We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Good Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $109 w Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Deerfield, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Super Good Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. All the staff were helpful and seemed to enjoy working there which then rubs off on the guests. The location next to the King Street Metro stop is great for getting to the sights in DC. The complimentary public trolley leaves every 15 minutes from the Metro stop to take visitors to Old Town Alexandria. You can also walk there. The hotel is strategically located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. I am pleased that our staff was able to add to your experience at our hotel and will be looking forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    368
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
448
134
23
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gallatin, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is clean, extremely convenient to Metro and old town,has a great complimentary breakfast, and is quiet. However, what sets it apart are the people that work here. They were amazing. Everyone we met was warm and friendly and willing to go out of their way to help us in any way possible. They were truly the nicest group of hotel staff I have ever met and we travel a lot. This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. I am always pleased to hear that our staff is the reason our guests like to return to our property and agree wholeheartedly that they are,” The Best”! I hope to welcome you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location!!! Directly across street to Metro, and a nice walk down King Street for shops, food, & entertainment. Parking is very tight, so hope you have a compact car!!! The breakfast was good if you stood in line 10 minutes for the made to order omelets, but everything else was just ok. But, being able to eat a full breakfast before a full day of sightseeing is very nice. We reserved a Premium Room, which upon arrival could not figure out why it was called premium. No iHome, no Keurig, after a 3rd trip to front desk we were finally given the code to snack center, which was usually pretty sparse by the time we got there, and no fresh fruit available, as advertised, just junk food. Eventually our rate was reduced because we didn't get the room we reserved, but was very disappointed. The hotel definitely needs a remodel, not anywhere near as nice as the other Embassy Suites we have stayed at before. Our favorite is still the Embassy in Chevy Chase, wish we would have stayed there this trip. Oh we'll, live and learn. But, all that being said my husband would probably stay there again, just because he loves his morning jog down King Street. Feels safe & comfortable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I can understand how disconcerting it would be, to not be provided with the food items indicated on the hotel site. I do know that our staff is consistently restocking the fruit, snack and beverages, but do believe, that at times, guests may not find every items they are looking for. We do encourage our guests to call the Front Office when this occurs, so we may attend to their needs immediately. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I struggled a bit with selecting a hotel for a family trip to DC, and ended up booking at the Embassy Suites in Alexandria-Old Town based on the feedback provided from other people, and the fact they offered package that came with free parking. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice hotel that is convenient for site seeing in DC. The King St metro is across the street, but certainly far enough that it is not too noisy. Several restaurants and stores are in easy walking distance, and the Old Town trolley stop is near the metro and free for those looking to hit Old Town for a nice dinner. The ONLY negative is the breakfast experience can be a bit busy on the weekends, and recommend getting up early to beat the crowd.

Room Tip: We selected a premium suite on the 8th floor (top floor) which came with complimentary snacks. We e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Embassy Suites Alexandria. I am pleased that you were able to join us, and that the premium floor was available during your stay. Do come back and see us again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with adequate pool space for children, I would steer clear of this hotel. We actually had to leave the pool area to make room for others in our party to swim. This may be a problem in some hotels during the weekend or busy season, but this was a week night and there were no large groups fighting over the pool. The pool area is rundown and has extremely limited seating for those not swimming. The hot tub was also only large enough for 4 people at a time. This hotel would be fine for business purposes, but the Embassy Suites in Crystal City is just as close to the National Monuments and it has better accommodations. We would not choose this hotel for our family again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I can appreciate that hotel pools are typically small and in Alexandria VA the Health Department is very rigid, as to the number of people total (both in and out of pool) allowed in the pool area at any given time. We hope that the many conveniences of our hotel, (directly across the street from the metro, complimentary breakfast and Manager’s Reception offered daily, and all suite facilities with refrigerators and microwaves) will provide incentive enough for guests to choose our hotel. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I especially like how I was treated when I checked in. I felt like a king throughout my stay at this hotel. Rooms were clean and huge. Safe environment and even the other hotel guests were friendly. I highly recommend this hotel to guests who value great and accessible services at reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were recognized as the valuable guest that you are. We aspire to have all our guests feel like royalty and strive to accomplish this on a daily basis. Please return to see us soon, so we may once again have the privilege of serving you. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Right across from Metro at the end of King Street and a Whole Foods out the back door! Free hot breakfast made to order, free happy hour, big clean renovated rooms with Fridge and microwave. I had stayed her 15 years ago and was bracing for a tired hotel. It looked brand new! Not a mark on the walls or furniture. Quiet, great night's sleep. Provides a shuttle to the waterfront. Internet was not free, $9.95

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, business traveler. Although our hotel boasts 20+ years, we are constantly looking to improve on our product and update both the public space and guest rooms. Case and point, we will be upgrading all of our case goods in the rooms, at the end of 2013. Please come back and see these changes. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.