more staffing to keep up with demand?), this could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review of our hotel. I certainly appreciate that with the large groups in house there may have been a longer wait for the Manager’s Reception and Complimentary Breakfast as well. What I will need to discuss with the management staff, is the issue with replenishment from the staff and how warm the food and beverage items were. I hope that our location and proximity to the metro will bring you back to our hotel. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.