We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $119!
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
New York City, New York
1 review
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My dad and I stayed here for the 2013 inauguration weekend. We found out we would be attending less than a month before and decided to stay outside the district in Alexandria since most hotels were already booked or charging exorbident prices. Overall, we were very satisfied with the stay. The hotel is across from the metro, which worked perfectly for the busy inauguration. There aren't many restaurants close to the hotel, but if you are willing to walk down King St. towards the water, you will be able to find a wide variety of options. The sofa bed was a bit firm to sleep on, but overall the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Self Parking is 25.00, and some of the spaces are very tight. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although as you say your trip was arranged rather last minute, I am pleased that you opted to stay with us and that you would return again in the future. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    331
    99
    30
    15
See reviews for
403
116
21
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were in DC for Inauguration. This hotel is directly across the street from the King Street Metro, great shopping and restaurants as well, not to mention the hotel shuttle was great to go shopping and the drivers were very courteous and accomodating. I loved the separate, roomy shower as well.

This hotel is a 10 on every level of customer service and accomodations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you favored our hotel and that you gave us a “10”, as this is the rating we aspire to receive from all of our guests! Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This property was a well appointed ES hotel, and is what you would expect from an upscale ES. The location is immediately adjacent to the Metro and can get you anywhere you need to go. Old Town is a great place to visit, shop, and eat, and you can get to DC or the airport easily. Slightly overpriced, but all the decent properties in the area are.

Room Tip: This is a long hotel due to it's shape, so try to get a room that is 4-5 away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope that your business travels will have you return to our property soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was in DC for Inauguration and the convenience to the Metro made this hotel a great alternative to the premiums that were being charged for similar accommodations in DC. The complimentary breakfast had all of the basics and more. The suite was comfortable and accommodating to my family of four (especially with separate room for the parents). Would definitely stay there again based on my experience there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and I look forward to your return. Best Regards… Maryanne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. The hotel is a 10 minute ride on the metro from National Airport (Reagan). The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the metro that can be used to visit D.C. The hotel rooms were spacious with a tv etc. room and a bedroom. The room had a table, couch, chair, refrigerator, and microwave. The hotel offered a free cooked to order breakfast and snacks in the evening. The only downside was a $10 per day charge for an internet connection and there were no wifi areas. This seemed like an outdated practice.

Room Tip: If you are not familar with National Airport and want to take the metro to the Embassy, you may need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our hotel does offer many conveniences which include ease of transportation. You are correct in that there is a cost with our in room wifi, although we do offer free in room wifi to our Gold and Diamond Hilton Honor guests. I am concerned however, that you were not able to avail yourself of the free wifi in the atrium, or that you did not use our free 24 hour business center. I hope that you will nonetheless, visit us again in the future. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here Inaugural weekend, and it was very convenient and accessible to everything! The metro is right outside. Ronald Reagan airport is 2 metro stops away. The metro can take to DC with in 20-30 minutes. Old Town is close with fantastic dining and great seafood. The Pentagon Shopping Mall is 2-3 metro stops way. Trolley is right outside the hotel. The only few downfalls was the bathroom was very small with the sink clogged up. At evening reception, they only had one bartender with a lobby full of guests. I would definitely stay there again because of the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you plan on staying with us, despite the inconveniences you encountered. I hope that during your next visit (should any issues occur) that we may be able to take care of these immediately, so that you may totally enjoy your stay at our Embassy Suites. Best Regards…Maryanne Russell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Impeccable service, delicious food, fantastic location. Directly across street from the Metro, free shuttle for up to 2 miles and beautiful town with fabulous shops. Will be staying here again this summer!

Room Tip: Great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you staying with us and taking the time to write this review, I will be looking forward to your next visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town

Address: 1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Alexandria-Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.