We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip to DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $139!
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Uniontown, OH, United States
1 review
“Our trip to DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Erica at the front desk was very helpful. She supplied us with information about the Metro and Old Towne. Our trip to DC was made more pleasant by her cheerfulness and knowledge of the tourist sites. You can't beat the breakfast and managers specials either. It was nice to start the day on a full stomach and relax in the evening with a glass of wine and snacks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I always appreciate hearing about our team members and how they impact our guest’s experience. Thank you for sharing this with us. I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant one and will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    320
    97
    29
    15
See reviews for
388
115
20
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

As a Hilton Honors member I have yet to discover any true advantage when it comes to booking and obtaining a room. I booked on their website and was supposed to get a 2 pm checkout, courtesy of AARP. When I received my email confirmation I was asked about any specific requests, though warned they may not be honored. (Why ask, then? Or why not say they will do their utmost to honor them?) I requested an updated room with some sort of view and one relatively close to the elevator. My requests were ignored. The desk had no record of my late checkout. The room was far from the elevator. Our view was of the roof - period. Overall, the room was OK. The bathroom door, however, was very scuffed up. The vanity cabinet was very worn. It had been painted brown and the paint was chipping off. This is where the towels are folded and stored. Consequently, each towel had little bits of brown wood slivers that had to be shaken off. There was one hook to hang a towel.
Overall, the common areas of the hotel are nice and seem well maintained. The atrium is airy, large and comfortable and perfect for the complimentary evening reception and breakfast. The evening reception was lacking in several ways. I was OK with a glass of whatever white wine they were offering for free. My husband wanted a beer. The TWO free selections on tap were a watered down light beer and another unknown brand. My husband tried the unknown brand and it was not drinkable. He then paid for a brand name regular beer - $6.00 plus tip. There was stainless steel equipment near the bar for hot food but it was never utilized/filled with anything. Food offerings included popcorn, tortilla chips, a few raw vegetables, a watery salsa and some white dip/sauce I could not identify. I was discouraged when unsupervised children kept putting their hands directly into the popcorn display. Breakfast was the usual - offerings were fine.
The hotel says if offers a courtesy bus that goes up King Street though we never saw it. We did manage to get on the city's free trolley on one occasion. The hotel is conveniently located across from the Metro station.

Room Tip: If you make any special requests before arrival, ask if they were honored before you accept your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It appears that we have not been able to provide you with a quality stay and would welcome a call to discuss the particulars of your experience. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me at the hotel number. Best Regards...MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife, son and his wife booked a 2br/2ba premium suite at the Embassy Suites in Alexandria. It was wonderful from check in to check out. We were attending a retirement ceremony at the Pentagon so getting on the Metro (Blue or Yellow Lines) across the street was a breeze. I would warn you that Metro charges you the price of the ticket plus $1.00 each way to purchase a "paper" ticket. So our $4.75 ticket will cost $6.75. You can pay by credit/debit card however. They will waive the $2.00 rt charge if you have a "Metro Smart Card"-- a plastic card. We are from out of town and would probably never need such a card again. Thanks Metro. My omelet at breakfast was perfectly cooked to order and the rooms were spotless. For $333 per room/night this is perfect for 4-6 persons. I opted for a couple of Evian/Pelligrino water bottles and fruit plate for our arrival and it was there when we arrived. This hotel is into customer service. What a wonderful change for indifferent hotels these days. You are charged $26/day for parking and it is a challenge in the garage to park you car into very small spaces meant for VW bugs or may a Smart car. Take your time. My son parked his Explorer with inches to spare!!! It can be done.

Room Tip: No noise on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that our 2 bedroom suite was available for your stay, and that your family was able to enjoy their time together. We hope to welcome you to our property again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great hotel for a large family - 5 of us stayed comfortably, including our 11, 16, and 17 yr old boys for 2 nights - 2 room suite was spacious that we had plenty of room. For $150/night which included a more than adequate free breakfast. I figured the free breakfasts save us at least $50/day - can't beat that. Yes, the breakfasts can get crowded, but the staff gives great guidance on when to miss the crowds. Can't comment on the afternoon reception as we missed them. Can't beat the location - right across from King St metro stop. Perfect for our visits to the Smithsonians, the monuments, Arlington Natl Cemetary, and even Nationals Park. Do your homework on the Metro and you will see how great this is. Its also convenient to walk down King St in historic Old Town, access to many restaurants/shopping/waterfront or you take the free trolley that runs on King Street. Only issue keeping this from a 5 Star review is the parking garage. Heed the comments about how small it is, the parking staff is lousy, and if you have a minivan, be real careful finding a spot big enough - was built for the old Yugos.
But overall, this is a GREAT hotel for families

Room Tip: Ask for a room tucked in the corners; farthest from the elevators - won't have to deal with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you and your family were able to stay with us and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast every morning. Perhaps next time you visit, you may be able to partake of the Manager’s Reception as well? Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed over the weekend in this hotel and were very happy with the experience. It is a very nice looking hotel. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Adrian the bartender. The hotel room was clean and comfortable. The fitness facility was spacious and had all kinds of equipment. For the cost it was a very good bargain. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that Aiden was able to make your stay even better. Please return to see us soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville ca., United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Good hotel for business or leisure travel with Metro right across the street and good restaurants up the street. Very quite at night even in room near the street,Metro and train traffic across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you were able to appreciate the hotel location and that it was a peaceful, quiet retreat. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The value for your dollar is excellent at this hotel. Our rate for a premium room was $146.
This included breakfast, the afternoon reception (which included wine/beer), a spotless, comfortable two-room suite, free internet and access to a snack bar. We stayed here with our two boys, ages 4 & 6. The location is superb -- right in historic Old Town, an easy walk to all the restaurants/shopping/waterfront. A free trolley runs on King Street, and the hotel also offers a free van shuttle around town. Our train-loving boys were thrilled to have a metro stop right across the street, and it gave us easy access to DC. Did I mention that the indoor pool has a lifeguard? This is so unusual for a hotel pool, and a very nice feature. Only drawback: the expensive parking garage. However, we were able to snag a parking spot on the street on Saturday and stay there overnight for free.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor. Also, we had a "premium" room which may have been larger than oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your advanced reservation was able to allot you that wonderful rate on our premium floor and that you and your family were able to enjoy all that is available, both at the hotel and in the Alexandria Old Town and DC areas. Please come back and see us soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.