We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, nice amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $119!
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Location, nice amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, just across from the metro station and an easy walk to Old Town. If you don't care to walk, there is a shuttle to take you there, which we took for the way there, but when we saw how close it was just walked back. Also, the free Old Town trolley stops close to the hotel as well. It is also and easy walk to the GW Masonic Memorial, which is a pretty impressive building.
The design of this hotel is really nice, with an open center courtyard with with rooms around the outside. The interior is very pretty with a lot of greenery, and nice design. There are a couple of annoying things, entering the hotel from the parking garage, the signage isn't very good, so it is harder than it should be to find the main part of the hotel from there (but easy once you know where you are going). Speaking of the parking garage, I have never seen so many pillars, most of the parking spaces have cement pillars on each side which makes parking, especially for a large car, very tricky. The pool is nice, and it does include a hot tub. There is an attendant on duty, which made it a little awkward being the only person in the hot tub or pool area. The fitness center was amazingly spacious (which is a rare treat in hotels) and pleasant.
Many of the rooms have large windows that face the interior hallways, so make sure your privacy curtains are closed. The rooms are attractive and spacious, but the couches are not very comfortable. The beds weren't impressive either.
I was disappointed on the cleanliness front, the hotel definitely was clean, but rough around the edges, our room mirror was covered in fingerprints, the hallway carpets could have used a vacuum, no major issues, just short of the level of excellence you would expect from this level of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and will look forward to your return. I will need to address however, the cleanliness issue you encountered with our Executive Suitekeeper. Although you stated that this was “not a major issue”, it was enough of an issue for you to mention and therefore needs our immediate attention. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    340
    100
    31
    15
See reviews for
414
121
21
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lees summit, mo
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
756 helpful votes 756 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great place near the king street metro and right on king street so plenty of things to do. The rooms are very good as well. The only problem is that the free breakfast was way over crowded and the food cold or non existent. When I said something to mgr they said they were surprised by the crowd? Didn't they book the rooms? Very poor in response to problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. As we do have hotel reservations to guide us with the room occupancy, we do not have control on the times these guests choose to come down for breakfast and that at times can be a challenge for the staff. I can appreciate that management might have offered a more appropriate response to your issues and will address this with my staff. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great location to use the metro. Clean rooms but nothing fancy or new. Food at manager's cocktail hour was mininimal, free breakfast was crowded and the flow of people needs great improvement. Parking at the metro station is free on weekends. This hotel is not in the heart of Old Town but I understand you can catch a trolley. Pool is extremely small and the capacity was reached each time we tried to use it so it was unavailable to us and a disappointment to our 3 kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. I appreciate how disappointing it must have been for your children to not be able to use the pool. The Alexandria Health Department, for safety reasons, limits the number of guests total in the pool area, whether in or out of the pool. The lifeguard will usually advise to return within the half hour. Was this suggested to you? Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuPage County, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was my fourth stay in this hotel over as many years, and it just gets better and better. They've done a subtle lobby renovation since last year, which is an improvement. The breakfast and evening cocktail hour are just great. The shuttle to Old Town is much appreciated. The rooms are comfortable and large. They really are suites. I just love their showerheads. Wish I could figure out the brand so I could buy one. I do think they should offer free wireless -- it's annoying to have to pay for it. The food for our meeting was very good. All in all, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: They charge more for rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your patronage. We appreciate that you consider us your hotel of choice when visiting the DC area, and hope to continue to be so for many years to come. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
P.S. If you would like to communicate with the hotel and inform us of the room number you were in, we would gladly provide you with the shower head brand name and where it can be purchased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pull out couch was a double as opposed to a queen. Very small for my two teen girls. Breakfast was so crowded that there were no plates and no food. Restaurant waiter never let us know there was a 10% discount at the restaurant for hotel guests ...we noticed it on the way out. Hot tub was not very hot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are right, most hotels offer a sofa that opens into a double bed and accommodating two teenage girls on one of these, may be tight. Perhaps next time you may want to reserve a room with 2 beds and accommodate comfortably all guests. Our breakfast staff has had to contend with especially large crowds during Spring Break and is still adapting to our new atrium set-up. I am unaware of issues with the hot tub, but thank you and will address this with our engineering staff. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was put up at the Embassy Suites Old Town for a business meeting in Alexandria. As most others have mentioned, the location directly across from the King Street Metro is perfect. The hotel is not right in Old Town, so if your main objective is to see Old Town consider the Hotel Monaco instead.

The breakfast was great - hot, with several healthy choices. The woman who cooks the hot breakfasts to order is delightful - friendly and funny! The staff did a great job of cleaning up the breakfast area, unlike some other hotels where I have stayed where the breakfast area gets cluttered with trash so quickly. The wi fi worked great which is an essential service for a business traveler like me.

I only had two complaints. 1) Weird, high pitched whistling sound in my room after the heat went off. Once I figured out what it was, I was less annoyed by it. 2) The sitting room (that makes it a suite) is very strange. It has a fluorescent overhead light that casts a strange pall on the room. There are no windows in this room, and you can't turn on the table lamps unless you have the overhead light on. Seemed a bit film noir to me. Glad I did not have to conduct any business in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We do have phenomenal team members at our hotel and I appreciate you acknowledging them. I will have to check with our engineering department about the lighting issue you experienced, to find out what may be taking place. Should you need to conduct business at a future date, we will be happy to provide accommodations that may be more suited to in- room meetings. Thank you for your patronage. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel is in a great location and the room was nice. Staff were not friendly overall - except for one lady at breakfast, Martha, who was super nice and helpful. Pool had a rude attendant first 2 nights and then nice attendant but broken heater second 2 nights so overall poor experience with the pool. Room service from the restaurant was terrible - poor service, took over 2 hours, food quality and temperature was awful. The did not charge us for the one meal we had from the restaurant which was good. Had to replace it because it was so bad.
Also, hotel was overtaken by teenage groups - they had trouble handling breakfast with so many people and the 2 nights we tried to check out the evening reception they ran out of food within the first 30 minutes.
Room was clean so if you aren't so concerned with the experience, would be an okay place to stay. Not sure if I would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is troubling that your stay was not a pleasant one and that the groups in house may have contributed to your dissatisfaction. I am however, more so concerned with the friendliness of our staff not living up to your standards and providing you with courteous and helpful attention. I will be addressing this with all the departments. Thank you for acknowledging Martha, she is definitely an asset to our hotel and I appreciate you recognizing her. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.