We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average - maybe slightly below.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Siler City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just average - maybe slightly below.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel is in a great location and the room was nice. Staff were not friendly overall - except for one lady at breakfast, Martha, who was super nice and helpful. Pool had a rude attendant first 2 nights and then nice attendant but broken heater second 2 nights so overall poor experience with the pool. Room service from the restaurant was terrible - poor service, took over 2 hours, food quality and temperature was awful. The did not charge us for the one meal we had from the restaurant which was good. Had to replace it because it was so bad.
Also, hotel was overtaken by teenage groups - they had trouble handling breakfast with so many people and the 2 nights we tried to check out the evening reception they ran out of food within the first 30 minutes.
Room was clean so if you aren't so concerned with the experience, would be an okay place to stay. Not sure if I would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is troubling that your stay was not a pleasant one and that the groups in house may have contributed to your dissatisfaction. I am however, more so concerned with the friendliness of our staff not living up to your standards and providing you with courteous and helpful attention. I will be addressing this with all the departments. Thank you for acknowledging Martha, she is definitely an asset to our hotel and I appreciate you recognizing her. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    439
    136
    45
    22
See reviews for
560
169
27
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

So glad we ended up booking here. Very convenient since a metro station on both blue and yellow line is across the street. Very close to Regan National Airport as well.

Convenient parking, nice and clean rooms. We travel with 4 kids so we have to find these kind of hotels to fit our whole family. Very impressed with the quality of the free hot breakfast they serve. They had an omelet bar as well. We also enjoyed the managers happy hour for free drinks. Sure the wine is not great but hey, it's free.

Also loved the location in Old Town Alexandria. Lots of decent places to eat within walking distance. It's a no-brainer for us to stay here if we ever visit DC again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you will consider us for your future travels. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel has a great location. Right across the street from the metro station. Super easy to use and to go into DC. We didn't realize until we left all that there was to explore in Alexandria. We were only there for 3 nights so we didn't really have time. This hotel has an excellent breakfast selection included with your room. A great deal. The size of the room was great for our family. It was nice to have a suite with refrigerator and microwave. The room seemed a little tired and dirty to me. The size of the room helped improve it for us as did the great breakfast and happy hour. Parking was very difficult and once we finally got our car parked we decided there was no way we'd move it until we left. I'd stay there again but I hope they start sprucing up the rooms a bit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, Alexandria is a wonderful area to visit, with its’ quaint shops, restaurants and waterfront area! At Embassy Suites our guests comfort and enjoyment is of upmost importance and we seem to be constantly renovating some part of our hotel. To better accommodate our guests needs, we will be updating the case goods in our rooms, during the latter part of 2013. We hope you will come back to visit and witness the change for yourself. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just spent a long weekend in the DC area and used the Embassy Suites in Alexandria as out home base for five days. We flew into the Reagan Airport and were pleasantly surprise the Metro took less than ten minutes to get to the hotel. The hotel is then a very short walk across the street from the Metro.

The accomodations are rather standard for an Embassy Suite. Daily Managers reception and nice appointed rooms. With two small children we left the room in a major mess every morning, and when we returned from our daily adventures, the room was spotless.

The buffet and made to order breakfast was well organized and kept fresh even during the high rush times. Everyone in our party was able to find something they enjoyed.

The free trolley ride is a nice bonus as well. Less than a two minute walk from the hotel is the Alexandria Trolley main loading point.

My only complaint is the pool is very small for such a large hotel and the water was very cloudy. Each night, we had to wait in line to enter the pool as the pool capacity was around 22. Granted this time of year is busy with spring break and the high level of tourists in town to see the cherry blossoms.

We will definitely stay at this property on our next visit to DC / Alexandria

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that you decided to make our hotel your “home away from home”, and that your stay was pleasant. I appreciate that during Spring break our pool does seem rather small, with all the guests in house, and I am grateful for your understanding. Best Regards… MaryAnne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cringer1124
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is my top place to stay when traveling for long business trips in Old Town. The location is perfect - great restaurants and shopping on King Street and the hotel is less than a block from the Metro. Excellent cooked-to-order hot breakfast and manager's reception each night. Most of the rooms have been recently renovated and so has the entire downstairs area, including the addition of a new restaurant. While I am not a fan of the new "look", the restaurant is good and the staff is still great despite the change of hands for catering. Terrific venue for conferences and events as well.

Room Tip: Request a top floor facing the metro for a good view of the D.C monuments
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I so appreciate that you took the time to write about our hotel and that we are your hotel of choice here in the Washington DC area. I look forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My family went here for a short spring break trip to visit D.C. The hotels in D.C. were expensive and alot didn't have pools. This hotel had everything. Great manager's reception every night with really good beer and snacks. Suites with a door, so you can stay up after the kids go to bed. Free breakfast, free shuttle to Alexandria restaurants. And the metro was RIGHT across the street. You hop on, and 15 minutes later you are in D.C. The pool does get crowded and they cap it off at (I think) 23 people in the pool. We had to wait the first night to use the pool, which made my kids sad, but it is for safety reasons, so I get it. Also, breakfast has lots of options, but it also got really crowded (hint: get down there early!!) The staff did a nice job of keeping everything stocked though. I would definitely recommend this hotel for all the extra benefits, and the proximity to the metro was KEY for us!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate that you chose to stay at our property and had a pleasant Spring Break get a way. We will look forward to your return. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is our 3rd time visiting this hotel in the last few years and we have never been disappointed. Underground parking is convenient (though tight); location by King Street Metro perfect for getting to any sight in the DC area; rooms clean and nice and overall property condition is great ... especially considering the quantity of guests this property enjoys. The front desk acknowledged our Hilton Diamond status and the Manager's Reception and Breakfast features were great (though always busy). My only wish is that there were stairs you could use during peak times that the elevators were packed.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if you want to be sure to get elevators down during peak periods. On the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. I am so pleased that you are a repeat guest and thank you for your patronage. For safety and security of our guests, the stairs that are on property lead directly to the outdoors, therefore preventing anyone from reentering the hotel during a fire alarm or emergency. Although as you, I think it would have been beneficial to have stairs that open to the lower level, for those of us who would like the exercise and prefer not to wait. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.