We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $139!
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old town is a perfect location for those interested in visiting D.C. The hotel is across the street from an out door metro center. The Embassy offers beer, wine, and soda from 5:30-7:30 with light snacks (popcorn, veggies, chips, cheese, pretzels). The snacks were perfect to tie us over until a later dinner. We excused the pigs who thought it was dinner :) The hotel is very well kept. The staff was very friendly. They offer a free shuttle to any location within 2 miles. We used this when we ate at Gadsbys. We had no issues with our room-was 100% clean, enough towels, soup etc. The beds are doubles which are small for a 6 foot 6 inch man; however, the pull out couch was comfortable. The suite is huge! Plenty of room for a family of 4. Free wifi in the lobby/capris restaurant but charge in the room. Great view of the George Washington Masonic temple.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    320
    97
    29
    15
See reviews for
388
115
20
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We found the hotel quite lovely with its open garden atrium. Meeting family and friends for a wedding was easy and pleasant because we could look down from the balcony outside our room to spot them seated below. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. We took our granddaughter with us and she had her own fold-out bed and TV separate from our room. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts with the to-order egg chef who was very pleasant and accommodating to every request.
While the pool was adequate, it was quite small, necessitating a lifeguard who was perhaps more vigilant than necessary, considering that parents or grandparents accompanied the kids. It would be good to have a larger pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a great week staying at the Embassy Suites in Alexandria Old Town. It is right across the street from the King St. Metro, which made our daily trip to DC so easy. There is also an Alexandria King St. trolley that we used some nights to get to our dinner locations near the waterfront. The hotel's main entrance was closed, but we used the side door to get to the main desk. At first, we were told that we would have to pay for wifi daily, but when I expressed my concern that that was $9.95 per device, I was told that it would be free. The lobby also has free wifi.

The daily free breakfast was great, but predictable. In one full week, there were only two mornings that there was a special and it was biscuits and gravy. Delicious, but I wish there was more variety on the buffet. The buffet was scrambled eggs, potatoes, corn beef hash, sausage and waffles/french toast. Every day. But there are other options elsewhere in the kitchen, such as grits, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and if you want to wait in line, omelets and eggs made to order and bacon. You can ask any free kitchen staff for bacon and they will get it so you don't have to wait in line. The dining area was clean and the staff was so friendly.

The happy hour meant free wine and beer, but you had to pay a small amount for mixed drinks. The food at happy hour was totally disappointing. I was thinking it would be like the Drury Inn, hot food like wings, potato skins, etc..., but it was a daily helping of popcorn, and either nacho chips or potato chips and sometimes some cheese and vegetables. So disappointing!

The room was big, we had a two room suite with balcony. The balcony was o.k, but no chairs, so we had to move chairs out daily. The rooms were big, but we then spent time apart on two t.v.s. The beds were small, doubles, not queens. We got two small bars of soap at the beginning and then had to ask for more.

The pool was small, but what was interesting, was the attentive staff here. He made everyone sign in at the beginning and be there with an adult. Then he was always cleaning or interacting with the guests, giving swimming tips, etc... He asked an 8 year old to leave the hot tub because she wasn't 12 years old. Very interesting and unusual person who seemed to love his job. He was a stickler for the rules, which was actually refreshing... He really seemed to care.

All in all, it was a good stay. We would go back another time. It is so close to Metro, it was perfect for travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our family travels to DC extensively and we have stayed at the Embassy Suites Old Town Alexandria twice in recent years, most recently over Memorial Day weekend 2013. Both of our stays at this hotel have been with mixed results. . . basically ok, but there are problems. On this visit, although our room was clean, it definitely needed renovating as the carpeting, bedding and walls had a tired, worn look. The hall carpeting had this strange black stripe down the middle of it, which I thought at first was filth but I guess was the carpet pattern. Memorial Day weekend in DC was an unseasonably cold one and despite turning up the temperature control our room never seemed to get warm. I requested a room overlooking the Masonic Monument, but despite my Hilton Honors membership, we didn't get it. We did receive a premium room on the top floor, which is supposed to include free snacks and drinks. However every time the snack bar was refilled within a few minutes it would be completely emptied by another family who would load everything into a cooler and take it all back to their room. I complained to the front desk but was told there was nothing that could be done.

The desk clerks and the staff as a whole seemed overwhelmed and disorganized and didn't seem to be able to cope with the large number of people staying there over the holiday. I had continuing problems throughout our stay with my room key card not working but we just used another family member's key card because we didn't want to deal any further than absolutely necessary with the rudeness of the front desk clerks. I did one evening ask for help in trying to locate late night food. To my great surprise, the desk clerk responded with a curt "our restaurant is closed and we can't recommend any other place." The restaurant in fact was just then closing but the clerk did not offer to see if they still had food available. And they can't recommend or help locate any other place to eat? Most other quality hotels will at least try to help their guests with whatever their needs.

As for the hotel's food service, we only ate breakfast there. The breakfast buffet was cold and eggs watery, but the cooked-to-order foods were fine. The main plus of this hotel is being across the street from the King Street Metro station although it is a 20 - 30 minute ride into DC. But if you need a suite hotel, this Embassy Suites is typically less expensive than other suite hotels in DC. And if you are interested in shopping, this hotel is close to unique boutiques and stores in Alexandria.

Room Tip: As with any Embassy Suites, ask for a room on the upper floors as you will get less atrium noise. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. It appears that your stay was not adequate and definitely not without problems, I would very much appreciate speaking with you. Please consider calling the hotel direct, so we might discuss your stay more at length. Be assured that we appreciate our guests compliments as well as concerns, and use these opportunities to better our staff interaction and product. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed with my wife and daughter for two nights, a Saturday and Sunday and we loved the hotel. Yes, parking is awful, but its not out of line with anywhere else in the area and 26/night isn't much for peace of mind. We took full advantage of the breakfast and managers reception as we do at every embassy. This hotel offers "premium rooms" which we also took advantage of. The rate for the room is great for what you get, considering breakfast in the city could easily cost 30 dollars or more, and a few drinks each night would easily be over 20. Our rate gave us the premium access (wifi included, normally 10/night) and access to a credenza that was well stocked with water, sodas, Gatorade, light snacks, and yogurt. Having a 2 year old, it was easily worth the extra price to have bottles of water and yogurt available 24 hours a day and we were very glad we booked it. As everyone else mentioned it couldn't be any closer to the metro, and its maybe a 5 minute easy walk to a great while foods where we picked up food for my daughter and other incidentals. Easily a 4 star hotel (family wise) for a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Rooms were ok. But the bathrooms were in need of serious repair and renovation. VERY low toilets, shower faucet coming out of wall, grout needed replacing, wood rotting around sink and the new towels NEVER seemed dry. Always felt damp and most of them were old with yellowish stains on them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although we are anticipating a case goods update at the end of 2013, and are looking forward to a fresh new look, I am very concerned that the maintenance issues in your suite, were not taken care of by our staff, prior to your arrival. Should you be inclined to, I would appreciate speaking with you directly. Please reach out to me. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is very clean and conveniently located near transportation and Old Town. The free trolley is handy especially since parking is very expensive and not worth renting a car. Manager's reception is OK but could be improved but breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your stay. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.